Chevron Left
Back to Engineering Project Management: Initiating and Planning

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Engineering Project Management: Initiating and Planning by Rice University

4.8
stars
2,623 ratings
621 reviews

About the Course

The goal of the course is to give you the tools to initiate a project plan, manage both stakeholders and relationships, organize their team, develop a project charter, and build a business case for a project. By the end of this course you will be able to: - Perform a project assessment using information from previous projects and lessons learned - Identify key deliverables based on business requirements while managing customer expectations - Perform a stakeholder analysis and create a management plan - Analyze and develop a project organization - Create a project charter - Explain the business case for a project and calculate Net Present Value - Inform stakeholders of the charter and ensure all parties know the deliverables and expectations As part of the course, you will prepare organization charts, create a Stakeholder Register, and write a Project Charter based on an engineering project in a provided Case Study. The Stakeholder Register will outline the key parties to the project, their concerns and how you will manage their expectations. Your Project Charter will provide the key guidance your team needs to understand the scope, requirements and purpose for the project. All of this will position you for initiating and planning your first project and/or understanding how you can maximize your contributions on your next project team. Rice Center for Engineering Leadership is a Registered Education Provider through the Project Management Institute (PMI)®. Learners who complete this course on the Certificate track will be awarded 12 hours of Profession Development Units. These are recognized by PMI for continuing education or can be applied toward the 35 hours of education required for the Project Management Professional (PMP)® certification. PMI and PMP are registered marks of the Project Management Institute, Inc....

Top reviews

DY
Sep 2, 2020

Curso de inicial de la especialización de Project Management. Un buen curso para aproximarse al mundo de la gestión de proyecto de manera sencilla y didáctica.\n\nMuy buen nivel del profesorado.

FA
Aug 27, 2020

This course will give in-depth knowledge of project management. Peer-graded assignments will help us a lot to think in other ways how others will proceed and learn from their assignments too.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 624 Reviews for Engineering Project Management: Initiating and Planning

By G S S

Jun 8, 2020

The course was well structured. The instructors had good knowledge on the subject. It was a good journey for me throughout this course.

By Neha T

Jul 3, 2021

It is a very Nice course. I have learnt a lot of things from this course.Thank you Rice University for making such a wonderful course.

By Dhanuka M A

Jun 16, 2020

Excellent lecturers and course materials! Clear audio and video. Syllabus is very up to date and covers all the key areas it promised.

By Michael O

Oct 1, 2020

This is one of the most impactful courses I have taken and it has really shaped my understanding a lot on leadership and management.

By Niaz Q

Jun 1, 2020

A very informative & organized course. The personal experience from the lecturers and the projects amplify the learning experiance.

By 152 N

Apr 21, 2020

ENGINEERING PROJECT MANAGEMENT:INITIATING AND PLANNING IS VERY HELPFUL FOR PLANNING,PREPARING PROJECT CHARTERS,STAKEHOLD REGISTER.

By Eng. K M I

Dec 6, 2020

Very much delighted to gain insights about initialization of project. Both instructors were excellent in their teaching skill.

By PATRICIA L G C

Oct 21, 2020

Me gusto mucho, lleva su tiempo, pero es muy buen curso, muy bien explicado, y las tareas/cuestionarios a realizar son buenos.

By Sharmeen M

Feb 7, 2021

It was a great start for the project management course. I enjoyed it a lot. Thank you everyone especially course instructors.

By Hans K Z A

Oct 7, 2020

Muy buenas exposiciones y bastante arduo el trabajo que se realiza, ha sido muy fructífero y de mucho aprendizaje. Gracias!

By Yamish R B

May 23, 2020

It's very great experience to learning form your rice university. I like to suggest add pdf of reading session if possible.

By Franklin M

Dec 22, 2020

Very good course. For those that want to enter the area of project management and don't know how, I recommend this course.

By Pierluigi F

Aug 17, 2020

It was very useful and concrete, i liked the professors and i think that i'll use many of these tools in my future career!

By Jabu R M

May 29, 2019

Excellent, I especially enjoyed reviewing my peers work. This helped me grow and see things from a different perspective!

By Kishore L

Jan 13, 2020

Loved the way the content is designed and the way the assignments are structured. Was a wonderful journey finish is this

By Dan T

Sep 5, 2020

A must do course for anyone working on engineering project. well structured material and competent trainers. thank you

By Meet S

Jul 6, 2020

Great explanation of concepts in line with PMBOK. The deliverable assigned for each topic provided on-hands experience.

By Cam'ron B

Jun 4, 2020

i have learned a lot in this course and it will surely be applicable in all planning to be done for the rest of my life

By Yohanes K P

Apr 19, 2020

It's the best Project Management course I've ever had, they provide us a case study and we need to do an assignment.

By Daniel G H

Sep 3, 2017

Perfect to understand Projects. Right to the point. Although it could include some extra documents just as examples.

By Prashanna R R

Jun 10, 2021

This course precisely & exactly taught me the necessary basics of the Project management roles and responsibilities

By Jose L R

Jul 31, 2020

Un buen curso , las habilidades obtenidas fueron la de analizar y comprender lo clave para el inicio de un proyecto

By Mauricio d A H

Aug 20, 2019

Very good the course. It is possible to learn many lessons from him. Even though it's basic, the learning is great.

By Sineru D

Nov 6, 2020

The course covers the basics of the Engineering Project Management and motivates me to go in depth of the subject.

By Alejandro S

Nov 10, 2017

In general it was what I expected from the course. The intention is continuing with the other two courses offered.