Chevron Left
Back to Global Diplomacy: the United Nations in the World

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Global Diplomacy: the United Nations in the World by University of London

4.7
stars
1,092 ratings
377 reviews

About the Course

The course offers a well-researched and broad-ranging primer to the United Nations system. Consisting of an introduction to the complex UN family and its history, and a series of ‘snapshots’ of key UN functions, which are used to explore important UN themes and help learners develop important analysis, communication, and policy-based skills. The course is aimed broadly at people interested in learning more about the United Nations system, assuming a level of interest but no necessary previous knowledge, whilst also offering offering sufficient up to date research and new critical perspectives that it will also be of interest to people with more expertise or academic familiarity with the topic as well. The main aim of the course is to provide this wide-ranging introduction in a self-contained, but in-depth form, alongside the important practical skills necessary to understand and discuss UN affairs, and potentially lay the groundwork for greater engagement in future – either in civil society or in further study....

Top reviews

RR
Jul 29, 2020

Really enjoyed the course. Some of the recommended reading was no longer accessible and the material was not up to date to 2020. However, it gave a good introduction to the UN and the issues involved.

SP
Aug 20, 2020

Very useful course with valuable inputs. Thank you very much for your efforts and making it available for free. Highly recommend to those who study global diplomacy, UN system and human rights.

Filter by:

276 - 300 of 379 Reviews for Global Diplomacy: the United Nations in the World

By Patrycja H

Aug 8, 2021

Excellent!

By Pauty C

Feb 7, 2021

Très bien.

By DAMSON J M

Feb 26, 2018

incredible

By Violette Y A

Feb 5, 2021

very good

By Smith B

Sep 6, 2020

Excellent

By Mahin A N

Aug 6, 2020

very good

By Qihao Y

May 26, 2020

Very good

By Okonkwo F E

Jul 20, 2020

nice one

By ANTHONY I M

Feb 22, 2021

Awesome

By BAHAA E G

Mar 28, 2020

awesome

By Danilo G

Aug 26, 2020

Great.

By Jamal C

Oct 5, 2019

superb

By odai k

Jul 30, 2017

usfull

By Salem D

Sep 6, 2019

Great

By THERESA . O

Sep 3, 2021

nice

By Abdullah S

Aug 4, 2020

Good

By Jean d S S

Jan 6, 2021

Top

By Elzbieta K

Jan 15, 2021

The resources provided on the course are very helpful, albeit outdated by a few years. Would have been great to see more recent articles, although the course does create a really good foundation of what the UN is, especially if you have little prior knowledge of it. The peer-graded system could be improved - the level of engagement is really varied across the course candidates. Overall, how much you will get out of the course is highly dependent on the individual's commitment to the course. As long as you stay committed you will learn plenty, as did I. Thank you!

By Branislav T T

Dec 25, 2019

This course provides all necessary material and methods for gaining moderate level knowledge on the UN. The thing i especially like is diverse references and literature offered and peer-review process of the tasks. The thing i recommend for improvement is more different methods of learning to be involved, like quizes with peers, some interactive games etc. Also, i recommend to develop advanced online course on UN and partnering agencies for us who successfully finished this basic one. Thank you so much for this opportunity!

By Claudio N

Sep 1, 2021

T​he course was very well structerd and organized and it really delivered what it offered, I enjoyed the platform where it is heldm and the concept of peer gradeed assignement I have foubnd it very stimulating and motivating for an online course. My only criticism is that pretty much in every week it hapened to havce an expired link, a dated article or a video not existing anymore, some other timnes articles were behind a subsription or a paywall. I believe it could be improved to regularly check thise links.

T​hanks

By Jose B

Sep 21, 2020

Very informative and good reflections. Two things to improve: Some of the videos and articles were no longer available on the link provided, perhapos needs to be updated. On the last Week there was a video of a pannel about the future of the UN whrre there were all 4 pannelists men, and all the people who put a question from the public were men as well. No a single women took the floor in 1 hour long video. These kind of old fasion presentations should be replaced by more diverse pannesls

By Alina K

Dec 21, 2020

It's a great course with a lot of interactions between students (which is definitely an advantage). Another one is a possibility to hear many different opinions on stated topics. But I would notice also some flaws. Some of the given links need to be checked (they are inactive). Also it would be nice to add some more recent pieces of reading. Thank you very much for this opportunity to study with you!

By P S N S

May 30, 2020

The course was well designed and incorporates a well structured journey of the UN evolution to what it is in its present day scenario. Enables the users to think critically and draft their opinions objectively through assignments. Gives a wide knowledge about the UN's role in upholding human rights, managing crises, role of Security Council, relevance of the UN and a way forward. Highly recommended.

By Giorgia P

Mar 30, 2021

The setting of the course is very good and the topics covered are very interesting. It is a pity that some of the videos are a bit old compared to the contemporary situation.Also, some classmates have not been corrected in the marking of essays, not specifying the reason why they gave a negative score and presenting poorly done assignments. Overall the course is very good.

By Joshua E

Jun 29, 2019

Great course, my only qualms are that it is a few years outdated on some geopolitical issues, several readings are unavailable or behind a subscription, and the emergency section for week 6 I didn't feel had the right assigned readings. I nonetheless gained a lot from the course and learned about differing perspectives on how the UN works and should be fixed.