Chevron Left
Back to Global Diplomacy: the United Nations in the World

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Global Diplomacy: the United Nations in the World by University of London

4.7
stars
1,109 ratings
381 reviews

About the Course

The course offers a well-researched and broad-ranging primer to the United Nations system. Consisting of an introduction to the complex UN family and its history, and a series of ‘snapshots’ of key UN functions, which are used to explore important UN themes and help learners develop important analysis, communication, and policy-based skills. The course is aimed broadly at people interested in learning more about the United Nations system, assuming a level of interest but no necessary previous knowledge, whilst also offering offering sufficient up to date research and new critical perspectives that it will also be of interest to people with more expertise or academic familiarity with the topic as well. The main aim of the course is to provide this wide-ranging introduction in a self-contained, but in-depth form, alongside the important practical skills necessary to understand and discuss UN affairs, and potentially lay the groundwork for greater engagement in future – either in civil society or in further study....

Top reviews

RR
Jul 29, 2020

Really enjoyed the course. Some of the recommended reading was no longer accessible and the material was not up to date to 2020. However, it gave a good introduction to the UN and the issues involved.

AF
Dec 6, 2018

It was very interesting to get to know better about the UN structure and concepts, and it helped me a lot to get my first opportunity in an UN mission! Starting a new career. Thank you so much.

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 381 Reviews for Global Diplomacy: the United Nations in the World

By Muhammad G

Sep 11, 2019

The course is informative and contains so much to learn of-course. However, I find lack of recent events/developments which have taken place overtime.

By Ronald E C

Oct 9, 2021

It contains not updated question but still gaves an important view of issues related to the UN, the past, the present and the future the UN face up.

By Erica D

Jul 6, 2020

Very interesting subject, competent teachers and interesting points of view presented.

The reading material and videos were also quite extensive.

By KOUSTAV C

Aug 6, 2020

It is great course but if there would have been more videos that it would have been better. But any ways there are many articles for reading.

By SUDHEER N

Jul 22, 2020

UN Clairvoyance need to understand the Human Valor ,But world at peril due to lack transparency among club Member .

Please as Erudite person.

By AKINAGUM-ESENJOR F

Oct 19, 2017

It enlightens and very easy to operate ,i was actually scared to do a course online but this is a perfect way to learn • Thanks to coursera

By Kerryn M

Jun 14, 2021

T​his is a great course, but some of the links and readings need to be updated. Still worth completing though. I learnt a lot. Thankyou.

By самойленко д а

Jul 21, 2020

so I like the course and I have fond out a lot about the UN. In my opinion, it was not enough video- materials from teachers (lectors).

By Meghan T

Sep 22, 2019

Really interesting content and lots of resources to go through at your own pace. The discussion aspect could have been promoted more.

By Ayano I

Jul 31, 2020

It was really helpful and useful to learn the UN function and current situation of these fields by accessing a variety of resources.

By Ella T

Sep 30, 2020

Loved the videos and the peer marking! However it was unfortunate that some of the links for the readings were no longer available.

By Nkiruka N

Sep 10, 2020

It was quite an exciting learning period for me. Super thanks to University of London (SOAS) and Coursera for this opportunity.

By Ishwari C

Jul 18, 2020

This course has not only given me a great insight into global diplomacy but also has served as my first step towards my goal.

By Robert P

Dec 12, 2018

A great insight into the role of the UN, its past, and where its headed. A range of tasks would make this course 5*!

By Lamia B A

Jul 5, 2020

The course is really helpful for international relations students also for others. We can know about UN briefly.

By jacob p

Nov 6, 2020

This course is very educative, you gain knowledge about the UN, its operation and its agencies which are unknown

By Arsene M

Mar 31, 2021

Excellent course however, reviewing students' assignment(s) could take long which affects their deadline(s).

By R.Karlina L

Jan 6, 2020

The course give us comprehensive insight how United Nation struggle and take role in Global Diplomacy.

By Samuel H

Apr 24, 2018

This course has been very good to me. It made me to learn more about the UN and it general activities.

By Beatriz S

Jul 14, 2021

I​ loved it! But I guess some information needs an update. I read articles with more than 10 years

By Anthony C C W

Nov 9, 2020

Its interesting and a good introduction to the UN, but I think more lectures would make it better.

By Oliver S

Jul 31, 2020

Each week had a clear motive that was successfully addressed in the subsequent material offered.

By CMP

Sep 24, 2021

Great sources provided, but maybe more use of visual content provided y the professors!

By Lakshita J

May 19, 2020

great course. but have little video lectures and more of reading material.

By Priyantha B

Sep 18, 2021

Good courser to gain insights into the UN & related Human Rights,