Chevron Left
Back to English for Journalism

Learner Reviews & Feedback for English for Journalism by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
stars
1,947 ratings
646 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to English for Journalism, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in developing the skills needed for a career in modern journalism. In this course, you will explore print and digital media through authentic readings and video lectures, while expanding your vocabulary and increasing your ability to read, research, and develop local and global news stories. Unit 1 will provide an introduction to the history and principles of journalism. In unit 2, you will learn how to research, pitch, and interview. The next unit in the course will focus on the language needed to write newspaper and magazine articles, while unit 4 will cover the basics of broadcasting the news. In the final unit of the course, you will analyze the growth, impact, and challenges of digital news, while completing a reflection assignment that allows you to think about and discuss the recent changes to the field of journalism. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

Top reviews

CS
Jul 12, 2020

I'm grateful for this course because I've gained different essential skills especially about journalism. Thank you Coursera and University of Pennsylvania for this great and unforgettable opportunity.

MA
Feb 18, 2020

I have found this course quite informative about the knowhow of journalism. Now I've come to know the principles of journalism and what are the skills needed for writing or broadcasting news stories.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 625 Reviews for English for Journalism

By Bakhtawar B

Sep 4, 2020

First of all, thanks to those who made a course consisting of a lot of learning materials for non-native students. Then thanks to course instructors that made the course are interested.

By Georgios V

Nov 17, 2016

NOTHING like described, NOT EASY for non native english speakers as described

extremely misleading..

By Tyrone C B

Mar 25, 2020

instructors are unbearable to watch

By Bairma D

Sep 6, 2016

I am having deep pleasure to have classes of this course! I am from Russia, Moscow city and this course is followed and controlled by the American Center volunteers under support of the Embassy of the U.S. in Russia. Teachers and the way they teach listeners with the Journalism concepts and its principles are very clear, interesting and fun! Now I am on the 4th week and we have already written a small article that was assessed by the same listeners as you from all over the world. It is really great platform not only to get knowledge but also share your ideas. I really appreciate hard working attempts of speakers who lead the course! A big thank you from Russian listeners!

By Bonnie W

Jun 12, 2018

The syllabus was awesome. The two professors were amazing. They could convey concepts in a way you could retain the information long after the course. That was a major feat. When I watch a news program on CNN or BBC now, the terms I have learned from the course literally jump at me, such as, "the 24-hour news cycle is presenting a human interest story on the untimely death of Anthony Bourdain". I appreciate news reporting with new eyes and ears. I never thought I would need a refresher course on grammar, but I picked up a lot of useful pointers from the language use section. It is a brilliant course!

By VS R

Aug 31, 2020

I am really touched by the way the course content is designed. Special thanks to John Cotton, Eve Nova Litt. Their diction is awesome and the content out lay is superb. one question to them after learning this course can we take the role of the Journalist, Blog writer . Indian council for Working Journalists do recognize this certification is my concern. Other wise my special thanks to Pennsylvania State University for giving me this opportunity to study, learn, strengthen the skills of my desire.

By 雷凯虹

Nov 29, 2016

I think course has a great influence on me because I am a student majors in journalism and communication,so I need to improve my skills on it.The course has tought me a lot of professional skills about pitching,writing,broadcasting and so on,I had a complete learning about news.But there is an error through checking others' homework which is someone give grades freely and have no responsibility baout others,so I think it is necessary to rigid some rules to restrain somenone's behavior.

By Johnoy D

Apr 6, 2020

I really enjoyed doing this course. I aspire to become a journalist in the future and this course gave me a fair understanding of things like the principles of Journalism, how it began, the challenge of the Digital Era and how it differs from the Traditional Era. All valuable information that I will take with me in future studies. I would recommend this course to anyone seeking to enter into the field of Journalism or for persons who has a desire to improve their English.

By Verónica B

Mar 26, 2017

El curso es bastante completo, las actividades por unidad son muy buenas, interactivas y me parece excelente que tenga actividades y lecturas extras para practicar un poco más. Propongo un nivel dos de este curso de inglés en el que se traten temas como periodismo de investigación, de datos y de análisis. El vocabulario sería más extenso y técnico y ayudaría a personas que ya llevan tiempo en esta profesión ¡Gracias por permitirme formar parte de este curso!

By Samuel O

Aug 1, 2020

The course took me on a absorbing journey by simplifying what would have been a difficult task to embark on. Right from get go, objectives were outlined without ambiguity. I found the teaching module enriching to say the least. I gained a lot though I wasn't a rookie in journalism before going through the course, the experience has helped enormously in broadening my frontiers and scaling up my news reporting skills. It was simply awesome!

