Chevron Left
Back to Foundations for Assisting in Home Care

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Foundations for Assisting in Home Care by The State University of New York

4.7
stars
99 ratings
33 reviews

About the Course

This course is intended as a self-study course for those interested in exploring a career as a Home Health Aide or Personal Care Aide....

Top reviews

JW

Mar 29, 2020

Amazing course I have learned so much in these 13 weeks. I wold highly recommend this course to anyone looking to earn a degree or just get a good education in this field.

DW

Jul 18, 2017

Mega course! You learnt about the do's and don'ts of care, along with knowledge of the medical body and transferring patients from/to their wheelchair or the bed.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 33 Reviews for Foundations for Assisting in Home Care

By Mizanur R

Oct 20, 2017

Great introduction for Assisting in Home Care. This course is very informative and timely. Information is easy to understand and quizzes are designed to reinforce understanding. Text, audio files, pictures and videos are used to help students grasp the subject matter. The course could be more useful and fun if more videos are added.

By Joyce W

Mar 29, 2020

Amazing course I have learned so much in these 13 weeks. I wold highly recommend this course to anyone looking to earn a degree or just get a good education in this field.

By KATIA K

Apr 19, 2019

I have to take care of my mother and now I´m very conscious for each issue and help her in the home and assistance her for the daily living.

By pamela b

May 31, 2018

It is VERY Unnecessary to include information in text in regards to a human sexual functioning; when the course should focus on information related to the care of humans in need of home health services! a copy of text found in week 8 " Physical limitations may also make sexual intimacy more difficult in that a person with a physical disability may need to make adjustments in order to engage in intimacy. Making adaptive changes in order to fulfill sexual intimacy needs can cause a person stress." (what is this text trying to convey, what message are you sending to future HHA/PCA?) I find this inappropriate and demeaning to the home health profession! As a HHA in the USA, and having taken other home health related courses and training, never have I read an training text including sexual health and functioning pertaining to training aides to assist elderly and or other humans in need of home health services. Given this course is sponsor or adopted though a New York establishment i'm applaud! the content needs to be reviewed and rewritten! this course has text in earlier modules in the course where text including information of an individual sexual health and activity are mention! HOW this relevant to caring for a person in a home health care setting? INDEED IT IS NOT!!! The course info. should only be to teach the care of person needing home health in nutrition,hygiene and grooming care, medical and medication,first aid treatment, house cleaning and care, etc.. NOT a human being sexual health concerns and needs!! DUE to this content error, I refuse to continue the course as a student.

By Magdalene M A

Jun 12, 2020

Great course, i've learnt a lot. The course is loaded but equips you enough for the role. It teaches you a part of health care that is very essential but does not get the needed attention it deserves, especially, at where i am in Africa. Im a nutritionist and i found this course very useful to my work. You should try it.

By Ivan

Jul 08, 2018

It really gives you a base, a foundation to learn how to behave and what to do in specific situations, with specific poeple. But, more important, this course will teach you ethics. Ethics and technical skills are all you need, if you work as a competent caregiver (I'm using the wrong term, I know...)

By Selwyn P C

Oct 17, 2016

This is by far one of the best courses I've done at Coursera. It served the purpose I had in mind, as a practical review of many basic human services process and proceedures. I recommend it for both the induction to and review of these fundmentals.

By norrika n b

Sep 24, 2020

I think more videos should've been including instead of so much reading. not every one can visualize, they need to see the entire action played out since this is a online course not hands on. but it was very a great course.

By Dominique J A W

Jul 18, 2017

Mega course! You learnt about the do's and don'ts of care, along with knowledge of the medical body and transferring patients from/to their wheelchair or the bed.

By Alan P G L

Oct 15, 2020

I´m very happy for achieving my goals with this course, also, appreciate everything coursera and the university have done. Thank you so so much!

By Channa H

Jul 14, 2019

Terrific course. Material covers a wide range of topics. I highly recommend taking this course for all home health care professionals.

By Diana C C

Jul 03, 2017

This is a great course, I would recommend for any one looking forward to joining the home health care industry. Good work.

By Rodriguez, E

Jan 21, 2018

Excellent course, easy to understand and at the same time with very specific and timely information!!

By Escobar C

Oct 10, 2018

a lot information, thank you so much for this course. really impress about all items thats covered .

By sandra m t a

Aug 14, 2020

excelent!!!!! The information is precise. thank!!! I would like to obtain certification.

By Jamie R

Sep 05, 2020

Great class everyone should take this class lots of links and free book too!

By Ajayi O G

Oct 07, 2020

Everything you need to know in caring for the elderly is right here!

By Jay S

Sep 21, 2020

Learned a lot and will be easily applied in the work environment

By Rebecca B

Sep 05, 2020

The course is clear, wide and very explanatory.

By ABIODUN A

May 17, 2020

Very helpful and easy to understand.

By Márcia G C

Jun 29, 2018

Very interesting, love the course.

By Darlene K

Oct 29, 2017

This course is great thank you

By Monika M

Oct 24, 2017

A Very good learning program.

By Heather C

Feb 06, 2019

Learning so much

By Eve G

Oct 04, 2019

Great course