Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Blockchain Technologies

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Blockchain Technologies by INSEAD

4.8
stars
1,678 ratings
391 reviews

About the Course

In this first course of the specialization, we will discuss the limitations of the Internet for business and economic activity, and explain how blockchain technology represents the way forward. After completing this course, you will be able to explain what blockchain is, how it works, and why it is revolutionary. You will learn key concepts such as mining, hashing, proof-of-work, public key cryptography, and the double-spend problem. You’ll be able to describe seven design principles for blockchain technology, and the challenges facing the people developing it. You’ll also meet the players in the blockchain ecosystem, and consider your own role in stewarding the blockchain revolution....

Top reviews

PS
May 16, 2020

This course is really very helpful for students interested in Technologies or even in other fields, as Blockchain has the potential to bring a new revolution in the world, "The Second Era of Internet"

SP
Sep 27, 2019

This course wonderfully describes the technology and its workings. Helped me understand the intricacies of this disruption and comprehend some of the challenges that I did not even consider before.

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 393 Reviews for Introduction to Blockchain Technologies

By Manoj S

May 25, 2020

This is my 1st course on Blockchain and must admit it has been a wise decision to spend money on this course. That being said for those who want a more intermediate level or advanced level info then this is not the course as there is no hands on development session. This course is all theory and well structured for beginners. I loved this course. I wish the course also to an extent touched on development and some modules on implementation exercise. Thanks Don and Alex for this wonderful journey .

By SOUCHARD T

Oct 6, 2019

Good introductory course on blockchain. It provides some insights into what the challenges are and provides some questioning on the future of blockchain. Unfortunately, th panel of lecturers is too narrow (Tapscott and his son..) and often sound like a marketing tool for their book.

Still, even if it may provide an optimistic and bias view on the subject, I found it helpful in grasping the subject's basics.

By Arun K S

Aug 28, 2020

This is good foundation to understand the nuances of bitcoin technologies. We need to understand this before we do a deep dive into more intrinsic details of the platform and the workings of blockchain, which i hope are covered in the other modules. It would have been good if a complimentary version of the book is given to all instead of just relevant sections. A feedback on that from me :)

By Bernard D V

Jan 4, 2020

A great course about Blockchain. The introduction is complete and all the explanations are situated in an "ideal world' but at the end are presented 10 challenges linked to Blockchain so it gives a good balance to the course. The teachers are great and the content is rich. But I personally think that the pure technical explanations about how blockchain works are too light.

By Muhammed A

Jun 24, 2020

The course is helpful in understanding basics of blockchain. However, it is slightly skewed towards cryptos and bitcoin- you will find multiple references to bitcoin. I felt the 'enterprise blockchain' element missing, particularly with many industry players already having production at scale/ pilots through a variety of use cases.

By Andre A M

Aug 2, 2019

Content is of good quality. Very breadth course where you cover a lot of superficial topics of blockchain for exposure. I don't like how they keep selling their book, which this course is basically structured off of. But still very useful if you want to understand blockchain concepts in a non-technical manner (i.e. no coding).

By Nakul M

Jun 5, 2020

Good course to kick off an understanding of blockchain, its potential and the challenges it will face. However, I'd have preferred to see a few more real world examples rather than just a couple minutes of interview with the Fedex CIO. I am not even sure yet what Fedex has done on blockchain.

By Rebecca L

Jul 2, 2019

This course is very suitable for new learners. It's well designed to help you have a quick grasp of the basic knowledge of Blochain, such as the background, mechanism and the current chanlleges. The course is undoubtedly the first door to the Blochain techonology. I totally recommand it!

By Andrejs V

Apr 9, 2019

The format and explanations given are good. One of the presenter mixed politics with totally crap facts and included in the course., unbelievably for partnering it with INSEAD. At the same time some others political aspects, for example which country was behind Silk Road is omitted.

By GS P

Jun 10, 2019

This course is a brilliant introduction to this complex domain of Blockchain. In five weeks I went from complete ignorance to a good understanding of the main concepts and of the road ahead of us. This course opens the doors to other areas linked to the BC revolution.

By Alessio M

May 17, 2020

Really good introductory course going though all the different aspects of blockchain technology, including legal, regulatory as well as business impacts. A little bit disappointing the readings related to professors' book; a pdf extract would have been appreciated.

By Varun s

Dec 3, 2019

This course was very helpful in making me understand the different types of technologies which is currently being used for blockchain. However, little more inclination towards the development side would have made this course a 5 star course.

Highlly recommended.

By Rashmi P J

Oct 25, 2019

All the section of the course was very informative and well presented with examples . Good way to know what we are understanding by appearing in quiz at last of each session . Looking forward to next learning module in block chain to know more about this .

By Sebelle S

Feb 24, 2020

Great course for those who need a "Blockchain 101" course. This covers most general topics in blockchain as described. It's a little difficult to understand, remember, or apply the knowledge gained from this course as it is solely theory-based.

By ROHAN A S

May 28, 2020

The course is best in class. It gave the vision to implement the blockchain in real world for solving problems with its difficulties in implementation ,the challenges,the requirements. It inspired to approach in this great technology.

By Andrew F

Jun 18, 2019

Good introduction to blockchain. A little often it felt like a sales pitch for the Tapscott's book (if I should be reading this on a course I've paid for, can't you provide the relevant chapters?!), but overall I thought it was good.

By Shreejita C

Jun 28, 2020

Amazing course to learn about the basic blockchain system, it's working and all other entities involved in making blockchain a success. The extra reading material provided gives detailed info about all that is know about blockchain.

By Visweswar B

Jul 31, 2019

This was a very useful course which helped me understand the basics of blockchain. However, It would have been useful if they had used tools like whiteboards/visual course material rather than just speaking sessions.

By Alejandro F

May 13, 2020

Good for an introduction to the subject. Does a good job summarizing major points but it can get a bit boring and repetitive. They also try to make you buy their book all the time. But it is a good course overall.

By Lorenzo M

Jun 20, 2019

Very useful to enter into the BC and better understand how it work and which are the application and potential usages. I recommend to follow the course if you are interest in know more about BC.

By Mohamed M

Jun 25, 2019

The course provides access to a wealth of information and ideas related to blockchain and cryptocurrency. It is really helpful to anyone who wants to pursuit a career path in blockchain field.

By Raza A

May 8, 2020

Excellent course on Blockchian. It gives immense insights about What Blockchain is , It's design principles, Stakeholders, and Implementation challenges with real life scenarios.

By Urmila R B

Apr 27, 2020

They conveying the much more information about the blockchain.

Very thanful to them. Keep going with this. I Learned a lot from this course its helps me out to doing my project.

By Rohit G

May 27, 2019

A very simplified understanding of the technology for a novice like myself. Has definitely cleared a lot of doubts in my mind. Thank you for sharing the knowledge Dan and Alex.

By Thomas B

Jul 23, 2019

Well balanced and covered a lot of angels both opportunities and threats. Excellent and it has really provoked my thinking about business models and possible innovations.