Chevron Left
Back to Getting Started with Essay Writing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Getting Started with Essay Writing by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
2,820 ratings
771 reviews

About the Course

Course 2: Getting Started with Essay Writing This is the second course in the Academic English: Writing specialization. By introducing you to three types of academic essays, this course will especially help prepare you for work in college classes, but anyone who wants to improve his or her writing skills can benefit from this course. After completing this course, you will be able to: - create effective thesis statements for your essays - plan and write compare/contrast, cause/effect, and argument essays - write well-developed body paragraphs Note: The lectures and practice activities are available for free, but you must upgrade to the pay version in order to take the quizzes and get feedback on writing assignments....

Top reviews

BD
Nov 16, 2015

Thank you for teaching me how to write basic essays. This has been one of my most important goals for years. I've tried several other ways of learning but your method worked for me. Thank you so much.

MU
Feb 10, 2016

I always loved writing. What I didn't know, however, was that writing had some scientific structures that could make it very interesting. Take this course and know why. I took and was very successful.

Filter by:

626 - 650 of 766 Reviews for Getting Started with Essay Writing

By Irais M C

Apr 6, 2016

This course was a little confusing, specially because this was my first experience writing Essays.

On the other hand, the feed back was super slow. I still don't know how did I do with all of my assignments.

By Perkash K P

Apr 29, 2020

I am feeling very satisfied with the course I've completed. This was really a wonderful experience for me to learn all types of essays in such a short period of time. Thank you UCIrvine and coursera.

By Amogh P

Feb 26, 2017

Course material was good. But, I was hoping the essay corrections and feedback will be given by experienced teachers/instructors, was disappointed at this as it was given by the fellow students!

By dina r

Nov 24, 2015

It is super nice, but still needs more challenging concepts, sometimes I found it was mostly information I knew while it could be something I never paid attention to regarding the subject.

By Rodrigo A M P

Jun 3, 2020

It is one good course to start developing writing skills, but I wish the final weekly assessment focused more on the learned kind of essays, than only focusing on the essay format.

By Ingrid d s o

Aug 18, 2020

It helped me to better organize ideas and structuring an essay before writing it, but I cannot say I don't miss the support and evaluation of a real teacher instead of a peer.

By Ashish P

Jan 12, 2017

A very good course for those who want to learn English composition or essay writing, or both. If you are looking for developing your writing skill, you must give it a try.

By Mohamed Y P

Jun 22, 2020

It was a sheer pleasure doing this course. I believe the course will be really beneficial to all those who take writing serious. Thanks to all those behind the programme.

By SHAJAN J P S

Apr 24, 2020

Course is designed fantastic. It would be helpful to get some constructive thoughts atleast at the end of the course from moderator or facilitator to improvise ourselves.

By Fang D

May 31, 2018

Very basic college level essay writing instructions. If you never learned anything about how college level academic writing, then you wouldn't want to miss this course.

By Katherine G

Apr 26, 2019

Very good course. I don't think the repetition of information is necessary therefore I am giving 4 stars instead of 5. The rest of the aspects are perfect.

By Nusrat J N

Jun 7, 2020

Thank you everybody who are related to this course. Wish best of luck to my peers who help me to develop my work. This course is really useful to me.

By Victoria C

Aug 14, 2020

Although I enjoyed the course and learned a great deal, I would appreciate more instructor input on graded assignments to ensure good quality work.

By tahniath

Jun 14, 2016

Nice course! But in my opinion, it needs to give more practice exercises for each sub topic so that student doesnt think the course as fast paced.

By Jim O

Mar 15, 2018

Nice Refresher course. I had forgotten many aspects of compare/contrast, cause & effect and argumentative essays. Looking forward to the next c

By Bhim B k c

Feb 15, 2016

Very good lecture videos,sample essays and quiz. I enjoyed taking this course. It helped me a lot how write the essay. I would like to thank

By Yuri M

Jul 25, 2020

It was a great course. I suggest to add an outline document for each type of essay, to be followed by the students during their writing.

By Miguel H

Mar 3, 2019

It was good. Adapted for beginner. I think the apps need improvements as some of the activities do not work when working in the Ipad.

By Mark B

Feb 25, 2021

Very interesting and useful material, did not get much from the reviews from classmates but I understand the reasons for having it.

By Aly M

Jul 20, 2020

Hello,

You really need to improve the board discussion and we need the instructor evaluation at least two times within the course.

By Rehab

Jul 4, 2020

the only problem here that the reviewing of essay don't applied by professional people to give us the real mistakes in our essays

By Yasmin M

Apr 21, 2016

I believe that this course make me more comfortable writing. I like the lessons and the teacher is very clear in explication.

By Dali Y

Feb 18, 2018

Would be great to have close comments of the tutors if possible to know what’s wrong and where to advance

Thanks

By Anjali R

May 29, 2020

I'd prefer that peer-reviewed assignment rubrics didn't focus just on formats but also on content and structure.

By Yetzy A

May 18, 2020

I would had enjoy having feedback from actual educators or someone who is qualify to give proper critic.