Chevron Left
Back to Internet of Things: How did we get here?

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Internet of Things: How did we get here? by University of California San Diego

3.9
stars
991 ratings
314 reviews

About the Course

It is hard to imagine life without your Smartphone – you have come to rely on it so much – for your work; to stay in touch with family and friends; to capture and share those special moments; to find your way around in a new neighborhood. Did you ever wonder how and when all this happened? Or how and when GPS sensors came to be in your cell phone? In this course, we will explore the convergence of multiple disciplines leading to todays’ Smartphones. You will learn about the birth and evolution of Telephony Networks, Broadcast Networks (TV and Radio) and Consumer Electronics. We will discuss the impact of Internet, (multimedia) content, smartphones and apps on everyday lives. We will then look at how this emerging platform called the Internet of Things – wherein billions and trillions of devices communicating with each other and “the cloud” – could enable unprecedented, innovative products and services. Take this course if you want to understand what great new advances in mobile-enabled products will be coming our way! Learning Goals: This course provides a core grounding in how science and technology have developed to enable the Internet of Things – in a way appropriate for any learner. For those interested in developing further hands-on expertise in designing and developing for the Internet of Things, this course will provide a context to the discoveries and converging technologies that will springboard the next round of innovations. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Compare how the telephone system works (that is, peer-to-peer networks) with how media delivery works (that is, broadcast/multicast networks). 2. Explain the tradeoffs between circuit switched networks (that is, dedicated resources) and packet switched networks (that is, shared resources). 3. Tell interesting stories about key innovations that transformed the communications, entertainment and consumer electronics industries. 4. Explain how email, YouTube, SMS, etc. work. 5. Find resources for those wishing to do more of a “deep-dive” into the above topics....

Top reviews

DR

Mar 08, 2016

Hello Everyone,\n\nI really enjoyed this course and definitely this is great learning experience for me..I am heartily thankful to Both Professors for given me this knowledge..\n\nThanks a lot..

AM

Aug 10, 2020

Excellent course to introduce on IoT, this is a fasinating trip since the begining of communications with analog devices to now the digital age with all things connected.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 300 Reviews for Internet of Things: How did we get here?

By Vivek L

May 07, 2020

initial module quizs are not in sync with teaching . learned few core stuff though. thanks you.

By Suraj G

Apr 23, 2019

OK for the beginners as an introduction to IOT.

Course Videos and Quiz are hardly correlated.

By Donat G

May 23, 2016

Not really technical, but a good overview over the past years and even centuries...

By VIGNESHKUMAR R

Aug 22, 2019

Good course but many quiz .May be to reduce quiz to get more star from students.

By Michael T

Feb 24, 2016

The topic was interesting , but most of the questions need to be rewritten.

By Jan S

Jan 14, 2016

Too much focusing on history of telephony and only little focus on IoT.

By Rishabh K

Jan 15, 2016

Too much theory and history in the course, no practical applications.

By Neo W M

Jul 04, 2020

needs to have better link between materials and quizzes

By utkarsh v

Dec 19, 2017

they will not teach you how to build your own iot board

By Geert H

Nov 11, 2015

Reasonable, but slow to come to the essence.

By Brandon L

Jul 02, 2020

The video got no relation to the quiz

By CHETAN

Jun 28, 2020

the contents are messed up and absent

By Abdallah K

Jun 01, 2017

ok

By Lisa I

Sep 09, 2020

The course provided some useful background information but the quizzes for Modules 2, 3, and 4 had little to no connection to the content presented in the videos and many questions were poorly worded, to the point of incoherence. Other quiz questions focused on arbitrary knowledge checks rather than relevant content (there was overemphasis on WHO invented something, rather than on the more important WHAT it was and HOW that impacted the development of the IoT). It felt like there was mandatory external reading, but no links provided, and sometimes the professor said "don't worry about the technical details," but then the technical details (or others not covered in the videos) were the subject of the quiz questions. Those 3 modules needed some massive Quality Control overhaul, as does the transcription of that professor's comments ("tall" "call," "wise" vs "voice"). The Module 3 Assignment (build your own app) should have been linked to Module 5, it was completely out of context in Module 3. Module 6 should have probably been Module 1 as it provided much more background for the overall course and larger series.

By Sin J H

Jul 18, 2020

Thought it would be a course introducing IoT, given its prevalence now but it turned out to be a history and crash course on the science and workings behind the Internet. Besides the first and last two modules, the rest of the modules had content that was highly technical, yet not explained in-depth. The quizzes at of the modules asked questions that did not seem to be from the course content itself, and I had to spend more time Googling for answers instead. The course was definitely way too technical for what appears to be an introductory module to IoT and as someone without the relevant background, I struggled very much with the content.

Pro-tip: For those stuck at particular questions or quizzes, take a look at the discussion forums for help and answers by other students!

By Deena J

Feb 11, 2016

Not enough conversation on IoT (Just in the last module). Way too much time spent on history that really doesn't matter and on stuff I can find on the net. One Module to run through all of these - Circuit switching and packet switching, computer telephony (SS7) and then wireless would have been enough. The remaining modules should have gone into the concepts of IoT in greater detail and some high level technical info that someone who is just hearing about it can speak intelligently on it without having to develop my own dragon board (next course)

By Ashley K S Y

May 25, 2020

I would say that this course is not up to date in terms of its contents. From what I understand, the contents taught were based on 2015 and it's already the year of 2020. I strongly suggest that the contents should be updated as the internet of technology tends to imporve every day.

Also, I woud like to point out that for certain modules, the quizzes were not asked based on the content that was taught. On top of that, no additional readings was suggested prior to the quiz.

By Kristian L E P

May 29, 2020

What started off as a slightly interesting course soon devolved into just non-stop searching on Google and discussion forums after viewing multiple unrelated videos about the history of phones. The questions in the quizzes ask things that were never even mentioned at all in the lectures, or ask for obscure pieces of information that I cannot fathom the use for. It was a disappointing and tedious effort completing this course, which has seemed to be abandoned by UCSD.

By Emilio P F L

Feb 03, 2019

Hay mucha información que requiere una cantidad enorme de tiempo para poder responder una pregunta demasiado extendida para que la respuesta sean menos de 4 letras.

La última parte del curso fue mucho mas interesante, debido a que la historia de la telefonía o el internet es algo que ya había visto.

By Gonzalo B M

Sep 10, 2020

There is no relationship between what is taught in the lectures and what is asked in the exams, which force the students to ask for the answers in the forums or search on the internet. All of this represents waste of time and to be honest demotivates you to finish the course. Would not recommend.

By Gary F

Jan 19, 2019

Excellent title. Pretty much summarizes the entire course. Through out the entire course you will definately wonder why you are here. Your answer must be for IoT every time. If that's the case, then stay tune. If you manage to reach the end, you will also know how you got here.

By Praharsh R D

Apr 10, 2020

This is a great course for people looking to know the history of IoT and as the name suggests how did we get here. the only thing wrong with this course is the assignment part as it is hilt disjoint and there are a lot of problems with the grading system.

By Siddhant S

Jun 06, 2020

The quiz questions were out of the topic. The course material and the quiz questions did not match. As a result it was very difficult to finish the course. Prior knowledge is very much required.

By Kumaran A B

Jun 22, 2020

The present course does not talk about Amazon Cloud services or dragon boards.. Just the mention of it wont help. I am not sure if it is trimmed down version or anything.. but not happy..

By Ying X

Oct 18, 2018

Mainly disappointment in the quiz. Too many not mentioned in the lecture and takes too long to find the answer and in the end not finding the research rewarding