Chevron Left
Back to Indigenous Canada

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Indigenous Canada by University of Alberta

4.8
stars
20,927 ratings

About the Course

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores the different histories and contemporary perspectives of Indigenous peoples living in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores complex experiences Indigenous peoples face today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

Top reviews

ER

Nov 2, 2020

I'm so pleased to have been able to educated myself further on the true history of "Canada", what should have stayed Turtle Island. Being able to continue my learning and hopefully being a better ally

VK

Feb 23, 2021

Excdellent course! I am so grateful to have had the opportunity to learn the material presented. Thanks you so much! All the work that was evident in putting this course together was worth the effort!

Filter by:

426 - 450 of 7,373 Reviews for Indigenous Canada

By A C

Sep 21, 2022

This course, although just touched on many topics, was very well researched and compiled into deep history of Indigenous peoples. I wish this was part of elemntary school. I love learning about true history. This has given me a new perspective on being Canadian. Although I am of the MicMac, I am embarassed to be Canadian. Thank you for the educational course and history. I will use this to be a better person and a better part of my community now. I must add, most of this information was not available when I was growing up. I lived among the Mohawk, Metis and coming from MicMac, I still had no idea that most of this happened. Thank you so much :-)

By Brenda B

Nov 24, 2020

I learned a ton about our Canadian history I had no idea existed. Things I learned in this course about our indigenous Canadians history, that I had no knowledge. Of course, I do recall much of the news stories, growing up regarding the treaties, the blockades, but we never heard much about what the cause or concern from the indigenous perspective. This course was enlightening and I am so grateful for the opportunity to have taken it. Thank you for the all the fantastic material. I have a much better understanding of the horrors of the residential schools, the detriment and harm caused by colonization and the importance of understanding and empathy.

By Jessica T L

Jul 24, 2018

Although I am a Mohawk woman, I haven't been taught the right history to its full extent. This course has helped me in many ways, to guide my mind and to help me help my community in the best ways that I can. Having this knowledge has brought on many discussions and conversations about the colonization and what it means to be a modern day Onkwehonwe. We are still here, there are some of us that do practice our traditions, and many of us who still have the knowledge and language of our ancestors. As Onkwehonwe, we must act accordingly to our original ways and teach those who do not know, and fulfill the responsibilities that the Creator has given us.

By Christa B

Dec 10, 2020

I think this FREE course is amazing! It should be required learning for all Canadian adults, since most of us did not hear most of this in school. I hope more of this perspective and information gets into schools soon. The best tool against racism is understanding, but also, I just found so much to delight in and agree with in the perspectives on nature, the world, and humanity in this course. The instruction and format are excellent, creative, and interesting -- no, better than interesting. Fascinating. This course fascinated me as no other has done in decades. Thank you to UofA and the excellent instructors from the Indigenous Studies Department.

By Alison H

Nov 15, 2020

I learned so much about the history of Indigenous people in Canada and their ongoing contributions and resilience in the face of an incredibly long, powerful attempt to colonize, assimilate, and dismiss Indigenous voices and culture. I am able to comprehend far more about current headlines (Wetsuwe'ten pipeline resistance; Mi'kmaq Fishery/Moderate LIvelihood in Nova Scotia; my favourite artist Alex Janvier) than I had been. I appreciate the blending of past and present, history and future, and am inspired to work toward reconciliation wherever and whenever I can as a settler Canadian living on the traditional territory of the Anishnaabe in Quebec.

By Karrie H

Mar 5, 2022

This course was very engaging. I looked forward to the time I set aside for study. The content was robust and the delivery was professional and practical. Each weekly plan was well laid out and the lectures were appropriate in length. I enjoyed hearing the interviews from those with lived experience, and I liked the written review at the end of each weekly lesson to look through before each quizz.

I learned so much about our hidden Canadian history. Impossible to look the other way after absorbing the details regarding colonization and the truth of European settlers. I look forward to being a better ally and supporter of today's Indigenous Canada.

By Cathy K

Dec 30, 2020

I fully appreciated the opportunity to learn the actual history of Indigenous peoples in Canada and the realities of colonization. This course was well-organized and thoughtfully presented in an objective manner with information on a wide range of topics. I believe that everyone should be taught about the abhorrent, racist manner in which Indigenous people were historically, and still are today, treated by the government and dominating culture. This would provide an understanding of the intergenerational trauma that events and poor treatment by settlers has caused and of the value of Indigenous self-government. Thank you for an excellent course!

