Chevron Left
Back to History of Rock, Part One

Learner Reviews & Feedback for History of Rock, Part One by University of Rochester

4.8
stars
1,017 ratings
299 reviews

About the Course

This course, part 1 of a 2-course sequence, examines the history of rock, primarily as it unfolded in the United States, from the days before rock (pre-1955) to the end of the 1960s. This course covers the music of Elvis Presley, Chuck Berry, Phil Spector, Bob Dylan, the Beatles, the Rolling Stones, Jimi Hendrix, Cream, and many more artists, with an emphasis both on cultural context and on the music itself. We will also explore how developments in the music business and in technology helped shape the ways in which styles developed. Rock emerged in the mid 1950s as a blending of mainstream pop, rhythm and blues, and country and western--styles that previously had remained relatively separate. This new style became the music of the emerging youth culture and was often associated with teen rebellion. We will follow the story of how this rowdy first wave of rock and roll (1955-59) was tamed in the early 60s but came roaring back with the Beatles and the Rolling Stones and then went psychedelic by the end of the decade....

Top reviews

SM
Oct 1, 2016

This course has really helped to fill out my piecemeal understanding of the development of rock music. The pace and content of learning has been well considered and Prof Covach is to be congratulated.

BL
Mar 12, 2018

Provided insight into what I was listening to as a pre-teen. I didn't have the exposure to some of the older roots or the an understanding of the business forces that shaped the music I had access to.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 299 Reviews for History of Rock, Part One

By Carrie F

Jun 26, 2017

Great info, I loved listening to the music and learning about the bands! Can't wait to get to Part 2!

By Cathy G

Jan 24, 2017

Extremely knowledgeable teacher!! You will learn amazing facts and details of the rise of rock music.

By Andrew G

Jun 30, 2016

Very, very well done course -- great information, well presented and well paced. Highly recommended!

By Michael V

Nov 8, 2015

Terrific course. John Covach knows the material and presents it well. Enjoyed the course immensely.

By Geert P

Oct 8, 2016

Great course, with great stories. A Professor you can listen to for hours. Absolutely top notch!

By Huang K

Jan 15, 2016

The professor gives a fun speech on music and I really enjoy watching as well as listening in his

By Steve M

Apr 13, 2020

Great insight and learning course about the greatest music in the world,

Rock and roll! 🎼🤪🎸

By Ferdinand P

Jan 26, 2018

A truly amazing class. I had a great time and learned a lot. I'm looking forward to Part 2!

By 任欣雨

Dec 4, 2016

Very good course for beginner to know about rock history,looking forward to join the Part.2

By Aline D

Mar 2, 2016

I loved the content and found the teacher spectacular. This is a really fun course to take.

By Brendan C

Nov 14, 2018

This was fantastic preparation to help me teach a course using this text next school year.

By luis g

Aug 13, 2017

Really nice course to know about history of music on the first 6 decades of XX century

By Christine H

Jan 3, 2021

Fascinating. I used the textbook to accompany the lectures and it was of great value

By Joanne P

Jun 5, 2020

Entertaining and informative. Terrific instructor. I would recommend it to a friend.

By Phyllis S

Jul 31, 2016

Delivered by an instructor whose lectures are knowledgeable, well-paced and dynamic.

By Zillah K

Aug 28, 2015

Fascinating account of popular music, mostly American, from 1955 to 1970. I love it.

By Kathy P

Mar 22, 2020

Very informative and fun to learn so much about music. Looking forward to part two.

By Gregg H

Apr 12, 2016

Exciting course, especially if you use the book and the additional on-line material

By Marcos L R G

Feb 24, 2016

Great course. I love rock and now I understand better this wonderful kind of music.

By Brittani G

Jan 15, 2019

This was extremely fun and informational. You can impress your friends at parties.

By Cristina S

Sep 14, 2017

A good fun way to learn about the history of ronck. Can't wait to start second p

By Josefin

Oct 31, 2015

This course is the best! Very interesting and informative. Fun to. Check it out.

By Marco L

Oct 5, 2015

Simply great, if you like music you can't miss it. Amazing teaching and contents

By Michel L

Aug 20, 2020

i learnt a lot in this course, I higly recommend for musicians or fans of music