Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Software Engineering

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Software Engineering by IBM

4.7
stars
930 ratings

About the Course

Are you curious about the lucrative field that is software engineering and how you might be a part of it? This is the course for you! By taking this course you will gain foundational knowledge of software development, programming, and the many exciting job roles and career paths that the IT industry offers. Learn about the power of the Software Development Lifecycle (SDLC), and modern software development frameworks methodologies like Agile and Scrum. Explore fundamental programming principles and foundations of design, architecture, and deployment. The course offers a number of labs that will help you get important hands-on experience. These include, getting started with an IDE, basics of programming in Python, and Hello World in 10 languages. The field of software engineering is growing at an estimated rate of 22% according to the US Bureau of Labor and Statistics. In addition to aspiring software engineers, front-end, back-end, full stack developers and DevOps professionals, this course is also suitable for those in related careers such as Product and Project Managers, IT Managers, Information Developers, UI/UX designers and others who communicate and interact with software engineers. You will learn about the different job opportunities and possible career paths in the software engineering field and also hear from industry professionals about what they do on a day-to-day basis. Professionals in the software engineering field are in great demand and now is a great time to learn more about this exciting domain. Start by enrolling now!...

Top reviews

LA

Jan 11, 2024

This course is the best introduction course in Coursera in terms of learning everything you need to know about Software Development. You will feel like a pro after completing this course.

DP

Apr 23, 2023

Great course for anyone wanting to get into Software Engineering, or a great refresher for those who have SE experience but need to fill in any gaps they may have. Highly recommended!

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 198 Reviews for Introduction to Software Engineering

By Michael R

Feb 28, 2024

Good

By Abarna .

Oct 28, 2023

Good

By Abdelmottaleb A

Oct 24, 2023

good

By Sarath P

May 22, 2023

good

By Nitish K

May 4, 2023

good

By Juan S

Jan 1, 2024

hi

By Shivam S

Jun 21, 2023

Nice

The Introduction to Software Engineering course was exceptional. The instructor's knowledge and teaching style were impressive, and the course materials were well-organized and relevant. The hands-on projects and interactive discussions enriched the learning experience. Overall, a highly recommended course for anyone interested in software engineering.

By Efraim S H

Aug 16, 2023

I could have rated this course 5 stars, but there's one thing I would like to point out. The course is good enough, but it is packed with a lot of theoretical presentations. It would have been more enjoyable if it was mixed with a good amount of practical activities to stimulate learning.

Nonetheless, I have learned a lot.

By Aisha S

Feb 18, 2024

This is a course full of definitions and some practice exercises involving python. There were some bugs in the exercises but, not a big deal. The instructors were very responsive and helpful. I really enjoyed learning about the software engineering careers in week 5.

By Refiloe M

Nov 25, 2022

I enjoyed this course and it made me gain more interest to want to learn more so I can execute in this career field. Except that i could not view the backend lecture in one of the video modules. i have been emailing the coursera team and still got no help.

By Fede S

Jun 3, 2023

El curso esta bastante bueno. Lo que me juega en contra es el no entender ingles.

Traduzco todo online pero muchas veces no entiendo expresiones o conceptos, por eso mismo trato de mirar video tutoriales en español en paralelo al curso.

By Hardy T

Dec 10, 2023

Pauses are needed when transitioning to different topics.. at times I guess we students get confused when does a sub topic start within the video and when does it end

By Sherly C h

Aug 24, 2023

For someone to simply understand what Software Engineering field comprises of and thus maybe plan their career path in this field, this is a good introductory course.

By Angel L

Nov 25, 2023

The content provided is quite useful for beginners because it covers the fundamental aspects of this field. I highly recommend it.

By MARTIN M

Oct 2, 2023

It is been quite a better learning and experience for me it has build my coding capabilities to the next better level

By Mohamed A H

Nov 28, 2023

Very Nice course, better have access to slides and needs more diagrams to explain the myriad of new terminoligies

By Aram

Mar 9, 2023

Very good course, incredibly in depth with content. However, I wish the lectures were less mono-tone.

By Hadrian d O

Feb 4, 2024

The course content is well done. Sound and animation at start and end of every video is unnecessary

By Kylon T

Nov 13, 2023

Quality Information. More Practical work needed so that the theory can be better mentally grasped.

By Guillermo C F

Oct 25, 2022

very well explain but a bit tedious, more exercises should be implemented

By Hichem D

Jul 29, 2023

A very good introduction to a field with a large skills to acquire

By Bapi M

Mar 1, 2024

It was a very useful course. It will help me a lot in the future.

By Mpumelelo M

Jan 26, 2023

Solid foundation to Software Engineering, all the void is gone...

By Bili V

Sep 28, 2023

good lessons but a little boring because of the AI voice

By v V

Nov 10, 2023

too many unnecessary details in some lessons