Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Reinforcement Learning

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Reinforcement Learning by University of Alberta

4.8
stars
1,939 ratings
481 reviews

About the Course

Reinforcement Learning is a subfield of Machine Learning, but is also a general purpose formalism for automated decision-making and AI. This course introduces you to statistical learning techniques where an agent explicitly takes actions and interacts with the world. Understanding the importance and challenges of learning agents that make decisions is of vital importance today, with more and more companies interested in interactive agents and intelligent decision-making. This course introduces you to the fundamentals of Reinforcement Learning. When you finish this course, you will: - Formalize problems as Markov Decision Processes - Understand basic exploration methods and the exploration/exploitation tradeoff - Understand value functions, as a general-purpose tool for optimal decision-making - Know how to implement dynamic programming as an efficient solution approach to an industrial control problem This course teaches you the key concepts of Reinforcement Learning, underlying classic and modern algorithms in RL. After completing this course, you will be able to start using RL for real problems, where you have or can specify the MDP. This is the first course of the Reinforcement Learning Specialization....

Top reviews

AT
Jul 6, 2020

An excellent introduction to Reinforcement Learning, accompanied by a well-organized & informative handbook. I definitely recommend this course to have a strong foundation in Reinforcement Learning.

NH
Apr 7, 2020

This course is one of the best I've learned so far in coursera. The explanations are clear and concise enough. It took a while for me to understand Bellman equation but when I did, it felt amazing!

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 477 Reviews for Fundamentals of Reinforcement Learning

By shengjian c

Sep 1, 2019

This is a very helpful courses to help me walk through the Reinforcement Learning book with different kind of practices. Looking forward to taking course2!

By June X

Aug 6, 2019

I love their way of teaching, they ask you to read, understand firstly, and then start to give a lecture about what it is, which helps a lot to understand.

By Guangmin S

Mar 19, 2021

Very good. Has a great book suppliment to better understand the concept. The lecture and the book is highly related. So it's much easier to study.

By 刘旻星

Jul 1, 2020

Getting through this course, i know about Reinforcement learning more systematically. And a solid foundamental knowledge is a beginning of success

By Li L

Aug 11, 2020

Awesome course! The concepts and basic ideas are made very clear through the videos and assignments. The programming assignments are also useful.

By vishal s

Aug 13, 2020

Nice course for people who are beginning Reinforcement Learning ,as the course takes you slow and steady by strengthning your basic concepts

By Rudi C

May 31, 2020

A great introduction to the field of RL. The referenced textbook is amazing and the implementation of the algorithms is fun and instructive!

By braghadeesh

Jul 31, 2019

Great course and awesome instructors. Wish this course should have been announced much earlier. Thanks for offering such a wonderful course.

By Dhar R

Oct 23, 2020

Excellent course. The concepts are quite abstract, so I expect to revisit them a few times again. Otherwise, it could all evaporate. Lol!

By Shashikant P

Dec 29, 2020

Excellent introduction to Reinforcement Learning. The examples used to make students understand the various concepts were truly amazing.

By Lukas S

Dec 23, 2019

Very well structured, good examples, and helpful quizzes. I think (even) more programming assignments would make the course even better.

By laxmikanta s

Dec 30, 2020

Great Content, Superb explanation with solid examples. Quiz and Assignment are really helpful to improve understanding on the topic.

By Kshitij B

May 22, 2020

The basics are really introduced in a manner that one can easily build upon after reading the readings provided , enjoyed the course

By Animesh

Feb 15, 2020

I found this course very interesting. The basic concepts are explained very nicely. This course is great when a RL-noob like me : D

By Mert I

Aug 19, 2019

The concepts are explained in a very simple manner. Reading book then watching videos helps a lot to understand the essential ideas.

By Cesar A G

Jul 13, 2020

Well structured and thought examples that expand the information on the textbook. The programming assignments are very well built.

By Suresh

Sep 21, 2020

Awesome introduction to Reinforcement Learning. The explanations are very precise and the complex concepts were easy to follow

By DEVANSHU S

Sep 8, 2020

Beautifully explains concepts in an intuitive fashion, although the addition of proofs of convergence would have been great :)

By Nikhil G

Nov 25, 2019

Excellent course companion to the textbook, clarifies many of the vague topics and gives good tests to ensure understanding

By seyedmohammad m

May 9, 2020

This course was great, but I think it is not complete. I have to pass the other courses in this specialization for sure.

By Evrim A

Nov 16, 2020

The course content is superb. As a suggestion, some coding and problem-solving content (as videos) would be outstanding

By Dylan R

Feb 22, 2020

Great course, reading the textbook was difficult at times, but the professors really helped me in understanding it all!

By Chamakoora S R

Jul 14, 2020

Not only this course was conceptually sound, it had inspirational sessions with researches who made big breakthroughs.

By AhmadrezaSheibanirad

Oct 27, 2019

This course is one of the great online course in Coursera which help people dig into reinforcement learning correctly.

By Andis R

Feb 15, 2020

Thank you very much for putting effort in this one !!! I was looking for such a course for some time already, thanks.