Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Software Engineering

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Software Engineering by IBM

4.7
stars
853 ratings

About the Course

Are you curious about the lucrative field that is software engineering and how you might be a part of it? This is the course for you! By taking this course you will gain foundational knowledge of software development, programming, and the many exciting job roles and career paths that the IT industry offers. Learn about the power of the Software Development Lifecycle (SDLC), and modern software development frameworks methodologies like Agile and Scrum. Explore fundamental programming principles and foundations of design, architecture, and deployment. The course offers a number of labs that will help you get important hands-on experience. These include, getting started with an IDE, basics of programming in Python, and Hello World in 10 languages. The field of software engineering is growing at an estimated rate of 22% according to the US Bureau of Labor and Statistics. In addition to aspiring software engineers, front-end, back-end, full stack developers and DevOps professionals, this course is also suitable for those in related careers such as Product and Project Managers, IT Managers, Information Developers, UI/UX designers and others who communicate and interact with software engineers. You will learn about the different job opportunities and possible career paths in the software engineering field and also hear from industry professionals about what they do on a day-to-day basis. Professionals in the software engineering field are in great demand and now is a great time to learn more about this exciting domain. Start by enrolling now!...

Top reviews

LA

Jan 11, 2024

This course is the best introduction course in Coursera in terms of learning everything you need to know about Software Development. You will feel like a pro after completing this course.

DP

Apr 23, 2023

Great course for anyone wanting to get into Software Engineering, or a great refresher for those who have SE experience but need to fill in any gaps they may have. Highly recommended!

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 184 Reviews for Introduction to Software Engineering

By Obimba S C

Aug 20, 2023

This Introductory course to Software Engineering was all-rounded. After taking this course, the information it delivers is well-rounded and fundamental for a beginner.

By Roy Y L

Jan 4, 2023

Simple enough to fast track the learning, while it still manages to maintain the depth levels which allows learner to grapsh the main aspects on software engineering

By Ernest K A

Mar 4, 2023

A great course by all standards, however, I didn't really enjoy the AI or computer generated voice that was reading the lecture notes. I'd prefer a real person took us through the course. I also enjoyed the industry people who gave their experiences in software development at the various work places

By mon m

Nov 21, 2022

This course is a must to enroll for beginners in software engineering. I really like the way they present the lecture, and the hands-on activity.

By Adam R

May 18, 2023

If you're into robot voice narration and 1980s style educational editing for laser disk productions, this flashback to the past is for you.

By Zachary W

Apr 22, 2023

Incredibly boring course. Presented by TikTok voice. A complete waste of time.

By Ruslan S

Apr 2, 2023

There were some errors in the practical exercies in coding.

And in some places the explanation was too abstract

By Alam

Feb 7, 2024

The course content is Awesome & i got the overview of the software industry quickly. But they use robot voice. I tried hard to keep focused but it very difficult to keep up with the robot presenter. A real human could made this things more pleasant.

By Sam M

May 13, 2023

This course was the best start off to honestly understand the fundamentals. It also entices to understand deeper about the history of programming. As this course advances, it really brings nostalgic fun thoughts to when I was young and played video games, tinkering around to understand how it responds. Now having interest to building apps on our daily smartphones.

By Mary M

Mar 20, 2023

Love how well structured and informative this course was. All lessons were clearly presented and had an awesome summary at the end of each. The instructors were very articulate which I appreciate. Thank you to the team for the amazing course, looking forward to the next!

By David P

Apr 24, 2023

Great course for anyone wanting to get into Software Engineering, or a great refresher for those who have SE experience but need to fill in any gaps they may have. Highly recommended!

By Saviour A E

Oct 9, 2022

This is a great course taught by industry experts.

I find the experts viewpoints very educating because it gives insight into how Software Engineers solve problems daily

By Tristan S

Mar 11, 2023

Well written and well put together. As someone who has zero experience in this field, I found there was certain terminology used that I didn't understand. I only found this in a few spots, where a certain term would be used that we hadn't gone over yet, so the subject matter just went over my head. If there was some sort of review at the end of a module, explaining words used during the module that we may not understand, it would be helpful. Easier said than done though, and I really did enjoy the course overall!

