Chevron Left
Back to History of Rock, Part One

Learner Reviews & Feedback for History of Rock, Part One by University of Rochester

4.8
stars
1,017 ratings
299 reviews

About the Course

This course, part 1 of a 2-course sequence, examines the history of rock, primarily as it unfolded in the United States, from the days before rock (pre-1955) to the end of the 1960s. This course covers the music of Elvis Presley, Chuck Berry, Phil Spector, Bob Dylan, the Beatles, the Rolling Stones, Jimi Hendrix, Cream, and many more artists, with an emphasis both on cultural context and on the music itself. We will also explore how developments in the music business and in technology helped shape the ways in which styles developed. Rock emerged in the mid 1950s as a blending of mainstream pop, rhythm and blues, and country and western--styles that previously had remained relatively separate. This new style became the music of the emerging youth culture and was often associated with teen rebellion. We will follow the story of how this rowdy first wave of rock and roll (1955-59) was tamed in the early 60s but came roaring back with the Beatles and the Rolling Stones and then went psychedelic by the end of the decade....

Top reviews

SM
Oct 1, 2016

This course has really helped to fill out my piecemeal understanding of the development of rock music. The pace and content of learning has been well considered and Prof Covach is to be congratulated.

BL
Mar 12, 2018

Provided insight into what I was listening to as a pre-teen. I didn't have the exposure to some of the older roots or the an understanding of the business forces that shaped the music I had access to.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 299 Reviews for History of Rock, Part One

By Gustavo N S

Jul 30, 2019

I really enjoyed with this course, It was very informative, interesting and a great source of information about rock and roll music.

By Anuj P N L

Apr 4, 2019

It was an awesome experience of Learning history of Rock. Thank You Prof. John Covach. I learnt a lot of stuff from your Videos.

By Carolina A V S

Aug 18, 2018

El mejor curso sobre la historia del rock. Excelente profesor, detalles e información, entretenido, buenos ejemplos musicales.

By Henry J A T

Jan 12, 2016

Great course! Great instructor!, thanks a lot to John Covach and to the University Of Rochester, for this pleasant experience!.

By Panagiotis K

Aug 9, 2020

Well-organised, not boring at all. Dr. Covach is great in transmitting his knowledge. I am looking forward to the second part!

By Nicholas S

May 24, 2020

This was a fantastic course! I can't wait for Part 2! If you are considering taking this course, I would highly recommend it.

By Ramiro M

Jan 4, 2017

Sheds a lot of light on this fascinating subject! Highly recommendable, amusing talks and nice quizzes. A defintely must-try.

By John C P

Jun 7, 2020

Me encantó, aprendí mucho de de un tema que siempre me interesó. Lo recomiendo para todos aquellos que le encanta la música.

By Ryan M

Jan 11, 2017

Not finished, but great the way he explains the origins of so much and ties things together. I've already learned so much.

By Bill G

Oct 6, 2015

Great course. Very informative and helps me put together all that was happening during my youth and teen age years. Bravo!

By Adrian H

May 15, 2021

I thought I knew quite a bit about Rock Music....how wrong was ?!!?....thoroughly informative and thoroughly enjoyable

By Garrett F

Jun 7, 2020

What a great course. John is so interesting and knowledgeable. I would love to take a course of his in person one day.

By Alexis M

Jun 23, 2020

Very informative and interesting. Professor is entertaining and incredibly knowledgable. Quizzes are very specific.

By Bida L W

Feb 3, 2020

A wonderful course and some ideas of John Covach was quite personal thoughts, I don’t agree with some answers

By jiong s

Apr 7, 2018

great course with all those details to help to understand more about the history of rock music. many thanks .

By Juan C V L

Apr 2, 2016

Great course. Greetings from Colombia. With this course I've found the best lessons about Rock Music. Thanks

By Jhose A G

Dec 6, 2015

Thanks for this interesting and enjoyable course. I´m looking forward to do the part two of History of Rock.

By John R

Nov 2, 2015

This course rocks! (no pun intended). Great professor, fun and relevant content, and excellent presentation.

By Esteban M

Oct 14, 2020

Excelent! John Covach is a wise, tranquil and amazing teacher. I will do the second part. Thank You, John!

By Jeff K

May 6, 2020

Such a good course! It only makes you wish there was time to go more in depth about every topic covered!

By Niki

May 6, 2020

Great Teacher :) Really enjoyed this course. It was well-rounded, clear and very interesting. Thank you !

By Franc M

Oct 6, 2020

I have enjoyed a lot this course and learned a lot of things. Hoping to start part 2 as soon as I can!

By Ricardo J P D L T

May 16, 2021

An excellent course where you can learn how rock starts and takes form!! I can't wait to take part 2!

By Mauricio A S P

Aug 14, 2019

Te entrega mucho conocimiento de la historia del rock y en realidad de la música en general, muy bueo