Chevron Left
Back to Getting Started with Go

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Getting Started with Go by University of California, Irvine

4.6
stars
1,343 ratings
344 reviews

About the Course

Learn the basics of Go, an open source programming language originally developed by a team at Google and enhanced by many contributors from the open source community. This course is designed for individuals with previous programming experience using such languages as C, Python, or Java, and covers the fundamental elements of Go. Topics include data types, protocols, formats, and writing code that incorporates RFCs and JSON. Most importantly, you’ll have a chance to practice writing Go programs and receive feedback from your peers. Upon completing this course, you'll be able to implement simple Go programs, which will prepare you for subsequent study at a more advanced level....

Top reviews

JP
Apr 4, 2020

Great intro. If you already know the basics, you probably don't need this course though. Not much of a deep dive, more of a "skim the surface" type course. Week 4 on IO was the most beneficial for me.

AN
Oct 23, 2020

Very detailed, nice introduction to golang's basic concepts. Might need to google to find better ways to handle some requirements of the assignments, but overall a cool programming language to learn.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 340 Reviews for Getting Started with Go

By Shahriyar R

Feb 21, 2020

The exercises were interesting/challenging and the explanation was decent. I love the way of explanation of simple but important concepts.

By Luis R A S

Jul 21, 2020

Excelent course, need to know some things before hand and the start is rough if you don't know anything about go, but it's a good course

By Manjunath D

Jul 28, 2020

It was a wonderful course with just the right amount of topics for anybody who has prior experience and wants to learn a new language

By Vernon S

May 27, 2020

Building simple applications reinforces the information provided in the video lectures and provides a solid introduction to Go.

By Carl B

Oct 20, 2018

It's targeted toward intermediate but I found it a little more "beginner". Lecturer is great and the assignments are fun though

By Enrique M

Mar 25, 2020

i love the teacher. his communications skills are excellent and the course has balance of explanations for devs of all levels

By Nagarjuna G

Sep 26, 2019

Explained very clearly and easy to follow the tutorial. It's better to include the example programs at corresponding topic

By Agnaldo P d O

Sep 2, 2019

I have never seen Go Lang before, this course gives me an excellent overview what is this "new" programming language is.

By Artūras Š

Sep 14, 2020

Even assignments look not difficult, but while writing program there are "hidden" thinks to consider. I liked this.

By Sood, P

Apr 26, 2020

it covers all the basic concepts of GoLang and is nicely structured. Would like to learn unit testing concepts as well

By Naveena.P

Sep 4, 2020

This course is very useful for the beginners to get start with Go.I really enjoyed this course and it is very helpful

By Sudhansu S

Jul 24, 2020

Content was delivered with clarity on fundamentals. Assignments are designed well to apply learning from each module!

By Aditya G

Jun 4, 2020

Good course to start with Golang programming. The assignments are good and helps a lot in understanding the concepts

By BALLA L K

Jun 21, 2020

Initially i thought that the course is very difficult after that slowly i had learn a lot of thing from this course

By Felipe A L d O S

Oct 2, 2018

Very good course to get started with the Go Language. Better you have some knowledge with any programming language.

By Alessio L

Apr 13, 2020

Very well done! Professor was clear and concise and testing exams were proper for the required level of expertise.

By Manoj N

Sep 11, 2020

I think this course gives you a strong base line for the next courses and professional development in the future.

By NAVEEJA S

Mar 29, 2020

This is the best programming course I have ever attended. The Professor explains the key concepts very precisely.

By Md M R

May 5, 2020

A great course for learning Go. The explanation of Professor Ian Harris is precise and clear. Loved the course.

By Dmitrii B

Apr 23, 2020

Really novice level, but good explanatory and nice speaker, easy to listen. Some topics can be shorten in half.

By Brian L

Jun 24, 2020

Concepts like slices should be given more air time to help course takers better understand the data structure.

By Jhonatan Z

Jul 5, 2020

Nice material and also the instructor has a lot of knowledge everything he explains is natural in his words.

By Anubhav K S

Sep 20, 2020

Awesome and easy to learn and understand

Thanks to teacher and Coursera for this program and this platform

By Michael W

Feb 12, 2019

Great teacher! Very useful information for people with knowledge of other languages trying to jump into Go

By Vidhan G

Aug 15, 2020

Good course for beginners in go programming , teaches some of the most basic stuff in a detailed manner!!