Chevron Left
Back to How Things Work: An Introduction to Physics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for How Things Work: An Introduction to Physics by University of Virginia

4.8
971 ratings
257 reviews

About the Course

An introduction to physics in the context of everyday objects....

Top reviews

C

Oct 28, 2018

The course was simple and easy to follow! I enjoyed Professor Bloomfield's teaching very much! I definitely would recommend it for anyone who is curious about the basic principles of science!

WY

Jun 22, 2017

Great introduction to Physics. I use the concepts taught in this course frequently in everyday life. Professor Bloomfield explains concepts very clearly without getting overly mathematical.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 254 Reviews for How Things Work: An Introduction to Physics

By Andrej M

Aug 24, 2015

Amazing course

By Madhushree P

Nov 02, 2016

Very interesting, simple and fun. Thankyou Professor Lou and look forward to more such videos on mechanical physics from you.

By Brenda B R H

Sep 07, 2015

I love this.

By Piotr C

Oct 09, 2015

Just Great!

By Michiel K

Feb 02, 2017

Very well put together by Lou, who has an approach of child-like humour and an approachable method of teaching through the camera. There are many great examples with simple, consistent explanations that stick. If you heard the example of the figure skater spinning faster by pulling in his/her arms a million times in popular science shows but never really knew WHY that happened, this course is perfect for you.

By Sudipti A

May 31, 2016

The professor is really informative and thoroughly explains the concepts. It's a great course to take as an introduction to Physics.

By Janeth R

Apr 19, 2016

I love the course. Professor Bloomberg makes me love this class. I am glad to take the class with him since I need to learn physics to learn astronomy. Thank you professor Bloomberg.

By Carl C

Jul 20, 2016

Funny and engaging instructor breaking down the basics of physics in a simple and easy to understand way!

By matan c

Dec 17, 2016

Very nice.

By owis s h

Jan 01, 2016

this course is "WOW"

By S K

Nov 10, 2016

One of THE best courses I have done so far online. Wish the good Prof would offer other courses in Physics. He has a nice and simple way of putting across the scientific stuff.

By RAVINDRA D S

Aug 31, 2015

Thank you very much Mr. Bloomfield ... !!!

Great presentation, excellent demonstrations, indoor and outdoors and very assuring oratory skills. Appreciate all your efforts and looking forward to yet another opportunity to meet you virtually.

One small area of disagreement though ... I refer to your video "Week 3, Falling Balls I" (time frame 5:12) (How Things Work) topic on "Weight and Mass" of an object where you point out two items from the grocery store, namely the Chocolate Bar and the bag of Cookies.

Following information from US FDA regarding Food Labeling Guide, Net quantity of Contents Statement.

>>>>>>>

3. Should the net quantity of contents be stated in both grams and ounces?

Answer: Food labels printed must show the net contents in both metric (grams, kilograms, milliliters, liters) and U.S. Customary System (ounces, pounds, fluid ounces) terms. The metric statement may be placed either before or after the U.S. Customary statement, or above or below it. Each of the following examples is correct (additional examples appear in the regulations):

Net wt 1 lb 8 oz (680g)

Net wt 1 lb 8 oz 680 g

500 ml (1 pt 0.9 fl oz)

Net contents 1 gal (3.79 L)

<<<<<<<<<<

For additional info, please refer to the following link for detailed info on what US FDA agrees to : http://www.fda.gov/Food/GuidanceRegulation/GuidanceDocumentsRegulatoryInformation/LabelingNutrition/ucm064877.htm#included

View above, I presume that the value of the grocery contents shown in Metric system is its Net Weight (not mass) and makes it easier to understand for people from countries that follow Metric system.

Let me know if I am wrong.

Warm Regards,

Ravi Sudame.

By Tami M

Nov 19, 2017

This course is glorious. I never thought my mind could understand physics because throughout school, it was just esoteric. I had MANY questions about theories and their application, but felt like my questions were stupid and clearly I just wasn't cut out for the subject. But now to have those misunderstandings cleared up, to have my eyes opened to physics in my daily world, to get to grips with physics sans formulae - it's almost magical. A very, very masterful crafted course as well - thought-provoking questions, structuring the modules themselves around key, practical questions, the physical illustrations - it's great. Thank you!

By Miha M

Sep 18, 2015

A brilliant teacher makes a course easy, makes you wish learning his lessons without too much effort from your side, this being the case here, I really enjoy this course and I find it useful.

By Shagnik D R

Aug 23, 2015

Great details and awesome teacher. Loved this course!

By Claudette D

Sep 11, 2015

~ SO MUCH FUN TO LEARN FROM THE "EXPERTS"...................very grateful ~

By Satish C C

Oct 19, 2015

Awesome...

By Szymon W

Aug 29, 2015

It is superb. I really enjoy classes which are explaining fundamentals of physics in interesting, entertaining, stimulating way. And these are such classes. This course gives us opportunity to understand physics by examining everyday situations, and that's why it is more comprehensible than classes at school or university.

Mr Bloomfield is doing a great, great job indeed! Many thanks for him, and all the best! Keep it up :)

By 周俊波

Feb 05, 2016

很好的课程,给非物理学专业的童鞋很好的解释有关的运动的物理知识~~~其中的一些思维方式,也值得物理专业的童鞋重新思考自己所学的知识

By Paul C P G

Aug 16, 2015

Interesante y didáctica forma de abordar los fundamentos de mecánica, en particular fuerza y movimiento

By Mirtylle1

Oct 20, 2015

Je dois dire que les enseignants US on le chic pour être si pédagogique qu'on a l'impression d'être intelligent!

Bravo pour ce cours il fallait oser

By Giacomo S

Dec 21, 2015

Excellent course to learn the basics of mechanics, through explanations and examples are easy to remember... Just perfect for those who want to bring themechanics physical and the more advanced students (sometimes they make mistakes stubidi). This course resolve the gap between the formality of a university course of mathematics and the physical meaning retrievable in everyday life

By carlos r

Aug 12, 2016

excelente curso

By Tun L A

Sep 05, 2017

If u want to improve your knowledge of mechanics' concepts, study now.

By Kiyomi K

Sep 07, 2015

This Physics class is positively different from that I had before, bringing physics much closer to everyday life.