By Freddy V

Dec 19, 2020

Born in South-America , in a country where indigenous people were massacred in colonial times, this course brought a new understanding. After 26 years in this country, now i have a new knowledge and appreciation of the indigenous struggle to keep their culture and way of life. Before this course I thought that I have some knowledge about this topic ... i was wrong ... this course open new perspectives and an appetite to know more ... it also empathize my conviction to be involve and aware of he diverse way of life that indigenous nations have. I would like and commit to be another voice and allied of the issues affecting natives communities .

By Wendy M

Sep 30, 2020

I never really understood the true meaning of my being a "Canadian". This course opened my eyes to my great appreciation to the First Nations, Metis and Inuit Peoples, for their willingness to share this great land. It took much of the course for me to overcome my feelings of guilt, being a child descended from European colonialists. But I overcame that by choosing to reinvent what Canadian means to me: co-existing in this beautiful nation with people who understand the true meaning of strength, love, reciprocity and respect for Mother Earth: the Indigenous Peoples of Canada. Thank you for an extremely rewarding course, I am eternally grateful!!

By Nathalie T

Nov 25, 2020

A big thank you for putting this course together. I have learned so much, and will continue to deepen my knowledge on Indigenous life and culture. This course should be mandatory for all Canadians as it helps us understand one another, create bridges and open our eyes to all the traumas of the past and even the present. Each module could be a course in itself as there is so much information. The 3 presentators really know how to maintain our attention and interest. The added interviews and testimonies show us an insight and an expression of all the pride of Indigenous people for their culture and as a Nation. Thank you again ! Merci beaucoup !

By Ingrid S

Dec 13, 2020

As a west coast settler, my understanding (limited) of Indigenous culture, art and governance has just been from the perspective of British Columbian Indigenous Nations. The Indigenous Canada course exposed me to other Indigenous groups in Canada, to the negative impact of the first colonizers of North America as well as to the past and ongoing oppression by a succession of Canadian governments. I appreciate the introduction to contemporary Indigenous artists. I look forward to furthering my education on Indigenous issues and learning more about past and contemporary contributions of Indigenous people including artists and scholars. Thank you!

By Trisha H

Aug 2, 2021

Thank you so much - really appreciated the Indigenous Canada course. Fortunately, I have read, appreciated the art forms of many including Bill Reid and currently, Patrick Hunter - viewed APTN & and was aware of a lot of the history. But the course gave me a great framework, new perspectives and really organized my understanding. Loved the incorporation of Leah Dorian's art - it would be nice to have a list of artists & writers to investigate - a long list, I know. Currently, reading the Buffy St. Marie biography and Fred Sasakamoose's "Call Me Indian". Are there more courses coming soon: the Arts, grassroot movements, or ? Thank you again!!

By Maureen S

Oct 16, 2020

Excellent course. I learned a tremendous amount and now have a list of resources to pursue as I go forward learning more about Indigenous Canada. The presenters were professional and articulate and presented the material in bite sized chunks that were easy to grasp. The accountability of taking a quiz at the end of each module was an effective way to consolidate knowledge. I was able to review and retake the quizzes and noted that the questions could change making sure that I was paying attention to what was asked. This should be required viewing for every Canadian and would be an excellent resources for schools as a learning tool. Thank you.

By Alex D

Sep 14, 2021

This was so well presented, informative and illuminating. I think all Federal and Local government employees should have this as a mandatory course as part of their training and conditions of employment. As a British settler who has lived in Canada for 30 years I knew so little, was ignorant of the real history of this country and I learned more in this 12 weeks than in 30 years of living here on Turtle Island. It was thought provoking, moving, enlightening, and full of factual data and research. I certainly felt I could carry on from this jumping off point to learn more and am highly recommending it to all my friends, colleagues and family.

By Carolyn F

May 17, 2021

I truly felt a huge personal gap in understanding the history and journey of the Indigenous people in this country. This course did not disappoint. It has challenged me to think differently about my own personal actions and language and to become more of an advocate for respect and the decolonization of Indigenous life. I have already started to think differently about how this applies to my career and to my role as a parent. Thank you for making this available! I will highly recommend this course!

(PS- I am from Hamilton, ON and learned recently that Tracy Bear will be joining the faculty at McMaster University! How lucky for my hometown!)

By Jesmina B

Feb 1, 2021

Indigenous Canada is a shocking wake-up call to its students, most specifically Canadians who were not taught about this significant history in our schools. I understand this now more than ever and hope this and other Indigenous courses become part of k-12 learning. As a Metis woman, I am honoured to be a daughter of Canada's Indigenous Peoples, as I continue to learn about my heritage. I am excited to share this course with everyone I know. It is heart breaking to see in detail how, from settlers to today's non Indigenous executives, have and continue to treat the very people who are spiritually connected to our land, water and creatures.

