Chevron Left
Back to An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 1)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 1) by Rice University

4.8
2,335 ratings
683 reviews

About the Course

This two-part course is designed to help students with very little or no computing background learn the basics of building simple interactive applications. Our language of choice, Python, is an easy-to learn, high-level computer language that is used in many of the computational courses offered on Coursera. To make learning Python easy, we have developed a new browser-based programming environment that makes developing interactive applications in Python simple. These applications will involve windows whose contents are graphical and respond to buttons, the keyboard and the mouse. In part 1 of this course, we will introduce the basic elements of programming (such as expressions, conditionals, and functions) and then use these elements to create simple interactive applications such as a digital stopwatch. Part 1 of this class will culminate in building a version of the classic arcade game "Pong"....

Top reviews

CD

Jul 13, 2017

It was nice beginner course for the new programming to learn programming and practice the concepts with most intuitive way, the way is to build a game and that interests anyone who takes this course.

JT

Oct 09, 2018

A great intro that puts the topic into achievable steps! I have a mechanical engineering background and I found it to be straightforward. The professors do a good job of making it fun and enjoyable.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 666 Reviews for An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 1)

By Kuznetsova G O

Mar 07, 2019

Everything in the course is explained clearly and thoroughly and the tasks are very useful. I would recommend this course to everyone who has weak knowledge in programming and would like to start with some course. Thanks to all lecturers. They did a great job!

By Jing

Mar 08, 2019

Wonderful class and very good arrangement of assignment

By Caterina W

Mar 16, 2019

Really great course - I have no coding skills and this course is doable and enjoyable.

By Codi M B

Mar 07, 2019

Wonderful course with great information to get you started in Python. Highly recommend.

By Filip Z

Mar 18, 2019

Excellent course! I think this is the perfect continuation after finishing Dr. Chucks introduction to Python specialization.

By Jared W

Mar 18, 2019

Great course. Would highly recommend to others seeking to learn python

By Ying C H

Dec 27, 2018

A really good course for a beginner!

By Nrusimha V K G

Dec 14, 2018

excellent beginner course for anyone interested in learning python.

By Luis T

Jan 15, 2019

This course is great, not so complex but it needs dedication. The Rice Teacher's Staff help us students with useful tips and methodology for developing the codes. I enjoyed the interactive games that you could develop by yourself, this is an approach that I value the most. Thanks for this opportunity.

By Kim M C

Nov 16, 2018

good

By Nurullah K

Mar 22, 2019

It is a perfect course to start with.You can improve your python ability with interactive programming and fun assigments.It is definitly gonna improve your problem solving skills.

By Xidong C

Jul 31, 2018

Awesome and good support from the forum

By Miao H

Aug 04, 2018

Great class! Highly recommended.

By longtran123

Aug 15, 2018

Great course

By Oliver P J S

Jul 21, 2018

spot on

By 邓智剑

Jul 22, 2018

Clear and brief illustration of using python as a tool to make video games. Cool!

By AARTHI N

Sep 03, 2018

Enjoyed the course

By AN-HUNG ( T

Aug 21, 2018

Learn a lot! Know more about Python through building little fun games by yourself.

By gowri s

Aug 22, 2018

Very good

By Mike L

Aug 25, 2018

Intro-level course

By Yashasvi V

Oct 09, 2018

A good course to get started.

By Jeremiah T

Oct 09, 2018

A great intro that puts the topic into achievable steps! I have a mechanical engineering background and I found it to be straightforward. The professors do a good job of making it fun and enjoyable.

By Mark S

Oct 11, 2018

This was a great introductory course to Python. I got a solid understanding of the syntax and basic constructs of the language, and I was able to complete the Pong game using the information in the class. I am interested in learning more about Python and using it for some file manipulation and infrastructure automation!

By Heba I

Oct 14, 2018

I really enjoyed watching and rewatching the videos xD the instructors are fun and the mentors on the forums are alert and helpful .

About the content : it teaches python as well as some mathematical in different way , Gamification ,and i like that .

By Emil K

Oct 17, 2018

Very, very good material and great overlap of what is required in the quiz / assignments with what is taught. The instructors had fun teaching this course and so did I. Great job, thank you!