Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Reinforcement Learning

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Reinforcement Learning by University of Alberta

4.8
stars
1,455 ratings
368 reviews

About the Course

Reinforcement Learning is a subfield of Machine Learning, but is also a general purpose formalism for automated decision-making and AI. This course introduces you to statistical learning techniques where an agent explicitly takes actions and interacts with the world. Understanding the importance and challenges of learning agents that make decisions is of vital importance today, with more and more companies interested in interactive agents and intelligent decision-making. This course introduces you to the fundamentals of Reinforcement Learning. When you finish this course, you will: - Formalize problems as Markov Decision Processes - Understand basic exploration methods and the exploration/exploitation tradeoff - Understand value functions, as a general-purpose tool for optimal decision-making - Know how to implement dynamic programming as an efficient solution approach to an industrial control problem This course teaches you the key concepts of Reinforcement Learning, underlying classic and modern algorithms in RL. After completing this course, you will be able to start using RL for real problems, where you have or can specify the MDP. This is the first course of the Reinforcement Learning Specialization....

Top reviews

AT

Jul 07, 2020

An excellent introduction to Reinforcement Learning, accompanied by a well-organized & informative handbook. I definitely recommend this course to have a strong foundation in Reinforcement Learning.

NH

Apr 08, 2020

This course is one of the best I've learned so far in coursera. The explanations are clear and concise enough. It took a while for me to understand Bellman equation but when I did, it felt amazing!

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 365 Reviews for Fundamentals of Reinforcement Learning

By Selvaraj M

Apr 25, 2020

Very well organized and well thought videos, quiz and best of all coding assignment. Very impressive. A+++

By Tong Z

Oct 04, 2019

Good course in coherence with the book by Sutton and Barto (2018)! Better than reading the book alone.

By LIWANGZHI

Jan 05, 2020

A great introduction to RL. It provides ton of materials and makes everything clear at the same time.

By S. K G P

May 01, 2020

It is a perfect, engaging and very information course. I thoroughly enjoyed it and learned a lot!!

By Min H H

Sep 04, 2020

Very informative and challenging for beginners who are starting to learn Reinforcement Learning.

By Lik M C

Jan 02, 2020

It is a great course! The concepts are elaborated very clear. The materials are well prepared.

By Christos P

Dec 11, 2019

Great reading material and videos. The assignments really help to better understand the theory.

By Roberto M

Mar 26, 2020

I really appreciated the course. Explanations are very clear and the material is well thought.

By Thomas N

Aug 28, 2020

Really exceptionally clear - I had to battle through some of the math, but it was worth it.

By Sergio Z P

Apr 09, 2020

Very good course to learn, understand and apply the Fundamentals of Reinforcement Learning!

By BARTŁOMIEJ D B

Apr 18, 2020

Awesome course with a lot of interesting knowledge presented and a lot of its applications

By Wang G

Oct 09, 2019

Very detailed explanations in the foundations of RL. Thanks both lecturers and the staffs!

By John H

Sep 18, 2019

Very good, I suggest reading the text closely and doing exercises to get the most benefit.

By Rohan S

Aug 07, 2020

Really great course for all the beginners who want to learn about Reinforcement Learning.

By Sirusala N S

Jul 04, 2020

It is one of the best courses I have taken. The fundamentals were explained very well.

By Hamed H

May 18, 2020

it was so useful since the lectures were brief and useful and Homeworks were suitable.

By Tejas H V K

Aug 05, 2020

Simple Enough for anyone to understand and apply the same to any real world scenario.

By Anubhab G

Jan 09, 2020

A solid foundation for RL and great pedagogical explanations!!! Highly recommended!!

By Rony A

Jun 21, 2020

Very good course for those who wants to learn some basis of reinforcement learning.

By Siddharth Y

Mar 22, 2020

Very good introduction to the world of reinforcement learning. Highly recommended.

By Xunzhao Y

Nov 07, 2019

The class is quite well organized. Instruction is clear and textbook is excellent.

By Thiru T N B

Oct 13, 2019

Awesome course which drills in the fundamental concepts of reinforcement learning.

By Joaquin T

Jan 24, 2020

Extremely easy to follow, yet full of information. The book is a fabulous bonus.

By Jaeyoung L

Jan 23, 2020

Very understandable explaination! I was able to understand the fundamental of RL.

By Roger G H M

Jun 27, 2020

I really liked the course. Very complete and the assignments were comprehensive.