By Holly W

Aug 30, 2021

The information in this course really helped me understand more about the history of colonialism and it's devastating toll on the Indigenous people. They welcomed Europeans, willing to share their knowledge, culture, and land, but instead were manipulated and decimated by white settlers. The course not only outlines the history, but also brings us up to date with how Indigenous people are reclaiming their rights, culture, and personhood. I am very grateful for the 3 First Nations people who facilitated the lectures, as well as the speakers who shared their personal insights. The course was delivered in a meaningful, thought provoking way.

By Marsha M

Jun 13, 2021

Very informative course. Lots of reflect upon and process. There is a necessary level of discomfort that I and other settlers must sit with as we navigate the couse and learn about the past and present impact of colonization. This is part of our history and it should be taught. I am committed to sit with the discomfort, to do the work and to be an ally. As an educator, I wish a version of this course could be adapted for our elementary and secondary students - as our history programs remain to be told from the white-settler perspective. Thank you for making this course accessible for me and others who want to and who need to learn more.

By Carol M

May 13, 2021

My only criticism of this course (which is generally excellent!) is that it states in the discussion of residential schools that there were none in PEI, NB, or Newfoundland. I can't speak to NB or PEI as I'm not familiar enough with those provinces' history, but there were in fact residential schools in NL - 1 on the island and 4 in Labrador. They weren't part of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission (as the schools pre-dated NL joining Canada and the Canadian government argued they had no responsibility), but they were recognized later with an apology from the federal government to survivors and (eventually) a class-action settlement.

By Carrie R

Sep 26, 2021

I can't thank the staff and faculty for providing this thought provoking course and allowing many of us to be educated on such an important aspect of history in our society. My mind was filled with correct facts and knowledge about the history of the Indigenous culture and how it was shaped. I looked forward each week to what new and interesting teachings I would be receiving from Scholars, speakers, video and paintings. I really appreciated Leah Dorian's paintings at the end of each weeks course lesson. Nice way to tie in the information we were hearing or reading about. To see it on canvas was amazing and brought the stories to life!!

By Kirstin D

Sep 6, 2021

This course has been a revelation, though if I were more aware and engaged in the history of Canada it wouldn't be such a revelation. The course material was well presented in multiple learner formats, from video presentations to full course notes, art and additional material links. Sometimes the in-video questions were presented ahead of the material so that it was impossible to know the answer (this happened twice). I appreciated the encouraging pop-up messages that reminded me about scheduling learning times each week. As a "mature student" who has been out of intense study and test-taking for many years, this course challenged me!

By Stacey S

Aug 10, 2021

This course was very eye opening for me personally! Having a child of being half Indigenous, he was raised in a "white" home environment, so unfortunately, him, I and the rest of my family never knew the full extent of history and continued behaviors of how children/people have been treated terribly. I feel more people need to take this course and how valuable it is our community and society to move forward with showing compassion especially with all the Residential School's of unmarked graves and the most of all the survivors dealing with this tragedy...so awful and I feel for all the people! My heart goes out to you ALL! Thank you.

By Joseph G L

Nov 14, 2020

This was an excellent course, easy to comprehend and the course content flowed nicely from one module to the next. Most importantly though, I learned so much. The key to reconciliation and understanding is education, and unfortunately, most Canadians know very little of the rich heritage and culture of our First Nations, Inuit and Metis people. I will certainly spread the word among friends and colleagues that Indigenous Canada is a course they should thoughtfully consider. Personally, I plan to learn more through additional reading and research.

My sincere thanks to the Native Studies Faculty, University of Alberta.

Joe Latour.

By Konrad L

May 20, 2022

Amazing course. Not only rich in knowledge presented from the often marginalzied viewpoints of the First Nations, but what's important the knowledge is presented in many different appealing forms including but not limited to: interviews, visualisations, animations, sketches etc. Much as I understand that some of the opinions presented in the course can be considered contentious I really appreciate the amount of effort, care and knowledge that was put in creating this course. In my opinion this is a model coursera course or rather should serve as a model that unfortunately rather few institutions present on the platform try to much.

By Julia C

Nov 14, 2020

I want to thank Dan Levy for getting on Twitter to promote this course otherwise I might never have known about it. This course is interesting, sometimes disturbing (esp. learning about Residential Schools) but always fascinating. There were a number of historical facts that I had never learned during my school years. I've learned how to better understand events across Canada that I read about in the news, such as the lobster fishery disputes in Nova Scotia and land issues in Caledonia.

More importantly for me, I've reached out to people on Twitter, both Indigenous and settler (like me!) to discuss events and our lives in general.