Chevron Left
Back to Indigenous Canada

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Indigenous Canada by University of Alberta

4.8
stars
20,878 ratings

About the Course

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores the different histories and contemporary perspectives of Indigenous peoples living in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores complex experiences Indigenous peoples face today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

Top reviews

BE

Nov 17, 2020

Thank you so much for this course. Also thanks to Dan Levy for suggesting it. The course and weekly chats helped educate me in Canada's true history, information that I should have received in school.

JB

Jan 21, 2018

Excellent course that provides a great foundation for learning about Indigenous cultures and worldviews. Provides thoughtful topics to explore and insightful knowledge. I highly recommend this course!

Filter by:

451 - 475 of 7,352 Reviews for Indigenous Canada

By Diane H

Aug 23, 2020

This course gave me a true understanding about Indigenous Canada. The presentation, the professors, the speakers were all excellent. Leah Dorion's art work was wonderful. I have learned the great importance of community and inclusion. I signed the petition against the James Bay Project, visited Expo 67 and lived in Montreal during the Oka Crisis but I need to do more in order to rectify and Help to improve the lives of everyone who shares this land and the water and the air that we breath. Thank you so much for this opportunity. This course should be incorporated into Canadian History for High school and University students.

By Laura S

Oct 19, 2020

This course has given me a new understanding of the history of the nation of Canada and what my responsibilities as a citizen involve. I can now see that the nation of Canada as we know it was created by the first peoples, and that we have a responsibility to uphold the Crown's promise of peace, friendship and nations working together. I will continue to be available, to reach out to, and to stand up for Indigenous communities. Indigenous communities have modelled profound human resilience to institutionalized oppression. I am profoundly grateful for all I have learned from these beautiful people. Thank you for this course.

By Vera K

Mar 12, 2018

Everyone living and breathing on this continent has an obligation to know (at least this much more) about the real history and culture of this land. I went to school in Toronto (born here) and didn't even get a sliver of the information in this course. At times I cried, got mad, felt guilt, felt gratitude and everything in between during these lessons. I think it's one step that non-indigenous people can take towards reconciliation is to start getting a real picture of how we got to where we are today. I'm very grateful for having found and completed this course. I will continue to share and encourage others to take this course.

By Louise d M

Jan 5, 2021

I had wanted to take a course to understand what Truth and Reconciliation was about and this really hit the mark. Pre-colonial history is fascinating and gives me a new perspective about the complexities of First Nations and how rich their lives. I thought I knew what Colonialism was, but my eyes have been opened and now I understand the devastation that the influx of settlers caused. I really appreciated hearing about how First Nations have never disappeared and are thriving and especially loved hearing about Indigenous art. Thank you for sharing this information, it has certainly changed my views of Canada in so many ways!

By John A

Sep 4, 2020

A quality course that should be mandatory for every Canadian.

If you can forgive a few transcript/functional typos, in the module's written, artistic, and video presentations you will find illuminating, heart-breaking, maddening, and jaw-dropping content that only scratches the surface of an incredibly complex issue that has been evolving since 1492.

I understand how I am a Settler with Privilege now. My empathy goes out to the Indigenous Peoples, and I am in awe of their resilience since the colonial arrival... and how they're still continuing to deal with injustice, and yet persisting in their efforts, even in the present day.

By Ryan H

Jan 6, 2021

This course was excellent! I learned a great deal as it went into depth into so many areas. My only issue was how extensive and time consuming the course was. I also think that is one of it's strengths as it was so through. I took a course in university and other courses in Indigenous History and this is by far the most comprehensive and rewarding. I really appreciate that it is not a history course, but it is more contextual and celebrates modern and future Indigenous life in Canada. It is forward thinking, comprehensive and an excellent course. The multi-media within the course really helped the material come to life for me.

By Shirley E

May 21, 2021

What an excellently well done course. Content well covered, speakers spoke clearly and at an easy pace to listen to. Appreciated that there was a reading to go along with the different speakers to cover different learning styles. The art work done by Leah Dorion and her explanations of each piece was definitely a huge complement to the course. I am Canadian and of course heard very little about the history of Canada and very mixed and prejudicial stories about Canada's first peoples. I intend to pursue more information through other venues to help me deeper my understanding of the Indigenous Peoples. Thank you so much!