By Yashovardhan S

Jul 15, 2020

The course (English for Journalism) was invaluable as it enabled me to develop a better understanding of the basics of English writing for journalistic assignments, the

various important principles of Journalism that must be followed & the various aspects of news reporting. The course content was lucid in style which made it easy to understand and allowed me to test my knowledge at each stage. I am extremely happy that I enrolled.

By Joanna M K

May 10, 2020

The best online course! A repetition of knowledge from journalism and learning English in one. I am delighted! Thank you to the lecturers. Although we didn't meet in person, I have the impression that I know you! I hope that I will still be able to take another course at such a high level. I am particularly grateful for the funding. This was very useful, especially in times of epidemics. Thank you Penn and thank you Coursera!

By MD I A T

Jun 12, 2020

If you here to report a review for the course then here it goes.

1. This course for both English and journalism

2. The basics ethics of journalism would be taught

3. English lessons are worthy and in most recent form

4. Assessment and game is the best part to cheek the learning ability

4. It is for all in this digital world.

I suggest this course to be persuade by everyone irrespective of age and educational background.

By Ibtihal A B A Y A

Jul 30, 2018

A highly informative, applicable& easy to follow course by absolutely knowledgeable professors. The thorough, well-organized& engaging course content reflects the the professionalism & the extensive knowledge of the professors in this field. Really looking forward to enrolling in other courses by the same professors & University of Pennsylvania. Thank you so much for giving me the opportunity to learn from you.

By Nicholas D N

Oct 11, 2020

This course has been wonderful. It has equipped me with the right skills and education i need to improve as a Media Sociologist. I'm grateful to the Instructors, the University of Pennsylvania, through the COURSERA platform, for providing some of us this opportunity. This is the right platform in my mind to grow, especially for journalists.

THANK YOU ALL... Nicholas Dweh Nimley, from Monrovia, Liberia.

By Terezia T

May 25, 2020

In the beginning I was a bit afraid, but then I realized that this course is going to be full of interesting things and a new eprencie for me. I like journalism, however this is not my profession. I do like writing about different topics and I am glad that I could have improved my English during this course. Well recommended for everyone who are interested in news and happenings all around the world.

By Giulia Z

Oct 17, 2017

I think this is a really good course for those who want to be introduced to the world of journalism! It helps you to improve your english language skills and to develope your journalistic skills and knowledge. You can really learn a lot. The two instructor are really competent and they teach you this world in a way that is very understandable. I really enjoy this course and I recommend it very much!

By Ilona G

Apr 20, 2017

I really liked this course! It's perfect for the beginning journalists or people wishing to gain new qualifications. Although 15-years education, my English got improved by a new (mainly journalistic) vocabulary I hadn't known before. The biggest advantage is the fact, this course doesn't include only lectures and quizzes, but also practical exercises of creative writing.

By Timothy D

Apr 2, 2020

The Coursera and University of Pennsylvania's English for Journalism was a great structured course that covered the principles of journalism, how to interview, broadcasting, while also improving overall writing skills. I used this course as a knowledge top-up, and found it extremely beneficial and would recommend to anyone looking to improve their journalism skills.

By Ashot B

Sep 17, 2019

This is my first on-line course and the first acquaintance with the American educational system. I am quite impressed. I like all the stuff that I met - content, teachers speech manner, logic, structure, approach, the combination of lectures, texts to read and tests. I am really grateful to the Coursera team and Penn University as well. You do a great job!

By Claudia M d C

Mar 27, 2017

Very interesting course!!!! Thank you so much really!!! i have learn many interesting thinks, like principles of journalism, create a pitch, digital media, citizen journalism, traditional media , review grammar and form verbs that i didnt remember !! really thank you so much for this great oportunity !! Very recomended course !! Hugs everybody !!

By sophia k g

Jun 2, 2020

For me, this course really taught me a lot of things such as writing a pitch, making an article and knowing the principles. It really is something since I didnt know a single thing about journalism and after taking this course, I've gained more knowledge than i ever had! 10/10 recommended for those people who really finds interest in journalism.

By Attakorah I

Sep 9, 2019

Over the years, I have been studying on different online course sites. And I am proud to say, COURSERA is the best online course site I have access so far. Good Tutors, quality videos graphics, you get chance to share you views with your peers, it also help you to know how best you understand a topic with after topic quiz. So nice and perfect.

By Anoushka S

Jul 13, 2020

Amazing teachers! The teaching and the video animation made the grasping the concepts really easy. The projects were designed really well and were a major contributor to the entire learning experience. The multiple choice questions at after every video lecture helped with registering what I learnt into my memory and testing my understanding!

By Jinto M

Sep 3, 2019

The course gives the learner a good introduction to the field of journalism. It gives the history and principles of journalism and the art of writing for media. Moreover, the course is useful for a beginner as it provides one with the information regarding the use of tenses and different words in a media writing. It improves language skills.