Chevron Left
Back to International migrations: a global issue

Learner Reviews & Feedback for International migrations: a global issue by Sciences Po

4.6
stars
342 ratings
82 reviews

About the Course

ABOUT THE MOOC : INTERNATIONAL MIGRATIONS: A GLOBAL ISSUE Catherine Wihtol De Wenden - CERI CNRS/SciencesPo ABOUT THE COURSE The world is moving, but not all opinions and governments are willing to accept this poorly understood reality. The issue affects both states and the planet, in a process of globalization and of regionalization of migrations, and raises new questions for international relations, now including the South. This course aims at improving knowledge of the subject, addressing the key issues raised by international migration, and assessing the trends of tomorrow. FORMAT The MOOC lasts 7 weeks and focuses on various themes related to migration. It makes use of various types of document, such as maps, news articles, and scientific papers. The text is in English and the videos are in French with English subtitles TEACHERS Catherine Wihtol de Wenden is Research Director at the CNRS (CERI) and teaches at Sciences-Po. She has been a consultant to many international organizations, notably the Council of Europe and the Office of the High Commissioner for Refugees. From 2002 to 2008, she led the "Migration" research group of the International Sociological Association. Author of some 20 books, and having conducted many field investigations, she also teaches at the Sapienza University of Rome. COURSE OUTLINE Session 1: Globalization of migration Session 2: Refugees and environmentally displaced persons Session 3: Europe Session 4: France and international migration flows Session 5: Citizenship and migration Session 6: Borders Session 7: Right to mobility and global governance...

Top reviews

TA
Sep 9, 2019

International migrations: a global issue is a time demanded course for the population movement operations front line worker for better approach to reach the beneficiaries.

LG
Mar 31, 2020

I found this course really intresting and complete. The migration issue is explain in the proper way and I think it can help me to improve my university carrer.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 81 Reviews for International migrations: a global issue

By Konstantinos - C D

Nov 8, 2020

Amazing courses!

By LIMSEER A P A

May 11, 2020

Nice experience

By hilary b

May 5, 2020

very enriching

By Tulio F R

Sep 5, 2018

Really Good :D

By Abdelrahman A F H

Dec 16, 2020

very good

By Lucienne G

Sep 15, 2020

merci

By GLORIYA V

Jul 30, 2020

Good

By Mona A A

Jul 4, 2020

GOOD

By Miklos P H

Dec 29, 2020

It's a well-elaborated course and constructed intelligently. The responsible for the course is a very clever teacher and capable. My concern is that the course should be updated urgently, as the subject evolved so much in the last five years; many of the topics are using outdated information end conceptually the subject of migration and immigration changed in different parts of the world. Miklos

By Olard H

May 1, 2020

The course is a good course of beginners and explains well migration issues overall. Unfortunately it lacks updates and there are no mentioning of what happens in the world of migration after 2016. This is a pity. But definetely I would recommend these courses for beginners.

By Brenda d S S

Jul 2, 2020

I believe some subjects must be revised and updated since I think this course began in 2016 and a lot has changed. But besides that I love course, and I learned so much and the subjects are really deep into the history, reasons and consequences of migrations.

By María A D L G V

Jul 25, 2020

I found the course really relevant in uncertain time like the ones we're living in with the coronavirus crisis. However, I think that it was too focused on european migrants and didn't reflect the complete and global process.

By Estefani B d R V

Nov 24, 2018

Muy buen curso, pero está mucho más enfocado a la migración en el contexto Europeo. Muy útil para darse un panorama general de los procesos migratorios y la postura de la comunidad internacional frente al fenómeno.

By Arjun G

Aug 10, 2019

Extremely informative, and inspiring. Would definitely recommend to anyone wishing to gain an interdisciplinary subject approach to international migrations through economics, history, politics, and law.

By Helena A

Feb 29, 2020

Just almost finished Week 1 and it seems like an interesting and relevant course. However, should be more clearly stated that you cannot complete the graded items without purchasing the certificate.

By Jean-Charles F

Mar 11, 2018

Highly instrucive on the international migration issues and a very good base on understanding the challenges that lies ahead. Thank you !

By rerolle a

May 31, 2018

Cours intéressant présentant, d'un point de vue français mais aussi global, les enjeux autour de la migration internationale.

By Anahi D J

Jul 10, 2020

I enjoyed the course but it was a little bit slow and I would want it to have subtitles in Spanish as well.

By Camila X d B e S

Jun 28, 2020

O curso é interessante mas está um pouco desatualizado e tem algumas partes repetitivas

By Morium A R

Jun 8, 2020

It is an amazing course to know about the all process and history about migration

By Shruti N

Oct 2, 2020

While the course is not primarily in English, I enjoyed it a lot. Thank you

By Bronwen E

Jun 1, 2020

very detailed and interesting information

By Ishita D

Mar 23, 2020

Very informative course! Loved it.

By Anil N

Jun 1, 2020

Interesting Enough.