Chevron Left
Back to Our Energy Future

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Our Energy Future by University of California San Diego

4.7
stars
738 ratings
210 reviews

About the Course

This course is designed to introduce students to the issues of energy in the 21st century – including food and fuels – which are inseparably linked – and will discuss energy production and utilization from the biology, engineering, economics, climate science, and social science perspectives. This course will cover the current production and utilization of energy, as well as the consequences of this use, examining finite fossil energy reserves, how food and energy are linked, impacts on the environment and climate, and the social and economic impacts of our present energy and food production and use. After the introductory lectures, we will examine the emerging field of sustainable energy, fuel and food production, emphasizing the importance of developing energy efficient and sustainable methods of production, and how these new technologies can contribute to replacing the diminishing supplies of fossil fuels, and reduce the consequences of carbon dioxide release into the environment. This course will also cover the importance of creating a sustainable energy future for all societies including those of the developing world. Lectures will be prepared and delivered by leading UC San Diego and Scripps Institution of Oceanography faculty and industry professionals across these areas of expertise....

Top reviews

AM

Sep 29, 2016

Very informative course even for someone with a prior knowledge in a particular segment in renewable energy. Covers diverse energy resources along with economic, and environmental considerations.

JJ

Oct 31, 2016

Great learning experience! Easy way to get an idea of the work that is being done to better our lives in the future in terms of energy. Very interesting lectures and would highly recommend it.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 211 Reviews for Our Energy Future

By Marthe v L

Sep 13, 2015

Very good and interesting overall, the slides are very helpful. The only thing for me is that it's going a bit fast sometimes. The content can be quite technical and for a social science graduate like myself it would be nice if some very technical things could be explained just tiny bit more. But overall it's understandable and clearly done.

By Aida G

Apr 24, 2017

Such a great course! Very interesting course with a lot of information on the renewable energies of the moment, its operation, numbers on it and advantages and disadvantages, also a lot of information about fossil fuels, in short an energetic vision of the moment.

By Alexandros K

Mar 10, 2019

A very informative and at times demanding course. Worth taking for anyone interested in learning about the challenges and potential solutions to the existing and forthcoming unprecedented global energy crisis.

By Ivo W

Sep 01, 2019

Very good course to give an overview over the most important bullet points

Some subjects were tackled in too much detail, such as the close description of biological and chemical processes

By Edmund B

Apr 05, 2019

Good overview of some of the efforts made towards alternative energies as well as the trends and status of the current energy industry. Well composed with some considerable insight.

By Atun R

Dec 27, 2017

Course is very tough and seeks too much of time. Asking too many question individual week and also posted plenty of questions each week. This course is not for the beginners.

By Nelmo F F

Jul 20, 2020

It was a very good course. A lot of topics very important to understand and know about energy, renewables and others issues related to this topic. Thanks

By Colin M

Jun 13, 2017

Really good course for those interested in the future of our energy systems. Fast paced and a lot to absorb, but worth the effort.

By Richie L

Jul 11, 2020

the topics need to be expanded. a lot of thing just doesn't get to be explained deep enough. and it need to be updated.

By kamlesh s

Jun 16, 2020

Content is well crafted and I have learn about both renewable and non renewable sources of energy in quite depth.

By Katelyn J

Aug 26, 2015

This very interesting course looks at both the science and economic factors that influence energy technologies.

By Liliana C

Sep 26, 2016

Una excelente introducción al mundo de la energía, super completo,entendible, profesores de primer nivel!!

By Jose M

Aug 30, 2020

Una muy buena introducción a las energías renovables. Algunas partes un poco desactualizadas.

By priyank

Sep 02, 2018

This is an introductory course to sustainable energy. Its a good place to begin with

By Aditya S

Dec 05, 2017

Amazing lecture series. Improved my vision towards energy and environmental fields.

By Mushahid H

Jul 29, 2019

It is a fantastic subject. I have learned a lot from it. I like it.

By paulogalindo5000@gmail.com

Mar 20, 2018

Is a good and interesting course. I recommend it.

By 郭逸飞

May 11, 2018

Thanks very much for your contributions!

By Aleks L

May 22, 2019

Slightly outdated and very US-centric.

By Dr. M K B

Oct 12, 2017

I am proud to do the course Sir

By GERMÁN A V P

Dec 06, 2015

It is an excellent course

By Sudhir N

Oct 18, 2016

Truly enriching stuff.

By Juan C D M

Dec 08, 2015

I liked it..

By Xavier C

Feb 08, 2018

Good course

By Nico G

Nov 21, 2019

Outdated. Compiled in 2012, this course presents an outdated situation of the market. All data shown are from 2012 at the latest. the industry has considerably changed in the last 7 years. Plus most of the companies mentioned in the presentations that were active in the biofuel sector went bust or simply closed which poses the efficiency of all the solutions described during this course.

Some of the lectures are too detailed especially on the scientific side and fail to grab the big picture. Fortunately each lecture is followed by a Q&A from Dr Murphy who seems to be the only one to replace the topics in the general context.