Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Software Engineering

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Software Engineering by IBM

4.7
stars
941 ratings

About the Course

Are you curious about the lucrative field that is software engineering and how you might be a part of it? This is the course for you! By taking this course you will gain foundational knowledge of software development, programming, and the many exciting job roles and career paths that the IT industry offers. Learn about the power of the Software Development Lifecycle (SDLC), and modern software development frameworks methodologies like Agile and Scrum. Explore fundamental programming principles and foundations of design, architecture, and deployment. The course offers a number of labs that will help you get important hands-on experience. These include, getting started with an IDE, basics of programming in Python, and Hello World in 10 languages. The field of software engineering is growing at an estimated rate of 22% according to the US Bureau of Labor and Statistics. In addition to aspiring software engineers, front-end, back-end, full stack developers and DevOps professionals, this course is also suitable for those in related careers such as Product and Project Managers, IT Managers, Information Developers, UI/UX designers and others who communicate and interact with software engineers. You will learn about the different job opportunities and possible career paths in the software engineering field and also hear from industry professionals about what they do on a day-to-day basis. Professionals in the software engineering field are in great demand and now is a great time to learn more about this exciting domain. Start by enrolling now!...

Top reviews

LA

Jan 11, 2024

This course is the best introduction course in Coursera in terms of learning everything you need to know about Software Development. You will feel like a pro after completing this course.

DP

Apr 23, 2023

Great course for anyone wanting to get into Software Engineering, or a great refresher for those who have SE experience but need to fill in any gaps they may have. Highly recommended!

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 200 Reviews for Introduction to Software Engineering

By Gourab C

Feb 9, 2023

Great course and Amazing experience learning foundations of software engineering concepts

more topics could be covered as well

By Alaa A

Sep 8, 2023

I really learned a lot about software engineering and many other software stacks , thank you for this valuable information.

By Walter E F D

Sep 20, 2023

This is a good course to learn the basics of Software Engineering. The class activities and videos are really helpful.

By Ryk H

Jul 25, 2023

Great content and awesome to have experienced persons in the industry share their knowledge. Worth taking this course.

By Ashish S

Apr 23, 2023

THE LEARNING PERIOD WAS GOOD. THANKS TO IBM AND COURSERA FOR GIVING ME TO THIS PLATFORM FOR CHANGING MY LIFE GOAL.

By MUHAMMAD A

Apr 2, 2023

Perfect course to start learning as software engineering covering all the major aspects of software engineering.

By Silvia E C

Aug 4, 2023

Easy to follow and really enjoy the Insider's Point of View sections, its very motivating and promotes ideas.

By Marcell T

Jun 20, 2023

Best course so far. Clearly understandable. Live examples form the people who wok in the industry is great.

By Saturain V N

Sep 25, 2023

From this course I learned a lot about Software Engineering, That I never mind. It's an amazing course.

By Ana B

Aug 23, 2023

Great if you're changing a career to Software Engineering or you just want to refresh your knowledge.

By Dylan R

Mar 5, 2024

The Insider Special videos were very insightful and went above and beyond my expectations.

By 김영인

Jul 16, 2023

This Course is helpful to me because it introduces a lot of concepts of back end engineer.

By ngum a

Nov 7, 2022

A very effective and straight- forward course. I have attained so much in so little time.

By Leonardo H

Aug 3, 2023

Geat introduction for those who want to follow the path to become a Software Engineering!

By Bilal A

Apr 15, 2023

Very well organized easy to go and informational course.

Thank you very much coursera.

By Lubaina M

Sep 20, 2023

It is a good course for beginners who are looking to get into software engineering.

By Faisal S

Feb 22, 2023

Great in gaining new skills, knowledge, and Professional Practices for your future.

By ADAM A A A

Apr 10, 2024

This is really helpful me to write the simple note, easy to use and understanding.

By Shivam K

Sep 8, 2022

I found this course very helpful for basic understanding of software engineering.

By Danny J

Dec 5, 2023

Quality Introduction Course. Recommended for anybody interested into pursuing SWE

By khalid m

Mar 11, 2024

This course was really helpful to me because I had no idea what programming was.

By Al A (

Apr 5, 2024

The content kept things interesting and I can't wait to being the next course.

By Raj K N

Mar 3, 2024

Loved it and got knowledge more than enough to outshine myself in my college.

By Jorge U

Dec 31, 2023

Very well structured course , congratulations, It overpass my expectations

By Daniel G

Apr 11, 2023

Great course, I learned a lot about Software Engineering and Development!