Chevron Left
Back to International migrations: a global issue

Learner Reviews & Feedback for International migrations: a global issue by Sciences Po

4.6
stars
341 ratings
82 reviews

About the Course

ABOUT THE MOOC : INTERNATIONAL MIGRATIONS: A GLOBAL ISSUE Catherine Wihtol De Wenden - CERI CNRS/SciencesPo ABOUT THE COURSE The world is moving, but not all opinions and governments are willing to accept this poorly understood reality. The issue affects both states and the planet, in a process of globalization and of regionalization of migrations, and raises new questions for international relations, now including the South. This course aims at improving knowledge of the subject, addressing the key issues raised by international migration, and assessing the trends of tomorrow. FORMAT The MOOC lasts 7 weeks and focuses on various themes related to migration. It makes use of various types of document, such as maps, news articles, and scientific papers. The text is in English and the videos are in French with English subtitles TEACHERS Catherine Wihtol de Wenden is Research Director at the CNRS (CERI) and teaches at Sciences-Po. She has been a consultant to many international organizations, notably the Council of Europe and the Office of the High Commissioner for Refugees. From 2002 to 2008, she led the "Migration" research group of the International Sociological Association. Author of some 20 books, and having conducted many field investigations, she also teaches at the Sapienza University of Rome. COURSE OUTLINE Session 1: Globalization of migration Session 2: Refugees and environmentally displaced persons Session 3: Europe Session 4: France and international migration flows Session 5: Citizenship and migration Session 6: Borders Session 7: Right to mobility and global governance...

Top reviews

TA
Sep 9, 2019

International migrations: a global issue is a time demanded course for the population movement operations front line worker for better approach to reach the beneficiaries.

LG
Mar 31, 2020

I found this course really intresting and complete. The migration issue is explain in the proper way and I think it can help me to improve my university carrer.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 81 Reviews for International migrations: a global issue

By Aida S M C

Jul 23, 2020

Un curso muy interesante, se aprende acerca el proceso de migración que se ha visto a lo largo de la histpria y cuales han sido los que más an tenido.

By Larri L

Nov 10, 2020

Course is great, with vast academic discussion about immigration. It is just a pity that quiz evaluations are only available for paid options.

By Alistair S

Dec 12, 2020

Though the information on this course is outdated, the data and keynote information learnt and achieved through this has made this worthwhile.

By Theophilus Q

Jul 29, 2020

Very insightful and rich in content. Learnt a great deal about migration in the 21st Century world with all its attendant information.

By Kaesha-Leigh M

Jul 27, 2020

Although the primary focus is European, there are many things that I learned. I enjoyed this course thank you.

By Gabriela C

Feb 15, 2021

Maravilhoso, contribuiu demais para minha visão de mundo e para meu bacharelado em Relações Internacionais

By Grace M G

Jan 28, 2019

Curso introdutório fundamental para o conhecimento do tema imigração/emigração e refúgio em escala global.

By Annalisa D

Sep 13, 2020

Really one of the best courses I've done online! Well structured and with lots of informational material!

By Hosam M G A

Oct 2, 2020

The course it truly very informative and valuable for learners interested in international migrations.

By Margarita I M I

May 10, 2020

It's an easy way to refresh basics in International Migration and to learn more of the European side.

By Junior M

Jan 31, 2021

it was an incredible course, I am looking forward to taking more classes

By Eduarda A L P

Oct 9, 2020

Really fun course to take if you like this international relations area

By Nontawat S

Jul 2, 2019

it's good experience and new recognition for me

By Yohanes A W M M

Oct 19, 2020

Very good, easy to understand, keep on going.

By Daniely V

Jun 16, 2020

Excellent information and learning materials!

By Lasha V

Oct 20, 2020

Really productive and interesting course.

By Subhabrata C

Oct 9, 2020

Well curated. Enjoyed the course.

By Хотивришвили А

May 13, 2020

Thanks for interesting course!

By Ayuba M B

Jul 9, 2020

thank you for the knowledge

By Muhammad i R

Nov 22, 2019

Prestigious learning !

By Saadou M M

Oct 10, 2019

C’est très intéressant

By Winston A W

Nov 18, 2020

Excellent, thank you.

By Gustavo R N

Oct 15, 2020

Exceptional material.

By ELIAS P N

Feb 15, 2021

Thank You Coursera!

By Omar A Z

Jan 17, 2021

great course!!!!