Chevron Left
Back to Engineering Project Management: Initiating and Planning

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Engineering Project Management: Initiating and Planning by Rice University

4.8
stars
2,622 ratings
621 reviews

About the Course

The goal of the course is to give you the tools to initiate a project plan, manage both stakeholders and relationships, organize their team, develop a project charter, and build a business case for a project. By the end of this course you will be able to: - Perform a project assessment using information from previous projects and lessons learned - Identify key deliverables based on business requirements while managing customer expectations - Perform a stakeholder analysis and create a management plan - Analyze and develop a project organization - Create a project charter - Explain the business case for a project and calculate Net Present Value - Inform stakeholders of the charter and ensure all parties know the deliverables and expectations As part of the course, you will prepare organization charts, create a Stakeholder Register, and write a Project Charter based on an engineering project in a provided Case Study. The Stakeholder Register will outline the key parties to the project, their concerns and how you will manage their expectations. Your Project Charter will provide the key guidance your team needs to understand the scope, requirements and purpose for the project. All of this will position you for initiating and planning your first project and/or understanding how you can maximize your contributions on your next project team. Rice Center for Engineering Leadership is a Registered Education Provider through the Project Management Institute (PMI)®. Learners who complete this course on the Certificate track will be awarded 12 hours of Profession Development Units. These are recognized by PMI for continuing education or can be applied toward the 35 hours of education required for the Project Management Professional (PMP)® certification. PMI and PMP are registered marks of the Project Management Institute, Inc....

Top reviews

DY
Sep 2, 2020

Curso de inicial de la especialización de Project Management. Un buen curso para aproximarse al mundo de la gestión de proyecto de manera sencilla y didáctica.\n\nMuy buen nivel del profesorado.

FA
Aug 27, 2020

This course will give in-depth knowledge of project management. Peer-graded assignments will help us a lot to think in other ways how others will proceed and learn from their assignments too.

Filter by:

601 - 622 of 622 Reviews for Engineering Project Management: Initiating and Planning

By Vinaya L

Apr 8, 2021

Exellent

By ARUNKUMAR P

Jun 20, 2020

SUPER

By Kavitha B

Jun 17, 2020

super

By NIYO E

Feb 16, 2021

good

By Suprabha M

Jun 19, 2020

GOOD

By THARANI R

Jun 17, 2020

good

By Liliana P

Feb 14, 2019

Es preocupante que los otros estudiantes califiquen tu trabajo y si consideran que algo esta incompleto, al momento de realizar los cambios y volverlos a subir, hay que hacer malabares para que vuelvan a revisar tu trabajo y aparece como trabajo retrasado, aunque lo entregaste a tiempo. Deberían de mejorar ese punto.

By Saleh M A

Dec 2, 2019

I learn more from this course such as how mange project, how I understood concepts key elements of project, the performance cost work. Finally, Thank very much to all instructors or anyone contributes in preparing this course to content all these information that really gain more to background

By Miguel F M

Jan 31, 2019

Como es habitual en Coursera, las unidades didácticas, videos y demás están muy bien. El curso en líneas generales está muy bien.

En cuanto al contenido, se agradecería un poco más de profundidad en la parte "Engineering". Casi lo único que lo hace exclusivo de la ingeniería es el caso práctico.

By kemal b c

Feb 5, 2021

I have completed my peer review assignment on time, and the due date for my peers have passed. However I wasn't able to receive any grades because none of my peers have actually graded my assignment. I have finished the course but can not get my certificate due to this issue.

By Matt P

Nov 29, 2019

Videos are awkward and not natural. Course notes and handouts very good, and content appropriate though a bit lazy to just assign 20-30 pages of reading for each module. PMBOK book very repetitive and difficult to read, hence why I am paying for a course!

By Gema M

Mar 9, 2021

Assignets are peer reviewed and no solutions are provided, meaning that basically no valuable feedback is provided and some students might even give a bad rating based on their own answers, which can be wrong.

By Alberto C

Feb 26, 2018

interesting course in general, though it could be improved.

e.g several times the slides have too much text, sometimes the multiple-choice tests seems to have been prepared in hurry

By Reza M

May 18, 2020

Very basic skills. Good for beginner.

One of the instructor was very boring

By HDA

May 9, 2021

Plagiarism in assignments is a huge issue and not clear if staff is actively working to combat this issue. I came across a repeat offender even when I flagged their submission before. Seeing people able to get away with this decreases the value and credibility of this course a lot.

Discussion forum is full of meaningless messages advertising guaranteed high scores for peer reviews in return for having their late submissions reviewed. Why is staff not weeding out such content and students from the class? What's the value such peers and their reviews to the other peers?

Significant inconsistencies in actual and advertised grading rubric, which causes uncertainty in what's expected of the submitted work.

By Jack T

Apr 15, 2020

Not the most engaging course and not structured as well as I had hoped. Some explanations are unsatisfactory and require extra reading outside of the course material. In general I think the course content can be learned from reading the recommended texts alone, although the case study provided is a good way to elicit user input and to practice some of the techniques. Overall I would say it is not a waste of time, but also not great value for time and money.

By Sean L

May 6, 2020

Information is useful, but assignments are all busywork. You should probably audit this course or just buy and read the textbook.

By Kayla C

Nov 24, 2020

I don't know how effective the peer review is, the lectures are not very charismatic.

By CLEMENTE H

Sep 28, 2020

There are little things you can use in real life... too theoric

By Russell J

Mar 1, 2021

Pretty basic, not sure if its worth 2 months ($55 per).

By Vinod B

May 26, 2020

Course is good. However, certificate mentioned with 'non-credit course' makes confusion. Such words should not be included on certificate, rather such info (credit, non-credit etc.) should be on back end. Just issue simple certificate that online course including assignments and exam is successfully completed by Mr. X which is offered by RICE University USA on Coursera. It does not make any sense to write that the course is credit, non-credit etc. I am not happy with certificate issued.

By David T L

Oct 16, 2019

Same old PMI stuff.