Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Psychology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Psychology by Yale University

4.9
stars
28,280 ratings

About the Course

What are people most afraid of? What do our dreams mean? Are we natural-born racists? What makes us happy? What are the causes and cures of mental illness? This course tries to answer these questions and many others, providing a comprehensive overview of the scientific study of thought and behavior. It explores topics such as perception, communication, learning, memory, decision-making, persuasion, emotions, and social behavior. We will look at how these aspects of the mind develop in children, how they differ across people, how they are wired-up in the brain, and how they break down due to illness and injury....

Top reviews

AR

Jun 26, 2020

This was my second course using this site, and with Professor Bloom, and once again it was great. I've genuinely learnt a lot, and I've found a new love for psychology I never would have found before.

KJ

Dec 27, 2020

I just ended this course smiling & 'happy' with the final topic. 🎉 Thank you for the wonderful experience. Professor Bloom did a great job in explaining and a very pleasant, soothing voice to present!

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 6,196 Reviews for Introduction to Psychology

By Shivani P

Jun 15, 2020

Very good course if you want to know the overview of psychology.

By Rohan V

Sep 1, 2020

really very meaningful course, it help me to reduce my stress.

By Ricky M R 1

Jun 14, 2020

A good starting point to psychological understanding!

By Tabetha M

Jul 7, 2020

Thank you, it was a pleasure learning in your class.

By sunny w

Apr 7, 2021

It is very useful for a new learner for psychology.

By Maria L U Z

Dec 5, 2020

excelente curso, me encantó todo lo que aprendí

By Riddhesh B

Jun 15, 2020

A must for people interested in psychology

By Gautam K R

Jun 14, 2020

Loved this! Thanks for the great course!

By Siti S B M K

Jul 8, 2020

Enjoyed learning about the human mind.

By Mariam M

Jul 19, 2020

The most awesome course ever

By hamza b

Jun 14, 2020

special thanks to Mr. Bloom

By Deepa D

Jul 8, 2020

Introduction of psychology

By arun b

Jan 9, 2019

Excellent course material

By Angie T

Jul 7, 2020

Excelente

By Adriana L

Dec 13, 2019

I think the Yale psychology course by Professor Bloom was a good experience. I would give this course a four-star out of five-star rating. The reason I think this, is because it was good for the most part but sometimes it got a little boring and there were topics that I didn’t think would be a part of an introductory course to psychology. However, I do think he did an excellent job explaining everything he taught. I went into psychology not knowing much about the subject, but Professor Bloom made everything clearer and I gained a better knowledge of psychology.

By Gabriella E G

Dec 14, 2019

I would like to start by giving Dr. Bloom's intro to Psychology course a four out-of five star rating. I am giving it a four out-of five rating, because it was good but it had a few things that I personally would change about it. I liked almost everything about it, but sometimes it got boring for me. I loved when we talked about all the mental illnesses, but I also got bored in the beginning. In the beginning it felt like it took forever to get through. Also when we were learning about Freud I found that very boring.

By HIMAJA V

Jul 8, 2020

I thoroughly understood the concept of human behaviour especially the mental health its therapy . Thank you for giving me this opportunity thanks alot

By Kalyani M

May 9, 2019

Lectures, videos and professor were good. The english transcript though had some mistakes. Video/audio needs to be transcribed more carefully.

By Morgana O B

Jul 7, 2020

Muito bom para estudantes de psicologia e quem quer que deseje aprender um pouco sobre esse mundo!

By Stephanie C

Jun 14, 2020

This course had great content and was really interesting.

By Kshitij

Jun 14, 2020

Nice course for beginners!!

By AHAD H

Jul 8, 2020

awesome

By Naomi G

Jan 6, 2021

The course content itself is fascinating, the lectures are interesting and the visuals, while sometimes not totally relevant, are fun and creative.

The absolute WORST thing about this course, is the gosh darn sound effects (bubbling water, gurgles, paper rustling etc) that constantly overlap the voice of the Professor. For someone who's brain works like mine, I simply cannot tune out those things. My brain gives equal attention to the speaking and to the sound effects until I can no longer focus on the words. Its horribly distracting and has sadly detracted from my enjoyment of an otherwise great learning experience.

By Jenna S

Jul 20, 2020

In order to get the most out of the class, you will likely want to take notes and do the reading. Otherwise, the quizzes are pretty easy to pass with just watching the video lectures, but you won't leave the class with much value.

I wish the lectures had been longer and more substantive. And what other way of interactivity can you get, besides the discussions. I didn't even go back into the lecture after the first time I poked around. It's nothing like in-person discussion groups so it's a little hard to invest.

By Anoopa S J

Jul 20, 2020

The course covers most of the topics I expected but the video was very bad. The sound recording is also of very poor quality. The course material is quite extensive. The reading time of 10 minutes allotted is a joke. Some topics take hours to finish. Because of these negatives, I had to drag myself to finish the course, which otherwise is very interesting and informative.