Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to User Experience Principles and Processes

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to User Experience Principles and Processes by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
1,495 ratings

About the Course

This UX course provides an introduction to the fields of UX research and design. Learners will gain an understanding of what is involved in UX research, including conducting interviews, evaluating systems, and analyzing systems using principles of good design. Learners will also learn about the work involved in UX Design, including the generation of promising design solutions and the creation of prototypes at multiple levels of fidelity. By interleaving successive phases of UX Research and Design, learners will see how to learn from inevitable mistakes and improve towards a product with a great UX. What you'll learn: - The skills needed for UX research and design
 - How UX researchers discover and assess user needs and assess possible designs
 - How to conduct a micro-usability test
 - How UX designers use sketching and prototyping to develop design concepts - How to incorporate a user-centered focus into the design process
 - Key features of human behavior and describe their impact on the design of interactive systems
 - Techniques for critiquing and designing interactive systems based on human capabilities and behavior
...

Top reviews

RK

Jul 25, 2020

I really liked completing this course. It has given me a push to start my own design journey. This is a very well planned syllabus and it is from my dream university made it even more special for me.

JG

May 24, 2020

Very well presented course. I took in alot of information. A little more guidance would have been helpful when completing the projects, but overall I am very pleased with this course and instructor.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 355 Reviews for Introduction to User Experience Principles and Processes

By Dasay s

Jun 8, 2021

This course is very helpful for any UI Ux designer. it really leads you on the right path. i have learned many things like what are the principles, what are the key points to remember when you design any interface. thank Mr. Mark Newman.

By William W

Jun 20, 2022

This course is a fantastic introduction to the subject. The instructor does a great job of explaining what a user experience designer does, and how the field has developed. I finished the course even more excited to explore this field!

By Jose E P

Jun 22, 2023

Mark Newman is incredible. The course is brief and to the point. Everything that is covered is done exceptionally well. Further reading is provided if more learning is desired. Great start to the specialization in user experience.

By Ismini P

Mar 6, 2020

I couldn't think of a better introduction to the field of UX. I am very pleased with the course content, structure and delivery. It inspired me to keep learning about the subject. Many thanks to Dr Newman and everyone involved.

By Emmanuel O

Mar 15, 2023

I learnt a lot about understanding what great product use as a foundation for their product experiences, my tutor was clear and illustrative. also, the bonus lesson of talking to renowned UX professionals was very insightful.

By Jessica C

Oct 10, 2019

Great intro. Engaging and interesting, with fun but doable practical projects. I feel I've already learnt some important skills for UX research and design, as well as getting an intro to the basic concepts and underpinnings.

By Eunice M

Jan 18, 2021

Fue un poco tedioso aprender todas estas cosas porque no están directamente relacionadas con mi área, tuve que hacer 2 veces las últimas tareas, pero pude comprender y aprender mejor. Es un buen curso, muy bien explicado.

By Luong T

Feb 23, 2021

If you a new member in this field, please don't hesitate to join this course!

You will approach step by step to understand UX design/research and can apply immediately after the course to evaluate your current product.

By Tatiana P

Jul 25, 2020

Great content and speaker way of content delivery is exceptions. I appreciate tasks included in the Grade - help to jump into the topics and use learnings in practice and really think it thru to understand in depth

By Oserefemhen A

Sep 20, 2019

This course was hugely insightful, helping in strengthening my understanding of the core principles of User Experience research. I'm grateful to Mark and the guests who spoke on User Experience design and research.

By Ketan T

Jun 21, 2021

Great and very in depth introduction into the principles of UX Research and Design. Would highly recommend to anyone who wants to start understanding UX. Looking forward to Course 2 of this specialisation.

By Katherine G

Jul 7, 2020

This is a great class that you can not only learn the basics of UX design but also learn how to use these principles immediately. Perfect for anyone looking to get into product management or UX design.

By Earle P

Jun 14, 2021

Wonderful course! Lots of valuable information is provided. Professor Mark Newman is an excellent teacher. I wasn't sure if I should attend the course but I'm glad I did. Learned a lot!

Earle Phillips

By Juan M F

Jul 19, 2023

Simply put, you are sitting in user point of view while looking up a web page. The way your design becomes eye catching for reaching high performance of the page and get users to come back.

By Daniel C

Nov 22, 2023

The course is great the only thing that bothers me is the system used to evaluate student's exercises. Most people don't give feedback they only write simple answers like "good, nice, ok".

By VENEGAS C L

Sep 21, 2021

I really liked the course very much, it is very well structured and with current content. I would have liked feedback from the professionals, but other than that I highly recommend it.

By Priyanka D

Jun 29, 2020

The course is easy to understand & the assignments are very challenging but helps you to apply the skills you learn. Gain very useful knowledge. The instructors are simply amazing!

By Carlos J B A

Jan 9, 2019

A rewarding experience because I have been able to learn very valuable information. It is an excellent course. It has helped me in the personal and professional field. Thank you.

By Alberto S

Nov 15, 2019

Exciting start to understanding UX. I am looking to enter the industry and this course gave me a nice, yet brief, look into what UX designers and researchers generally do.

By Yeunji K

Oct 13, 2022

I love this course!. This is very systematic and helpful and contains the theoretical content of UX that I wanted to learn. I strongly recommend this course to everyone.

By Loraine A M

Nov 2, 2021

The course was a good introduction to user experience. I learned a lot and was able to do the course at my own pace. I appreciate this aspect as I have a full-time job.

By Jerley J C H

Jan 22, 2020

Great introduction to the world of UX! Certainly, more workload than expected for online courses, but totally worth it considering the knowledge and skills gained.

By Thais X G

Oct 16, 2020

Excellent, the way the content is explained is exceptional, learning a lot from this course, thank you to all lecturers for putting together this amazing resource

By Paola T

Jun 23, 2020

The course is very well organised, explaination is clear and the exercises are very useful. I feel like I really learnt a new thing and I feel fine! Thank you

By Shalini Y

May 31, 2020

I loved the assignment and course content. This course was amazing, but the faculty interaction was missing. Peers do not judge our assignments thoroughly.