Chevron Left
Back to Human-Centered Design: an Introduction

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Human-Centered Design: an Introduction by University of California San Diego

4.7
stars
2,579 ratings
532 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn how to design technologies that bring people joy, rather than frustration. You'll learn several techniques for rapidly prototyping (such as Wizard of Oz Prototyping) and evaluating multiple interface alternatives -- and why rapid prototyping and comparative evaluation are essential to excellent interaction design. You'll learn how to conduct fieldwork with people to help you get design ideas. How to make paper prototypes and low-fidelity mock-ups that are interactive -- and how to use these designs to get feedback from other stakeholders like your teammates, clients, and users. Armed with these design-thinking strategies, you’ll be able to do more creative human-centered design in any domain. This is the first course offered in the interaction design specialization series. Browse through previous capstone projects for some inspiration here: https://medium.com/capstone-projects/capstone-projects-2019-abc67d3f6f26...

Top reviews

SM
Apr 10, 2020

I just loved this lesson! Lots of things to explore. A lot of hands-on experience. I am very pleased with the amount of theory and study that I have.\n\nI wish to thank UC San Diego & Scott Klemmer

T
Feb 4, 2021

This course opened my eyes to the foundational basis of design as a problem solving tool primarily. Can't wait to apply all I have learned and make world class designs that make the world better!

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 514 Reviews for Human-Centered Design: an Introduction

By Justin J S

Oct 29, 2015

it was a very good course with good peer reviews and assignments.

it kept me glued to the course in its entire 6 week timeframe.

By Naidu L S

Jun 8, 2020

This course is really helpful and i have learned about rapid paper prototyping, heuristic evaluation and human cenetreddesign.

By Antonio G

Aug 4, 2017

I love this course. Now I have a better understanding on how to improve interfaces and how to test it using different methods.

By Ying W

Jan 2, 2016

Learned a lot from the course. I think I will come back to review the course contents, it is a lot more than 4 weeks to learn.

By Nitul K D

Oct 31, 2019

It was a great learning to be a part of this course. And the way Scott explained the whole process, it was just really good.

By 宋昭璐

Aug 14, 2018

It is a wonderful course and I really have learned a lot from it. It is not very hard to understand for me as a new learner!

By Nairit B

Apr 17, 2017

Very informative and well organized course.Useful for beginners as well as professionals in the field of interaction design

By Ronaldo A G E

Aug 6, 2020

Es una excelente enseñanza, pude aprender mucho con las asignaciones y poniendo en práctica lo aprendido, estoy muy feliz!

By Jure K

Nov 18, 2019

Great course. Well structured with intro videos and enhanced with practical exercises. Keep's you on edge and interested.

By Javier H H

Dec 15, 2016

Was a great introduction to the Topic. Looking forward to continuing with the rest of the courses of the specialisation.

By DiannaL

Jul 8, 2018

I learned many actionable and useful ideas on how to increase the usability of the screens that I design for elearning.

By Perks

Mar 22, 2017

Very good introductory course that gives introduction about approaches used in real life problems. Excellent Professor!

By Viebone

Mar 27, 2016

Is a great introduction to HCD, it will provide you with a great starting point and a lot content to follow by yourself

By Santiago B

Oct 15, 2018

Great material, very useful concepts to recall and learn, definitively will help to start improving the design process

By Miguel R Á

Apr 29, 2020

It was a great course and a real travel. I go with a lot of knowledge and waiting for the rest of the specialization!

By Rishi J

Oct 3, 2016

Learnt some new and amazing things, that will help me in my career as a Product Manager with a technical background.

By Thanh L

Feb 13, 2021

Thanks Cousera and University of California San Diego for providing this course. It's helpful for my career path.

By Karthikeshwar

Oct 12, 2020

Awesome! It was a fresh air of knowledge about a field slightly different than mine. It was very interesting too!

By Amy L

Aug 14, 2020

Wonderful course with great lively professor Scott and assignments to work on! Thanks so much for the experience!

By Rishabh

Apr 30, 2017

Great course to understand the basics of HCI.

Level of assignments is good and the sessions are quite interactive.

By Rose-Gaëlle B

Feb 21, 2017

Great course, learned a lot, not just through the lectures, but also through the projects I had to peer-evaluate.

By Eva

Oct 25, 2018

The course is very complete as an introduction, it gives us all the necessary bases through practical exercises.

By Amogh K T

Jan 9, 2016

Excellent for learning basics of interaction design , such as how to conduct need finding and rapid prototyping.

By Ajay C

Oct 28, 2017

The course is clear and concise. Provides useful information on heuristics principles, applications and usage.