Chevron Left
Back to GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality

Learner Reviews & Feedback for GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality by University of California, Davis

4.9
1,221 ratings
235 reviews

About the Course

In this course, the second in the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization, you will go in-depth with common data types (such as raster and vector data), structures, quality and storage during four week-long modules: Week 1: Learn about data models and formats, including a full understanding of vector data and raster concepts. You will also learn about the implications of a data’s scale and how to load layers from web services. Week 2: Create a vector data model by using vector attribute tables, writing query strings, defining queries, and adding and calculating fields. You'll also learn how to create new data through the process of digitizing and you'll use the built-in Editor tools in ArcGIS. Week 3: Learn about common data storage mechanisms within GIS, including geodatabases and shapefiles. Learn how to choose between them for your projects and how to optimize them for speed and size. You'll also work with rasters for the first time, using digital elevation models and creating slope and distance analysis products. Week 4: Explore datasets and assess them for quality and uncertainty. You will also learn how to bring your maps and data to the Internet and create web maps quickly with ArcGIS Online. Take GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. You should have equivalent experience to completing the first course in this specialization, Fundamentals of GIS, before taking this course. By completing the second class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program....

Top reviews

LT

Dec 26, 2018

Great course. Quite challenging, huge amount of info shared and employed in the assignments. This makes the course very thorough yet as mentioned, challenging to complete. Not for the faint at heart!

SS

May 01, 2016

Awesome..... The lectures are very helpful to the students or gis learners who wants to do some on-line, especially the final project was awesome... i really enjoyed and learned much more things...

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 228 Reviews for GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality

By Olushola ( A

Oct 14, 2017

Challenging but interesting. Most especially the final graded project!

By Sergio E T

May 29, 2017

Great foundation for understanding the value of data and what makes a good data set different from a bad one.

Goes over methods to classify, sort, modify, and organize data for your projects and those you share with other analysts.

By Cornelya F C K

Mar 26, 2017

This course helped me a lot in understanding more about the different types of data (e.g., vector versus raster data) used in GIS. Also, I think the course does a great job focusing on the main points and gives good videos for work flows.

By Claudios H

Apr 16, 2016

Jus what i needed

By Pushkar B

Aug 08, 2017

Superb Course. A must for anyone wanting to get started with GIS and Spatial Analysis.

By Matthieu C

Feb 22, 2017

Great teaching material, great teacher, great tutorials and assignments !

By Edgar V

Jan 31, 2018

I really enjoyed this course and learned a lot!

By Siskin C S

Sep 14, 2016

G

By Allan C B

Feb 26, 2018

Best laid training module.

By Sharawe E A A

Oct 14, 2017

Excellent course

By Avik N

Jul 17, 2017

Excellent platform to enhance GIS skills. The materials and the professor have made the learning process extremely easy and interesting. I have already stated applying the analysis in my work. Highly recommended to undertake this course.

By Xi C

Feb 06, 2017

Excellent course and great instructor.

By heba i

Apr 29, 2018

Thank you Nick Santos and the team for the perfect presentation and the additional resources. I would definitely recommend this course to others.

By OBBY N L

Feb 26, 2018

The course is excellent, I learned a lot of new things.

By Mahmoud K H K

Jun 21, 2018

thanx mr nick

By Solomon

Mar 05, 2018

For anybody who really wants to understand data and how to work with them in GIS, here is the point to know all that.

By Lucia F

Mar 21, 2018

Excellent course. You need dedication and time to get the most of it . Loved the assignments and assessments.

By Kyle A

Dec 11, 2017

Nick Santos is a great instructor, he breaks things down in a way that is very intuitive and easy to learn. Thoroughly enjoying the course-set to date.

By Litia

Mar 12, 2018

N

By mohamed a m m

Sep 04, 2017

thank you

By Eduardo D

Jan 20, 2018

I decided to take all the five courses believing it would be a challenge, both because of the motivation and the difficulty. The program reveled to be very useful and well structured, and the instructor turns it into a pleasure, making it easy and enjoyable. I'm definitely satisfied.

By Vierah H

Mar 29, 2018

I had taken the Fundamentals in GIS course and after completing that decided to continue with GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality. Being an Earth Scientist I have been exposed and have used GIS previously. I have also taken courses on foundation GIS courses. I have been very impressed with the level of the courses in this series. Dr. Santos is knowledgeable and the material is relevant, and interesting. I particularly enjoyed the exercises that allow me to practice the skill sets acquired during the lectures.

By Harmen C M

Dec 30, 2017

I like the setup and have learned quite a lot. It's just the 2nd course, but I already feel I have learned about a series of important and powerfull tools.

By Benjamin S

Apr 16, 2018

This class continued introducing new and helpful topics and was a good continuation from the first module.

By Manuel A V S

Nov 11, 2016

The course was great. The tasks were a bit more complex than the ones from the first course, but they are still very fun. In the final assignment I was marked down on one aspect. I had every field in the new parcels layer but only got 4 points. I think it was a mistake from the grader.