Chevron Left
Back to An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 1)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 1) by Rice University

4.8
stars
3,022 ratings
888 reviews

About the Course

This two-part course is designed to help students with very little or no computing background learn the basics of building simple interactive applications. Our language of choice, Python, is an easy-to learn, high-level computer language that is used in many of the computational courses offered on Coursera. To make learning Python easy, we have developed a new browser-based programming environment that makes developing interactive applications in Python simple. These applications will involve windows whose contents are graphical and respond to buttons, the keyboard and the mouse. In part 1 of this course, we will introduce the basic elements of programming (such as expressions, conditionals, and functions) and then use these elements to create simple interactive applications such as a digital stopwatch. Part 1 of this class will culminate in building a version of the classic arcade game "Pong"....

Top reviews

VL
May 28, 2017

The best python course i ever had thanks to the teachers therereally awesome, and the classes are very pleasant. if your aout there trying to start with programming, i definitely recommend this course

GV
Apr 24, 2020

it is really a good, and interesting course offered by coursers. the teaching staff and the proffers exp land in a detailed and understandable way and made the course essay to understand and workout.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 871 Reviews for An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 1)

By Do H L

Mar 9, 2016

One of the best, most fun introductory Python course on Coursera. You'll create games!!! You create then you play to entertain yourselves and your fellow friends! What else do you need??? It's super fun!

By Lien C

Dec 24, 2018

BEST TEACHERS EVER!

Thank you so much for putting in so much effort in creating this amazing course and the specialisation!.

I have learnt so much about programming and had great fun all the way through!

By Yanliu L

Jul 27, 2018

This is my first programming course, a little difficult but those mini projects are so interesting! The attracted me to try my best to finish the course! I felt a huge development of programming skills!

By Venkateshwaralu

Jun 26, 2016

This is less of a course on a programming language and sounds more like a mindset for programming. Glad that I have enrolled for the specialization and looking forward to go through the whole journey :)

By materia p

May 29, 2017

The best python course i ever had thanks to the teachers therereally awesome, and the classes are very pleasant. if your aout there trying to start with programming, i definitely recommend this course

By Felipe R

Apr 5, 2016

Muy buen curso, excelente introducción a python y que mejor que aprender con ejercicios que motiven como los juegos propuestos en clase. Gracias a los profesores y a Coursera por brindarnos este curso

By Mehak

Mar 22, 2021

I liked the course flow and how it was taught. Looked like the Profs were really enjoying it al; the way. When reviewing peer assignments, you realize there are so many ways to do the same thing.

By Guadalupe G

Apr 14, 2016

This is the perfect course for people with no knowledge in programming. The lectures are easy to follow, and the best part is that the assignments, apart from strengthen the theory, are very fun!

By Xiao L Z

Jan 23, 2021

I think it's an excellent course. It's interesting and I've got a lot fun from it. Thanks to Prof. Joe Warren, Scott Rixner and Jhon Greiner!

Wish to see all of you next time and all the way!

By Fabio T

Mar 3, 2021

The course is really practical and you learn Python playing the games you develop, It is such a great course for those who already know how to code and want to know more about Python syntax.

By Robin S

Feb 24, 2020

I had a lot of fun with this course. The instructors were concise and they created some very fun projects. Coming into programming somewhat green, I also learned a lot more than just Python.

By Emil K

Oct 17, 2018

Very, very good material and great overlap of what is required in the quiz / assignments with what is taught. The instructors had fun teaching this course and so did I. Great job, thank you!

By Rudy H

Mar 29, 2019

Learn a lot from this course, lots of exercises and fun projects. Looking forward to the 2nd parts. Must take this course if you are serious about learning python or programming in general.

By Michael M

Oct 4, 2017

This was a fun and convenient course, and it was a great start to learning programming for me. There must have been lots of thought and talent put into it to make it that way.

Thank you!

By Robert S

Jun 10, 2019

I am not particularly new to python, but I am new to interactive programming. The material and the projects were relevant and interesting and thought it was a great introductory course.

By Francisco d J G A

Feb 3, 2017

It's a great course. Teachers are awesome since they're capable of getting your attention 100% of the time by keeping motivation up and making the learning curve really smooth. Thanks!

By Andres H

Oct 21, 2018

This course its a little hard walk through in the programing basic concepts, although the concepts are very funny to learn they lead to a deep understanding of programming essentials

By 朱明慧

Mar 7, 2017

Best teachers ever! Content is suitable for both beginners and those who already have some experience in coding. I really enjoyed the lectures as well as the programming assignments.

By Hansel G

May 14, 2016

It's just awesome to be able to take this kind of courses and specially when they have people so dedicated and interested in teaching and encouraging others so we can all learn. Than

By Nurullah K

Mar 22, 2019

It is a perfect course to start with.You can improve your python ability with interactive programming and fun assigments.It is definitly gonna improve your problem solving skills.

By Dhvani M K

Apr 15, 2021

Really nice course. Allows you to gain experience with complex codes, and lets you improve your problem solving skills. Really enjoyed it! Thank you to the curators of this course!

By Abhishek J

Aug 22, 2019

Thank you so much for such a wonderfully structured course to explain the concepts of Python programming. I can't wait to start the Part 2 of this course to finally make the game!!

By Amanda A

Mar 17, 2018

This class is great for brushing up on Python skills! The instructors provide all the tools to be able to complete projects and the course is challenging enough to stay interesting

By Quentin L

Sep 14, 2016

Good course to learn the concepts deeply and make it registered by the brain, especially if you test and think things in parallel by yourself. Starting the second course right now.

By Kareem Z

Jul 23, 2020

Great Course. Amazing instructors. I really thank all people who have exerted efforts to create such a high-quality course and I thank Coursera for giving us this chance to learn.