Chevron Left
Back to Engineering Project Management: Initiating and Planning

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Engineering Project Management: Initiating and Planning by Rice University

4.8
stars
2,882 ratings
676 reviews

About the Course

The goal of the course is to give you the tools to initiate a project plan, manage both stakeholders and relationships, organize their team, develop a project charter, and build a business case for a project. By the end of this course you will be able to: - Perform a project assessment using information from previous projects and lessons learned - Identify key deliverables based on business requirements while managing customer expectations - Perform a stakeholder analysis and create a management plan - Analyze and develop a project organization - Create a project charter - Explain the business case for a project and calculate Net Present Value - Inform stakeholders of the charter and ensure all parties know the deliverables and expectations As part of the course, you will prepare organization charts, create a Stakeholder Register, and write a Project Charter based on an engineering project in a provided Case Study. The Stakeholder Register will outline the key parties to the project, their concerns and how you will manage their expectations. Your Project Charter will provide the key guidance your team needs to understand the scope, requirements and purpose for the project. All of this will position you for initiating and planning your first project and/or understanding how you can maximize your contributions on your next project team. Rice Center for Engineering Leadership is a Registered Education Provider through the Project Management Institute (PMI)®. Learners who complete this course on the Certificate track will be awarded 12 hours of Profession Development Units. These are recognized by PMI for continuing education or can be applied toward the 35 hours of education required for the Project Management Professional (PMP)® certification. PMI and PMP are registered marks of the Project Management Institute, Inc....

Top reviews

DY

Sep 2, 2020

Curso de inicial de la especialización de Project Management. Un buen curso para aproximarse al mundo de la gestión de proyecto de manera sencilla y didáctica.\n\nMuy buen nivel del profesorado.

FA

Aug 27, 2020

This course will give in-depth knowledge of project management. Peer-graded assignments will help us a lot to think in other ways how others will proceed and learn from their assignments too.

Filter by:

576 - 600 of 689 Reviews for Engineering Project Management: Initiating and Planning

By Anand C P

Jul 1, 2020

E

By Javier E U R

Jun 9, 2020

.

By Juan J G V

Aug 6, 2018

V

By sreekar

Apr 7, 2021

The only thing that stops me from awarding 5 stars is the lack of content on real life examples which makes this a very abstract exercise. While there is a good fictional case study that helps in turning concepts to practice, the value will be compounded if only instructors added more real life examples to every concept they wanted to impart.

Apart from that dissatisfaction, the course itself is easy to absorb for working professionals. It might offer good introduction to beginners but they may have to revisit after experience to get best out of it.

By Aykut C

Oct 5, 2021

I've written the details on the survey but I think this course needs more field related case studies and examples, conflict management, human factor related issues etc. I think project management is not only about charts and cost management. Other than that Presantation made by the Instructor's was fine but moslty poorly presented with all respect to their experience. I still think that every engineer should get this specialization. Thank you Rice and Coursera.

By Bhagya J

May 6, 2021

The course was awesome and very insightful! However, I would like to highlight an issue which I faced throughout the course. In some of the videos, it was difficult to comprehend the video lecture due to low volume of Professor. I had to go through the written section multiple times and re-watch the videos to fully comprehend. Hopefully, this technical issue would be solved and is not persistent in other courses of this specialization!

By Amir M O

Jun 27, 2019

A relatively good course. Week 1-3 are pretty good but week 4 is absolutely vague and impossible to follow.

The handout provided by the instructors is good but doesn't 100% match the video lectures.

Another flaw is that you have to wait a lot so your assignments get peer reviewed. So that may cause you stay longer in the course and pay more for the subscription.

By Andrea O

Sep 27, 2020

Good contents but a but the voice explanation is sometimes hard to follow if you also read the slide. I'd suggest to refer more strictly to the slide contents and wording or reducing further the content of the slides to give the right importance to the speech. As is I struggle to understand if it is better to follow the slide or the voice

By Atef A

Nov 14, 2020

The course is well put, good informations, it gives you all the deliverables you can use in a real porject, but the course materials and presentation on paper can be better, also i would appreciated it if the study case was shorter, since the tasks are short and on point. In general, good initiating course for project management.

