Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to FPGA Design for Embedded Systems

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to FPGA Design for Embedded Systems by University of Colorado Boulder

4.6
stars
1,014 ratings

About the Course

This course can also be taken for academic credit as ECEA 5360, part of CU Boulder’s Master of Science in Electrical Engineering degree. Programmable Logic has become more and more common as a core technology used to build electronic systems. By integrating soft-core or hardcore processors, these devices have become complete systems on a chip, steadily displacing general purpose processors and ASICs. In particular, high performance systems are now almost always implemented with FPGAs. This course will give you the foundation for FPGA design in Embedded Systems along with practical design skills. You will learn what an FPGA is and how this technology was developed, how to select the best FPGA architecture for a given application, how to use state of the art software tools for FPGA development, and solve critical digital design problems using FPGAs. You use FPGA development tools to complete several example designs, including a custom processor. If you are thinking of a career in Electronics Design or an engineer looking at a career change, this is a great course to enhance your career opportunities. Hardware Requirements: You must have access to computer resources to run the development tools, a PC running either Windows 7, 8, or 10 or a recent Linux OS which must be RHEL 6.5 or CentOS Linux 6.5 or later. Either Linux OS could be run as a virtual machine under Windows 8 or 10. The tools do not run on Apple Mac computers. Whatever the OS, the computer must have at least 8 GB of RAM. Most new laptops will have this, or it may be possible to upgrade the memory....

Top reviews

KS

Jul 30, 2020

This is an extremely good course and I learned a lot. Thank you very much sir "Timothy Scherr " and all the people who make this a such a nice one. Also thank you very much "COURSERA" !!!

PM

Nov 5, 2020

This course is very basic level and I encourage all the electronics students must take this course. Thank you Timothy Scherr Sir, he explained all the concepts with detailed explanation.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 254 Reviews for Introduction to FPGA Design for Embedded Systems

By Venkata L K

May 6, 2020

Good course but assigment doing was difficult as tool was not supporting all in student version for free.

Topics were good

By Gregory P

May 1, 2021

Very good class. Easy to follow lectures that provide a good understanding of the FPGA design process, technology and tools.

By Sebastian d L

Jun 8, 2021

The course gives a general view on the whole Altera toolchain. It is very clear, with concise videos and hands on exercises

By Anurag S R

Oct 21, 2017

Gives you a quick run down on designing FPGA systems without going into the details of VHDL or schematics. Good exercises.

By stsecen

Dec 17, 2020

This is a best course about FPGA Design. It's so effective. Thanks for financial aid and incredibly details about FPGA.

By Mucha. S r

Aug 29, 2020

Awesome course didn't get this stuff anywhere and lecture was brilliant .I'm going to enroll the other courses.

By Jhoan E L E

Mar 10, 2021

An excellent introductory course for FPGA design. I have learned a lot of new skills with FPGAs and Quartus.

By Alpaslan T

Feb 3, 2020

The content of the course and the assignments are very good. One can learn both the theory and the practice.

By Akella K M

Jun 21, 2021

Amazing course, I learnt a lot about FPGAs and embedded systems. Looking forward to meeting the instructor!

By Aqil G

Nov 22, 2019

Well design course but post courses like HDL programming for logic design should start as soon as possible.

By BODIREDDY S D S

Sep 2, 2019

Really enjoy the course and learn citting edge techniques for FPGA design which help my career development.

By HIMANSHU S

Sep 27, 2018

The instructor was really good,only if we can be taught some programming bit also it would have been better

By Carlin R C

Sep 23, 2018

Good course, solid introduction, I feel familiar with the IDE, and FPGAs now, where is the second course?

By Zhukov A

Oct 16, 2021

This course is a real challenge for me. The dream of creating your own processor has become a reality.

By Dmitry K

Apr 9, 2021

The course gives valuable initial knowledge and real practical skills regarding FPGA development.

By abounnasr a

Nov 10, 2020

It is a good course who guided me to discover a lot of new informations about the FPGA and CPLD .

By jose l S D

Oct 14, 2020

hello I learned a lot about the basic concepts of FPGAs, with a simple and interactive language

By Diego O B

May 27, 2019

Altamente recomendable, más allá del idioma nativo que uno tenga es muy intuitiva la propuesta.

By Alina V

Apr 18, 2021

Learned a lot about FPGAs on this course! Coursera is the best online courses Platform ever!!

By Muhammad D Z B

Nov 21, 2021

This course was very helpful to build my understanding of the system verilog and the fpgas.

By A H R

Mar 16, 2019

The course was challenging and exciting and very useful, the way they trained us is awesome

By Jakub K

Jun 5, 2021

Highly sophisticated course. Well prepared tests and questions helps knowledge deepening.

By Pranabesh B

Dec 18, 2020

Nice course for a beginner, with lots of detail information about all CPLD/FPGA devices.

By Dimos K

Dec 16, 2021

excellent course, covers a ton of material, keep good notes there is a lot to remember.

By MUHAMMAD S U R

Nov 23, 2021

I would recommend this course for the beginners who have just started digital designing