Chevron Left
Back to How To Create a Website in a Weekend! (Project-Centered Course)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for How To Create a Website in a Weekend! (Project-Centered Course) by The State University of New York

3.3
stars
542 ratings
185 reviews

About the Course

What you’ll achieve: In this project-centered course*, you’ll design, build, and publish a basic website that incorporates text, sound, images, hyperlinks, plug-ins, and social media interactivity. We’ll provide you with step-by-step instructions, exercises, tips, and tools that enable you to set up a domain name, create an attractive layout for your pages, organize your content properly, ensure that your site functions well across different operating systems and on mobile devices, keep your site safe, and finally, let people know your site is online. We’ll even show you how to track your visitors. Throughout the course, you'll engage in collaboration and discussion with other learners through course forums and peer review. Once you complete your first website project using Wordpress, you can move on to our optional, extended module that covers more advanced techniques such as using a simple text editor, coding in HTML, CSS, and Javascript, and more. What you’ll need to get started: This project-centered course is designed for learners who have little or no prior experience developing a web site. You will need a computer with a stable Internet connection. We’ll use Wordpress to get you started, provide lots of downloadable examples, and guide you through the process of giving and receiving constructive peer-to-peer feedback. *About Project-Centered Courses: Project-centered courses are designed to help you complete a personally meaningful real-world project, with your instructor and a community of learners with similar goals providing guidance and suggestions along the way. By actively applying new concepts as you learn, you’ll master the course content more efficiently; you’ll also get a head start on using the skills you gain to make positive changes in your life and career. When you complete the course, you’ll have a finished project that you’ll be proud to use and share....

Top reviews

AS
Jul 10, 2020

This was a good experience and a good lesson for me .Which can be helpful in future thanks for giving a different way and perspective on websites.It was first time i felt websites are interesting

ZC
Aug 5, 2018

Great course and well presented. Easy to understand! Recommend to everyone who needs and wants to understand the basics of the web design. Thank you to professors.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 184 Reviews for How To Create a Website in a Weekend! (Project-Centered Course)

By De B

Sep 17, 2016

If you have any experience with websites, this course is not for you: it is merely about the soft stuff. Got a couple of nice links to color scheme generator et cetera, but did not deliver what I thought it promised.

By Aditi S

Jul 11, 2020

This was a good experience and a good lesson for me .Which can be helpful in future thanks for giving a different way and perspective on websites.It was first time i felt websites are interesting

By Jasper T

Jan 16, 2021

This is just a series of text linking to other websites for info. (many of wichg are many years old already)

By Baback D

Oct 20, 2020

This is the worst course I have ever participated in my entire life. There is no teaching involved. They just expect you to know everything you're supposed to do. If I already knew what is wordpress, how to work with it, plus all the other things about making a website, why on earth would I participate in the course? I can't believe they call it a course. It's just a series of assignments you're supposed to do and that's it. That's the whole course. What a joke! I want a refund on my time

By Izuchukwu D O

Nov 11, 2020

The course is not comprehensive, the anchoring lecturers simply sat there and gave short and insufficient videos that cannot equip any beginner sufficiently., the course is not great... Such courses should be free if you ask me

By Dharam P

Nov 20, 2020

Whenever I am Clicking anything, just asking to upgrade. I am unable to unenroll too. For creating website also you have to pay, better not to enroll for this course

By Valerie W

Jan 31, 2019

Not what I expected from the description. Instruction was not clearly defined and I abandoned the course. I did not find the instruction useful.

By K R

Mar 20, 2021

Do not take this course, it is a waste of time.

Use the free materials available directly from

Wordpress instead.

By Manjeet K

Sep 11, 2020

This is the worst course available in Coursera. There are no video lectures.

By Denise W

Sep 3, 2020

The title should be "How to create a Website in WORDPRESS in a Weekend"

By Abhijeet E

Aug 3, 2020

this is just like doing by our self..not even single video lecture...

By Peter B

Oct 1, 2020

Would have rated it lower, but there were no options below one star

By Mr. G

Dec 17, 2016

makes it very confusing. I was looking to make a business websites.

By Marvin E S U

Aug 14, 2017

Not helpful. Need more detail to make something good.

By Marco A V R

Oct 31, 2020

I want to unsubscribe from the course but I can't

By Han C

Feb 25, 2017

Have to say: this course is not useful

By Ankur T

Apr 29, 2016

Nothing good in this course

By Manpreet K

Aug 25, 2020

this course is very bad

By Deleted A

Nov 10, 2020

i can't unenroll

By sujata h

Aug 28, 2020

nice

By Rajan K

Mar 24, 2019

It is a course that lives up to its name. You, too, can create a website in a weekend, though I decided to take 2 months because I was setting up ideas for a new entity in parallel. The course depends a lot on your peers, who are very helpful. The course instructors are not available, but they have set up a process that is easily navigable in their absence. I am glad I took this course. The contributions it has made in my professional and personal lives are substantial. I really appreciate the work the instructors, my fellow students and of course, Coursera did to make it possible. A big thank you.

By john p d

Nov 13, 2020

During this course, I benefited much more from the instructor skills. Besides, I have gained the opportunity to express myself and conduct peers review to understand how others perform through web design. Finally, I am proud of having my new site launched at the wordpress and developing more soon.

Beneficial project skills gained, again, thanks a lot for the course instructors for SUNY.

John Paco Dradria

By Anastasiia K

Oct 30, 2020

It was interesting and useful experience. Thanks to this course I learned how to create my website starting from the very idea. I would say you will actually get those knowledge which are described in the course preview. If you are interested to learn how to build a websie in a weekend, that would be a perfect course.

By Megarbane a

Aug 23, 2017

When I started this course I found it very basic.

When I started working on my website I realized that all the tips, the links and the documentation was really very useful and helpful. all the small details and advice make a great difference.

I found that it is an excellent support to my project!

Thank you very much

By Surobhi P

Jul 29, 2020

I found it very helpful. Although It took me little time to understand few things related to assignments but at the end I truly enjoyed the journey of making my first website on word press. Thank you so much :)