By Anders T B

Dec 16, 2019

Well-organized and informative course. Easy to follow along with transcripts of lectures with highlighting text and the ability to save notes directly from here.

But they rely a bit to much on people buying the course material to read the background material. This could be handled by increasing the length of lectures.

By bunny v

Oct 21, 2019

THIS COURSE HELP ME TO UNDERSTAND THEBASIC AND SOME ADVANCED LEVEL OF PLANNING AND EXECUTING A PROJECT HELPS ME TO UNDERSTAND THE INITIATING AND PLANNING OF PROJECT AND HOW TO MANAGE IT AS A PROJECT MANAGER.

THANKYOU SO MUCH FOR THIS VALUABLE COURSE AND I AM VERY IMPRESSED BY THE INNOVATIVE TREACHING TECHINQUES .

By Nicholas T

Jan 25, 2021

What you get out of this course is what you put into it. If you just want the "certificate" it is really easy to just cruise through it and get the certificate which I find a little bit annoying. With that being said, if you spend time to actually "study" and take the assessment seriously, you will learn a lot.

By Nitinkrishnan B

Jul 29, 2020

I like how the course was taught and how the case study was done. But most of the peers who do the assignment dont take it seriously or they dont understand the subject well. It would be better if the assignments are reviewed by one of the mentors or lectures. 1 review by peer and 1 review by mentor/ lecutrer

By Khaled Z A

Feb 22, 2020

I enjoyed gaining knowledge about how to plan for a prroject and the essential steps which are very important to start a successful project. However, I suggest that there should be a possibility to report trolling peers who grade your assignments without caution or even with logic.

By Lorenzo C

Oct 2, 2017

Although the course is interesting and well made the "review your peers" section needs refactoring.

I found myself giving 10 points (which is the max) to clearly erroneous fields when reviewing, just because they respected the valutation criteria.

By Lavinia R S

Feb 1, 2018

Its a good course to understand the basic concepts of Project Management. I feel that for some of the deliverable documents they go a little fast but once again is good to have a basic understand to be able to go deeper on your own.

By Mauricio P

Nov 5, 2018

Good, comprehensive course. Gives fundamental knowledge regarding proejct management, aimed towards the generation of main project management deliverables. Requires PMBOK for optimal performance, although it is not mandatory.

By MCMC

May 11, 2020

A nice introduction to the discipline. The teaching methodology could be improved, but, in general, it helps to understand the basic concepts related with initiating and planing an engineering project in a comprehensive way.

By Faisal I

Jul 14, 2020

The course provided me the basic for initiating and planning of a project. The instructors provide really good and clear explanation. Furthermore, case study made for this course is well written. well done!

By Abishek S

Aug 2, 2020

i recommend this course for people who are curious enough to learn about management from the scratch and it is very useful for practicing in modern day applications. this course is strongly a path finder.

By M. V M

Aug 23, 2021

This course is delivered in a very professional manner and it is highly engaging in a practical sense. I strongly recommend this for engineers looking to improve their project management skills.

By David G

Jun 17, 2019

Content great. Delivery could be better. Found the lecturers laboured through the videos, obviously reading straight off a slide. This made it hard at times to take in what was being presented.

By Deepak R P

Apr 6, 2020

I would like to review this on course contentwise. Its probably the best out here on coursera for engineers. It covers both management and leadership aspect needed for project level.

By Adrien B

Jun 25, 2020

This course is well organized, content is useful for a real beginner or for a review of knowledge but that all. It is too succinct to claim training for a PMI certification.

By Patrick S

Sep 27, 2021

Content very good structured and well thought. Peer Review tool full of errors. Candidate and submission are not allocated correctly several times. Might be a tooling issue