Chevron Left
Back to IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts

IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts , Google

4.8
2,255 ratings
361 reviews

About this Course

This course covers a wide variety of IT security concepts, tools, and best practices. It introduces threats and attacks and the many ways they can show up. We’ll give you some background of encryption algorithms and how they’re used to safeguard data. Then, we’ll dive into the three As of information security: authentication, authorization, and accounting. We’ll also cover network security solutions, ranging from firewalls to Wifi encryption options. Finally, we’ll go through a case study, where we examine the security model of Chrome OS. The course is rounded out by putting all these elements together into a multi-layered, in-depth security architecture, followed by recommendations on how to integrate a culture of security into your organization or team. At the end of this course, you’ll understand: ● how various encryption algorithms and techniques work as well as their benefits and limitations. ● various authentication systems and types. ● the difference between authentication and authorization. ● how to evaluate potential risks and recommend ways to reduce risk. ● best practices for securing a network. ● how to help others to grasp security concepts and protect themselves....

Top reviews

By DS

Apr 26, 2018

Great course that is full of useful information and presented in an easy to understand way. It's an awesome beginner course that will add to your knowledge and further your knowledge of IT security.

By DS

Aug 17, 2018

This course was insane, all the possibilities, the potential for growth, and the different ways to help protect against cyber attacks. It was truly an eye-opening lesson in security. Thank you.

Filter by:

358 Reviews

By KAMIL JAMBARA SHAIBU

Apr 25, 2019

Good content.

By Tonny Rutakirwa

Apr 22, 2019

Exceptional Content

By Bright Ibrahim Mohammed

Apr 21, 2019

The best thing ever! This course has increased my confidence in real world and up-to-the-second skills for job readiness

By Aaron C. Combs

Apr 18, 2019

I would have liked more hands on activities in this course. Other than that, there is a ton of information. Good course.

By Vansh Thukral

Apr 18, 2019

The attitude of the teachers is great and their knowledge makes this course a fun experience. :)

By Mikael Setianto Fariadi

Apr 17, 2019

Sweet..... taught a lot about cyber security.

By Tanner Jacob Thomas Patterson

Apr 17, 2019

These were pretty cool courses that offer a lot of knowledge but the part where that talk about getting you information out to companies to help you start your career is fully true. They send you a survey that you select the companies you would like to share you information with out of they're selection, and that's it. There is no other follow up or anything as far as I've seen but I've been done with the program for workin on four months no with no other leads to helping me start my career. So it's great maybe to help boost a career you're already in but DO NOT TAKE THIS COURSE if you are using it to help START a career. Hope this helps some people out like me looking for a way into the industry.

By Dionmy Altagracia Castillo Díaz

Apr 14, 2019

Gracias a este curso, he conseguido nuevas herramientas y abilidades que antes no tenía y he afianzado las que ya tenia. Me ha hecho más conciente sobre la prevención en Internet, pero, a la vez, muy desconfiada, especialmente sobre descargar apps de otra organización. (Sólo descargo apps que pertenezcan a Google).

By Erin Bussear

Apr 14, 2019

An excellent series of lessons on the history, present, and future state of technology security. I appreciated the insight as to where security is headed. This is a vital beginner's course for any IT professional.

By Tanner Bladine

Apr 13, 2019

Overall, their are an abundance of new terms that I learned. This was a challenge, but in the end, It was well worth it.