By Sunil D

Feb 25, 2023

A good introductory course. Instead of pure multiple choice mix in some analysis and essay questions otherwise it is just manily memorization

By Michael H

Aug 31, 2023

There was a lot of good and useful material; however, the course overall could have benefited from actual instructors. Throughout the course, there was basically one voice for all the lectures and it seemed to be a computerized AI voice as opposed to an actual instructor which made the lessons more monotone, more impersonal, less dynamic, and more difficult to follow.

By Brandon M

Apr 18, 2023

I think the course should focus more on programming first then show where it fits into the larger scheme of things rather than such a broad overview at first.

By Ondrej R

May 15, 2023

Very bad and very boring.

By Juan D

Aug 4, 2023

¡Me complace compartir mi opinión sobre el curso . La combinación de pruebas, videos detallados, imágenes ilustrativas y voces claras demuestra que el curso fue cuidadosamente diseñado para brindar una comprensión completa y efectiva del tema.

La inclusión de pruebas permite a los estudiantes poner a prueba su conocimiento y comprender sus áreas de fortaleza y aquellas en las que pueden necesitar más atención. Los videos bien explicados aseguran que los conceptos se presenten de manera clara y accesible, lo que facilita la comprensión de los temas más complejos. Las imágenes complementan la enseñanza al proporcionar un apoyo visual que refuerza los conceptos presentados.

El uso de voces claras agrega un toque humano y amigable a la experiencia de aprendizaje, lo que puede hacer que los estudiantes se sientan más comprometidos y conectados con el contenido. Una comunicación efectiva es fundamental en cualquier curso, y parece que este curso ha logrado eso.

By Saycred B D

Apr 2, 2024

I really enjoyed this course -it's a very "full-bodied" course providing A LOT of relevant and useful information around the subject of Software Engineering. At this point this is not my chosen specialty but after taking this course I feel so well informed in this area that this could be a viable option for me in future if I want to go in this direction. The material was very well explained and clearly narrated in the videos. Also the Glossary of Terms at the end was very focused and concise.

By Sherrissa W H

Dec 18, 2023

For an introductory course, it is quite comprehensive and it helps you to understand software development and responsibilities of different team members. If you are new to programming or software engineering and confused about which career path to follow, I recommend taking this course as it gives you an idea of the roles, job titles and responsibilities of different types of jobs in the software engineering field.

By Malik M A

Jul 6, 2023

Wonderful Course. Very informative. Everyone who wants to know about Software Engineering process, tools of trade, domains in software engineering and typical office activities of a software engineer must go through this course. I really want to pay thanks to the IBM team. They have really done a wonderful job. Designing a course like this requires a lot of hard work and dedication.

By Tonalli I G G

Mar 29, 2024

Excelente contenido, es muy entretenido y tiene exactamente lo que una persona egresada de una ingeniería en mecatrónica y que esta empezando en el mundo de la ingeniería de software necesita. Solo hay un pequeño detalle en algunas traducciones de los videos pero son solo algunos detalles, fuera de eso me pareció un curso muy ilustrativo

By Dhaval P

May 27, 2023

While I can't personally attest to the quality or effectiveness of the course, it is offered by IBM, a renowned technology company with expertise in software engineering. Reading reviews and feedback from previous learners who have taken the course can give you a better understanding of its value and relevance to your learning goals.

By Luiz F V

Dec 21, 2023

The introductory software engineering course provided a comprehensive and accessible overview of the essential fundamentals in the field. Covering key concepts such as the software development lifecycle, agile methodologies, and coding practices, it laid a solid foundation for understanding the software creation process.

By Von B M

Oct 6, 2022

This is my first cource from IBM and I have to say, I really liked it. It was fun, straight to the point, and no time wasted. I also liked the subtle touches of personal experiences, and insider viewpoints from experience software engineers from the industry. Overall, great course! I learned a lot.