Chevron Left
Back to GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality

Learner Reviews & Feedback for GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality by University of California, Davis

4.9
stars
1,506 ratings
307 reviews

About the Course

In this course, the second in the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization, you will go in-depth with common data types (such as raster and vector data), structures, quality and storage during four week-long modules: Week 1: Learn about data models and formats, including a full understanding of vector data and raster concepts. You will also learn about the implications of a data’s scale and how to load layers from web services. Week 2: Create a vector data model by using vector attribute tables, writing query strings, defining queries, and adding and calculating fields. You'll also learn how to create new data through the process of digitizing and you'll use the built-in Editor tools in ArcGIS. Week 3: Learn about common data storage mechanisms within GIS, including geodatabases and shapefiles. Learn how to choose between them for your projects and how to optimize them for speed and size. You'll also work with rasters for the first time, using digital elevation models and creating slope and distance analysis products. Week 4: Explore datasets and assess them for quality and uncertainty. You will also learn how to bring your maps and data to the Internet and create web maps quickly with ArcGIS Online. Take GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. You should have equivalent experience to completing the first course in this specialization, Fundamentals of GIS, before taking this course. By completing the second class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program....

Top reviews

LT

Dec 26, 2018

Great course. Quite challenging, huge amount of info shared and employed in the assignments. This makes the course very thorough yet as mentioned, challenging to complete. Not for the faint at heart!

SS

May 01, 2016

Awesome..... The lectures are very helpful to the students or gis learners who wants to do some on-line, especially the final project was awesome... i really enjoyed and learned much more things...

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 302 Reviews for GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality

By Shwahibu M

Jul 17, 2017

The course is great for the intermeddiate GIS learner......I encourage you guys to get enrolled and discover more about GIS data formats

By Jan S

Apr 08, 2019

Solid content. Pace is faster than in the Intro course (1st course in specialization). The final project was challenging and rewarding.

By Alexander W

Jun 09, 2018

Superb teaching techniques that really get you to know the software and tools with real life situations. Thanks Nick and colleagues!

By Mohadeseh J K

Dec 25, 2019

It was very informative but at the same time it requires to read and look at the online lessons a few times and of course practice.

By Daniel M B A

May 31, 2020

An awesome way to dive a bit deeper into the GIS Data formats by learning the basics of designing AND quality. Highly recommended!

By Daniel T

Nov 18, 2019

The course is really good, it extends the foundations of the first one. Can't wait to start the next course of the specialization.

By Andrés F P R

May 08, 2016

Great course, I loved all the workflows and started thinking way more like a GIS Analyst. Hope I can make my own workflows soon.

By Zoran R

Mar 11, 2019

Excellent course! A lot of useful things to learn. It helped me a lot in expanding my knowledge about GIS, and ArcGIS software.

By Manuel J C M

Oct 28, 2019

Muy buen curso para fortalecer las habilidades en procesamiento de información e interactuar mas profundamente con el programa

By David K

Oct 08, 2018

I particularly liked that the course had a strong focus on data bases and attribute tables, even if it is a quite dry topic.

By Safuwan A

Nov 16, 2016

The video lectures and the course assignments are all challenging; and that moves my urge to go on & on...

I love this course

By Daniel B

Jul 01, 2016

This course was worth doing twice. There was so much information and I learned many new skills. The tutorials were in-depth.

By Ziyi W

May 02, 2019

Once again, great course! I like all the guided tutorials and the independent assignment component. Highly recommend it :)

By Dmitrijs M

Mar 05, 2020

Very useful course, if you going to listen all lessons very attentively, final task won't take much time to complete it!

By Mark G

Feb 14, 2019

I especially liked the final project as a way to use the geoprocessing tools and online presentation features of ArcGIS.

By D. C

Jun 12, 2016

I enjoy this course , Excellent learning resource for Gis Data Formats, Design and Quality that teaches with examples ,

By William H

Aug 11, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the course! The lectures are well structured and organized and the assignments are very supportive.

By Solomon

Mar 05, 2018

For anybody who really wants to understand data and how to work with them in GIS, here is the point to know all that.

By Rafael A

Jul 28, 2017

I´ve got more that I had expected. Totally pleased with Nick Santos, the course curriculum and coursera.

Rafael Arranz

By Emilinah

Aug 28, 2017

Excellent course! The final project is especially a great opportunity to practice all the lessons from the videos!

By Jhohan G

Aug 22, 2016

Excellent course, easy to understand. may give you a few headache if you don't have the correct ArcMap Version but

By Tomas B

Dec 09, 2018

Great course! Although the videos may be too long at times, the details of each workflow are definitely useful.

By Deleted A

Aug 21, 2016

It's a great course and the final assignment is very challenging and interesting. All credit goes to the tutor.

By Lucia F

Mar 21, 2018

Excellent course. You need dedication and time to get the most of it . Loved the assignments and assessments.

By Benjamin K K

Oct 06, 2016

wonderfull and usefull course, now i m able to manage data for analyse and design it for a good understanding