Chevron Left
Back to GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality

Learner Reviews & Feedback for GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality by University of California, Davis

4.9
1,176 ratings
220 reviews

About the Course

In this course, the second in the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization, you will go in-depth with common data types (such as raster and vector data), structures, quality and storage during four week-long modules: Week 1: Learn about data models and formats, including a full understanding of vector data and raster concepts. You will also learn about the implications of a data’s scale and how to load layers from web services. Week 2: Create a vector data model by using vector attribute tables, writing query strings, defining queries, and adding and calculating fields. You'll also learn how to create new data through the process of digitizing and you'll use the built-in Editor tools in ArcGIS. Week 3: Learn about common data storage mechanisms within GIS, including geodatabases and shapefiles. Learn how to choose between them for your projects and how to optimize them for speed and size. You'll also work with rasters for the first time, using digital elevation models and creating slope and distance analysis products. Week 4: Explore datasets and assess them for quality and uncertainty. You will also learn how to bring your maps and data to the Internet and create web maps quickly with ArcGIS Online. Take GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. You should have equivalent experience to completing the first course in this specialization, Fundamentals of GIS, before taking this course. By completing the second class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program....

Top reviews

LT

Dec 26, 2018

Great course. Quite challenging, huge amount of info shared and employed in the assignments. This makes the course very thorough yet as mentioned, challenging to complete. Not for the faint at heart!

SS

May 01, 2016

Awesome..... The lectures are very helpful to the students or gis learners who wants to do some on-line, especially the final project was awesome... i really enjoyed and learned much more things...

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 215 Reviews for GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality

By Tomas B

Dec 09, 2018

Great course! Although the videos may be too long at times, the details of each workflow are definitely useful.

By Lindsey T

Feb 26, 2019

Really gave me the skills to start working with my own data!

By Zoran R

Mar 11, 2019

Excellent course! A lot of useful things to learn. It helped me a lot in expanding my knowledge about GIS, and ArcGIS software.

By Mark G

Feb 14, 2019

I especially liked the final project as a way to use the geoprocessing tools and online presentation features of ArcGIS.

By khalid m

Sep 26, 2018

A very good course. Extraordinary effort is put in to developed and inculcate the ideas.

By Leda R P

Aug 28, 2018

Muy claro y útil. Buena dinámica.

By

Aug 18, 2018

Great, provided good review.

By David K

Oct 08, 2018

I particularly liked that the course had a strong focus on data bases and attribute tables, even if it is a quite dry topic.

By Priti R

Oct 21, 2018

Great course to learn about geodatabases and analysis tools!

By Rizwan k

Nov 03, 2018

This course gives me so much information about ArcGIS and i got lot of experience in ArcGIS tool.thank you

By Kenney K K

Aug 01, 2018

Great course

By Jasminka K

Aug 20, 2018

I learned a lot at this course.

By Pei P

Aug 07, 2018

Great!

By Ravinder V

Jan 14, 2018

Thank you Nick!

By Sarper Y

Apr 09, 2017

Design was the one we have longed for

By Trishna D

Aug 08, 2016

I found this class to be a little more slow in places...mainly when it came to the big section about th data types etc. But it is important to know about them, so I'm glad I stuck through and finished the course. Learnt interesting and smart ways of adding tables and conducting analysis.

By sara s u

Aug 12, 2016

Very good and beneficial.

By Janix K A

Aug 10, 2016

Great Experience

By Sujesh S

May 29, 2016

great.

By Alaa H F H

Nov 04, 2017

great course!

By Timothy B

Nov 14, 2016

Great course. Very useful level of detail into the various data types and storage formats used in GIS. Includes functional workflows and some of the key tools used by GIS professionals to conduct and share usable analysis. Definitely recommended.

By Albert J

Mar 08, 2018

Clear presentation. Good level of difficulty.

By Sujit B

Oct 16, 2016

Great course! Thanks Nick, UC Davis, Coursera and fellow learners!

By Akram A M E

Apr 12, 2018

very good material

By Romulo S G d O

Sep 06, 2017

Excellent!