Chevron Left
Back to An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 1)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 1) by Rice University

4.8
2,335 ratings
683 reviews

About the Course

This two-part course is designed to help students with very little or no computing background learn the basics of building simple interactive applications. Our language of choice, Python, is an easy-to learn, high-level computer language that is used in many of the computational courses offered on Coursera. To make learning Python easy, we have developed a new browser-based programming environment that makes developing interactive applications in Python simple. These applications will involve windows whose contents are graphical and respond to buttons, the keyboard and the mouse. In part 1 of this course, we will introduce the basic elements of programming (such as expressions, conditionals, and functions) and then use these elements to create simple interactive applications such as a digital stopwatch. Part 1 of this class will culminate in building a version of the classic arcade game "Pong"....

Top reviews

CD

Jul 13, 2017

It was nice beginner course for the new programming to learn programming and practice the concepts with most intuitive way, the way is to build a game and that interests anyone who takes this course.

JT

Oct 09, 2018

A great intro that puts the topic into achievable steps! I have a mechanical engineering background and I found it to be straightforward. The professors do a good job of making it fun and enjoyable.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 666 Reviews for An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 1)

By Recep Y

Oct 07, 2017

You cant submit assıgnments quizes and projects. So it is not free.

By Chris C

May 08, 2016

Only able to audit the class, no longer able to take quizzes and tests. I recommend the Python classes from Michigan over these if you are looking to avoid paying for old material.

By Andrej D

Aug 29, 2016

I am very disapointed about this course. This course is more about how programming, then teaching about programming in python. The lecture is too long and information value is very low. In my opinion, this course is for somebody who never programming, it is not depend in which language. If you wont to know how if, for, functions works, what is variable etc, then this is the right place where to learn this basics.

By Vaibhav G

Jun 26, 2016

not upto the mark.

Not meant for intelligent students

By Harry H

Nov 09, 2016

joe warren ur better than this

By robert t

Mar 25, 2016

huge waste of time, they will give you very little information and what is expected for you to be able to do with that information is astronomical, you will never learn any of the details of how computing works, how functions work, the mechanism behind these computations, or anything. To give you an example, you will first watch a horribly made video on boolean logic, alter going to youtube to get a better explanation of 'And', 'or' , and 'not', you'll see an example done with If, else, and elif, then be asked to do homework problems using and, or, not. This huge gap between the information given, and the information you are expected to know to solve the problems they give you is too large, I found differential equations easier than this

By EmmaG

Nov 18, 2018

learned a lot ,thanks

By Maksim U

Nov 17, 2018

I have never had any experience with programming before this course. It was a pleasure to complete the course, the material is well-structured and the tasks are reasonably challenging. I would really recommend this course to all newbie programmists.

By Angelo A d M F

Dec 20, 2018

It's a very good introduction to Python through simple games. The course is well planned and organized and it explores some key concepts of Python programming.

By shanmukh m

Dec 18, 2018

AWESOME

By Lili Z

Dec 23, 2018

The instructors make this course be easy to learn!

By Ramneek k

Dec 21, 2018

I love this course. Great teachers, Great Material and also Great peers!!

By shubham j

Dec 23, 2018

great for any level

By Syed M S

Dec 09, 2018

Love this course. The instructor explain the material both theoretically and practically.

By Mikey L

Dec 10, 2018

Such a good course, I decided to take the second one.

By Lien C

Dec 24, 2018

BEST TEACHERS EVER!

Thank you so much for putting in so much effort in creating this amazing course and the specialisation!.

I have learnt so much about programming and had great fun all the way through!

By Anna-Kristina P

Dec 13, 2018

A great introduction to using python and with really interesting mini projects that make you want to complete the course.

By Daniel R

Dec 12, 2018

Very good course, I wish that they had used Django or some other python framework for GUI interaction though.

By Scott P

Dec 31, 2018

This is a great introduction to Python and event driven programming!

By Ricardo L

Jan 03, 2019

Awesome course. A good way to remember some basic aspects of Python, and to learn new things by developing fun games. I totally recommend it.

By faizan

Jan 04, 2019

excellent i completed this in 5 days

By Muhammed B K

Nov 20, 2018

perfect

By sajad a

Nov 23, 2018

Awesome! The kicker came when i played pong with my brother.That experience was delightful.

By Blaise B

Nov 08, 2018

Great course. I started with zero programming experience. But I am gradually building skills that empower me to solve problems. The classroom lectures are aren't too long nor boring. Concepts are explained in a clear and concise manner and you can try them out in real time.

I completed Part I of the course in less than one week. Highly recommend.

By Волынский А Н

Nov 28, 2018

Great lectors!