By Lydia C

Dec 14, 2020

This was a very eye-opening course, and one that showed me a different side of Canadian history than the one that was taught to me growing up. The course helped me realize the racist beliefs that have been taught and that still exists today. The course taught me to open my eyes and ears and heart to learning more, so that I can grow and move forward towards reconciliation with our nation. Reconciliation with what has happened and trying to right the wrong and provide opportunities to the Indigenous communities is extremely crucial for our nation to move forward and grow together. Thank you for creating this course. Thank you!

By David H

Nov 29, 2017

I found this course very informative and presented ia ab easy to understand format. The impact of the Europeans is astonishing that what they did was try to conquer and divide the diverse and different Indigenous Peoples of Canada. This course really made me aware of all the issues they have and rightly so. I've always been interested in knowing more about our first peoples in this vast land we call Canada and this course helped immensely. I'll strive to learn more and pay more attention to what's happening in current relations between the Colonists and the Indigenous Peoples. We collectively could learn a lot more from them.

By Allan W

Nov 11, 2020

Thank you! My son's long-time partner is from Leqamel First Nation with ancestry also from Squamish and Katzie First Nations. She encourages all of us to learn more about who she is as an Indigenous person and we are all very proud of her and who she is. This course is not the end of learning about Indigenous Peoples for me, but the beginning. I will continue to reach out and strive to learn more. Indigenous Canada, presented through UoA is a great program and something that all Non-Indigenous People should consider in order to educate themselves about Canadian history, but the history of Indigenous Peoples of Canada.

By Orla Z

Dec 2, 2022

Thanks for offering the course! It has greatly helped me understand the Indigenous Peoples of Canada, including their culture, their beliefs and their identity struggle.

I came to know this course during the ED&I week held by the company I work with. I love indigenous arts and this course makes me appreciate it even more. The course also inspires me to look more at the underlined meaning of each individual indigenous art piece.

I recognize that although the Canadian governments at both federal and Provencial level have done a much better job compared to the past, there are still much more to be done for indigenous peoples.

By Mona R

Sep 16, 2022

This course covered so much Indigenous history in context with Colonialism that I did not previously know. I have learned so much about culture, community, the fur trade, the Indian Act, residential schools, and how the affects of Colonialism and European patriarchall policies have affected, and continue to affect the Indigenous Peoples of Canada. I believe that through all of the topcs that were covered I have just started on a journey to learn more and become an ally of Indigenous Peoples. Thank you so much for making this course free, and thank you to all of the people who participated in the making of this course.

By Judy B

Dec 25, 2020

Now that I've completed the course, I'm going to miss the sessions! I learned much, and re-learned things I used to know and will return to in my work. I am particularly interested in re-matiration of the narratives of Indigenous life, both in the past, and also in today's fluid kaleidoscope of a world. I thought the inclusion of Leah's colourful and storyful artwork was inspiring and did in fact both ground the messaging and free the thought process...our speakers had a lot of acreage to cover, and did a grand job of communicating breadth and depth, and they are to be commended for their accomplishment here.

Well done ALL!

By Jenelle H

Sep 25, 2020

This was an eye opening course for me. Living in Treaty 6 territory my entire life, I knew of the hardship (that seems like an understated word) that was imposed on the First Peoples in Canada but I didn't understand how it effected the First Peoples. I almost feel ashamed to call myself Canadian. What the settlers did was nothing short of terror and unjust. I will call myself a Canadian that lives in Treaty 6 territory. Thank you for allowing me to be apart of this. I will seek to understand and change my language to support all First People in Canada. Thank you, your culture and way of life is nothing short of beautiful.

By Jennifer Y

Jul 31, 2022

Excellent introduction to Indigenous history, culture, life, art, music and community knowledge. I am so grateful to have been given access to this course material through Coursera and, as an alumni of the University of Alberta, I am proud to be associated with this work. Learning about how Indigenous societies managed illegal behavior has forever changed my thinking about the current challenges of our legal system; seperating people from society without an expectation of addressing the loss and hurt between families seems short-sighted to me now. I am excited to learn more from the Faculty of Native Studies, thank you!

By Alain V

Nov 5, 2021

Bonjour,

J'ai vraiment apprécié ce cours et aussi la motivation des professeurs , Tracy, Alannah et Isaac, qui étaient tous les trois très intéressants à écouter. Evidemment , selon leurs conseils, j'ai continué la recherche sur l'histoire des Nations du Canada. Il était temps que je suive ce cours et je le recommande à tous les Canadiens.

D'autre part , je serais intéressé à améliorer la partie française de ce cours pour mieux identifier les paragraphes et les notes pour faciliter le suivi.

