Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Seaweeds

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Seaweeds by University of California San Diego

4.9
stars
29 ratings

About the Course

This course was produced by the Algae Technology Educational Consortium and UC San Diego with funding from the Algae Foundation, the National Renewable Energy Lab, and the U.S. Department of Energy....

Top reviews

MW

Jun 20, 2023

Its amazing and informative session about seaweeds i didn't expect that they are so useful and valueable. I rearly suprised and ejoyed at all.

CL

May 3, 2023

The course is well presented and very helpful specially to my current project.

Filter by:

1 - 8 of 8 Reviews for Introduction to Seaweeds

By Sylvan T

Aug 27, 2023

I zoomed through this course in 2 1/2 sittings. Intro to Seaweeds was well put together and incredibly informative! I really got a sense for what seaweeds are, the basics of cultivation, and why it's a field worth pursuing. The Additional Readings and links were really helpful whenever I wanted to go deeper on a topic from a given lecture.

A few negatives: Some of the video lecture notes had a lot of misspellings, as if they were simply transcribed automatically by sound. This made it difficult to search for species names and other highly specific words, which in turn made it harder to complete quizzes. The quizzes themselves had a few errors (answers directly contradicting video content, the occasional "Correct!" pasted within the answer text). Quiz questions could also be brutally specific, though I enjoyed the challenge. A few of the lectures were also incredibly dense with information that didn't always feel relevant unless you were already working with a very specific system or species. I almost fell off in week 2, dreading that the rest of the course would go into cellular detail about every kind of seaweed.

But I pushed through, and I'm glad I did! Week 2 is rough, but I found almost everything after it fascinating and very useful to know. I learned so much, and the presentations made it engaging. Other than a few rough patches, this course went really smoothly. I expect I'll revisit it for years to come, as it makes a great jumping off point for all sorts of more specific seaweed topics.

By Ramona “ P T

Jul 4, 2023

I really enjoyed this course. I was able to learn from a variety of instructors. This course really whet my appetite for learning more about seaweeds. I didn't realize how interesting the science of seaweed could be.

By Malik W

Jun 21, 2023

Its amazing and informative session about seaweeds i didn't expect that they are so useful and valueable. I rearly suprised and ejoyed at all.

By Charise L

May 4, 2023

The course is well presented and very helpful specially to my current project.

By Kennia B D

May 5, 2023

I am really glad that I took this course, it is great!

By Dushyanthee S

Nov 11, 2023

Very thorough and helpful.

By Deepak T

Feb 25, 2023

awesome expereience

By Vahhab P

Apr 8, 2024

This course is helpful, but it requires upgrades to the PowerPoint slides.