Chevron Left
Back to The History of Modern Israel - Part I: From an Idea to a State

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The History of Modern Israel - Part I: From an Idea to a State by Tel Aviv University

4.6
stars
788 ratings

About the Course

How did the State of Israel come to be? How is it that an idea, introduced in 19th century Europe, became a reality? And how does that reality prevail in the harsh complexities of the Middle East? Presented by Professor Eyal Naveh, with additional units from Professor Asher Sussers' "The Emergence of the Modern Middle East" course, This course will take you on a journey through the history of Modern Israel. In this 1st part of the course we will explore: How did the 19th century idea of a Jewish state become a reality? So the next time you hear about Israel in the news, you will be informed enough about the history of this area to comprehend the many sides and narratives that interact to shape the complex reality of Israel today. Please note that there is a second part to this course "The History of Modern Israel - Part II: Challenges of Israel as a sovereign state" which is a direct extension of this part. We highly recommend to continue to the second part after you finish this one (https://www.coursera.org/learn/history-israel-sovereign-state). In order to receive academic credit for this course you must successfully pass the academic exam on campus. For information on how to register for the academic exam – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/registration Additionally, you can apply to certain degrees using the grades you received on the courses. Read more on this here – https://go.tau.ac.il/b.a/mooc-acceptance Teachers interested in teaching this course in their class rooms are invited to explore our Academic High school program here – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/online-highschool * This course is a joint effort of Tel Aviv University & Israel Institute (www.israelinstitute.org) * This course uses media material from various archives, courtesy to Yad Vashem Archive for their help. * This course is self-paced. Once you register, you can participate in the course anytime, as often as you wish and over any stretch of time...

Top reviews

TA

Sep 26, 2019

"The History of Modern Israel – Part I: From an Idea to a State" is a time demanding course for all of us nowadays to know the real history of modern Israel. Thanks Coursera for the such opportunity.

SS

Sep 29, 2020

It gave me more insight for me about Israel history. The tutors explained it in a simple way, although some parts of the materials were a little bit difficult to understand

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 225 Reviews for The History of Modern Israel - Part I: From an Idea to a State

By Jorge D A G

Jul 9, 2019

I have founded really interesting, perhaps it was almost unknown for me. Congratulations to the teachers.

By Rony P R

Nov 17, 2016

Good course. This course will clear the history of Jewish state in sequential order. Presented very well

By Deleted A

Feb 8, 2016

Challenging material with great opportunities to get more background information for further studying.

By Lorena W

Jun 9, 2020

Excelente curso! Muy bien explicado tanto por los profesores como por los conferencistas invitados.

By Andrea E S

Jun 29, 2016

Excellent course that gives new light on such a provocative and discussed tragedy in human history.

By Praveenkumar S H

Jun 25, 2016

Excellent content and delivery. Gave me a good perspective of history around Israel and Palestine.

By Eric B

May 21, 2016

This course gives a simple but clear bone structure upon which to hang further study on the topic.

By Renjitthomas

Sep 6, 2018

Very good very detailed and advanced questions for quizz which require a lot of general reading

By Katarina M

Dec 3, 2017

Great course, very much needed as so much incorrect information circles around about Israel.

By thomas e

Nov 23, 2015

Thanks for this very interesting class. Hope to see released in a near future the follow up!

By Michelle W

Apr 28, 2020

I learned a lot. I liked the way the class was run and the length. Loved the instructor.

By Angela T

Aug 22, 2017

Very interesting course which covers a lot of material that I was not previously aware of.

By David P

Sep 5, 2016

Excellent course, thank you so much! I truly enjoyed learning about the histroy of Israel.

By David L

Feb 11, 2018

Very informative lecture of the history of the most important piece of land in the world.

By Michael K

Jan 27, 2016

I learned so much from this course, it added so much flesh to the bones of my knowledge.

By Ryan A M

Aug 25, 2017

Very informative. I honestly say I understand the beginnings of Israel very well know.

By Khaliil M

Feb 25, 2018

Excellent Course, very informative. I hopeful I will join part two of course as well.

By Paul L

Apr 6, 2020

I liked the variety of instructors and the challenging questions, every now and then.

By Nancy M W

May 8, 2024

Very insightful and unbiased, it really helps in understanding what is happening now

By Marlene S

Dec 22, 2021

This course was very informative on the early history of Modern Israel. Thank you!

By Annette B

Jun 2, 2017

Really nice course!! I wish the exams would let you see the correct answers though.

By Matthew K

Jan 3, 2017

Incredibly interesting course I would definitely recommend it to anyone interested.

By Denise I

Feb 25, 2019

Curso bem esclarecedor do início de Israel, bem como do conflito árabe-israelense.

By Matthew P

Apr 22, 2021

Another excellent course from Tel Aviv University. Everything they do is quality!

By Beatriz m d

Dec 11, 2020

The first part has been excellent,very well explained with all its complexity.