Merci beaucoup à Tracy, Alannah et Isaac

Alain Villeneuve, Ste Pétronille (Québec), Ile d'Orléans, refuge des Wandats en 1651

By Bea B

Sep 14, 2020

I am so grateful that this course exists, as we did not get an understanding of indigenous history at all when I was attending school. It was all about the explorers and their conquests. It saddens me tremendously that this entire group of people had their evolution arrested, and there will never be any way of knowing how things would have been now, if their beautiful and noble trajectory had not been so forcefully interrupted and re-positioned.

Thank you for distilling this story into a course, and I do hope that many Canadians will take advantage of the course's availability, to help fill in the gaps a little.

Peace

By Christa C

Dec 20, 2020

Additional facts and truth reshape and strengthen our history our minds and Canadian culture and diversity. This course has the potential to base a grade school and high school segment to awareness and Canadian history. My grade 4 teacher 1969 to his credit covered an impressive amount of information that is also in this course. His teachings were respectful factual and remembered and I now realize a man before his time teaching diversity. This course brought back those cherished teachings and so much more awareness into Indigenous Canada . Awareness can be a daily goal no matter how big or how small it is learning

By Danielle M

Oct 27, 2020

This course was extremely informative and well done. All of my secondary and post-secondary education as a Canadian skimmed the surface of the founding of Canada and of course it was all from the settler perspective. I so appreciate how well laid out the course was and I find myself correcting people now as issues come up and redirecting them to proper information sources. My daughter is in her last year of college to become a Child and Youth worker and just completed the certificate version of this course on my advice as well. She found it very enlightening and is going on to complete San'yas studies too. Thank you

By Tanya F

Sep 19, 2021

Well developed and present course. Great balance between important reminders and new learning. I especially appreciated that the presenters/instructors were of First Nations descent. I'd highly recommend to anybody want a solid starting point and foundation to help them better understand the basics Canadian Indigenous life pre-colonization to current day. Once you understand what really happened in history, you'll appreciate why things are not right today; and, if you have a heart you'll not only empathize and sympathize with our Indigenous population, but you'll want to contribute towards truth and reconciliation.

By Deb C

Dec 12, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed the course. It was well presented and the format was easy to follow. I majored in Native Studies and got my degree from Trent University ,Peterborough Ontario in 1978. I was thrilled to be given the opportunity to take the course and increase my knowledge . It was disappointing to learn that the same issues that were of great concern in the 1970's are still being discussed today with the Federal Government. Hopefully with courses like this the general public will become more informed and support for Aboriginal causes will increase. Thank you for making this course available for anyone to take.

By Paula M C

May 30, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed this course, and the instructors! It has provided me with a much broader understanding of Canada before and since colonization, and of the painful and poignant struggles that the Indigenous peoples of this land have endured at the "divide and conquer" whims of colonial and European powers. I am most impressed with the resilience and the power of community action of First Nations, Métis and Inuit people in Canada to effect positive change for all. I will highly recommend this course to my colleagues here at Western U. It was my first MOOC and I'm happy it was with you, Professor Bear! Miigwetch!!

By Melvin R W

Dec 28, 2018

This well constructed and designed course offers an excellent introduction to native peoples from a variety of perspectives....anthropological, geographic, historical, cultural, philosophical, political, spiritual, artistic. The teachings are clear and the mixed used of lecture, interview, image and quiz carries one of an engaging journey which can be taken an one's own pace and in one's own time. I'm an American MDiv in Interfaith Spirituality and Comparative Religion and found this a valuable addition to my repertoire of knowledge. Thank you to the scholars at the University of Alberta who developed this course.

By Jon P

Mar 23, 2022

This course is compreshensive as can be touching on the historical and modern culture of Aboriginals and their mistreatment. I appreciate they try to touch on all subjects within the time limit of this course and it will never be enough because there is so much more to learn and understand. The only thing I would like see changed would be to add more interviews of people living today and their challenges. While it is discussed, seeing those plights will hopefully give people a new understanding that continue to exist today. I recommend checking out some of the vast documentaries that can help demonstrate this.

By Liam W

Jan 9, 2021

I have learned a considerable amount from this course. Most importantly, I became aware of how different my view of community is from the various forms of Indigenous community covered in the content. I answered many of the questions incorrectly in the multiple choice quizzes because I do not have a strong sense community as it is expressed in this course. Reviewing the notes and retaking the quizzes helped improve my understanding. I would need to live a different life to be able to know these answers right away. However, knowing the difference and understanding my lack of comprehension has improved my character.