Chevron Left
Back to English for Journalism

Learner Reviews & Feedback for English for Journalism by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
stars
1,947 ratings
646 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to English for Journalism, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in developing the skills needed for a career in modern journalism. In this course, you will explore print and digital media through authentic readings and video lectures, while expanding your vocabulary and increasing your ability to read, research, and develop local and global news stories. Unit 1 will provide an introduction to the history and principles of journalism. In unit 2, you will learn how to research, pitch, and interview. The next unit in the course will focus on the language needed to write newspaper and magazine articles, while unit 4 will cover the basics of broadcasting the news. In the final unit of the course, you will analyze the growth, impact, and challenges of digital news, while completing a reflection assignment that allows you to think about and discuss the recent changes to the field of journalism. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

Top reviews

CS
Jul 12, 2020

I'm grateful for this course because I've gained different essential skills especially about journalism. Thank you Coursera and University of Pennsylvania for this great and unforgettable opportunity.

MA
Feb 18, 2020

I have found this course quite informative about the knowhow of journalism. Now I've come to know the principles of journalism and what are the skills needed for writing or broadcasting news stories.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 625 Reviews for English for Journalism

By Sarah K

Jun 30, 2020

I learned so much from this course. I love writing, but have never explored journalism before. It helped me greatly with my writing skills. The structure of the course is also great because the videos aren't long, but are still packed with information. I highly suggest taking this course if you enjoy journalism or simply writing in general.

By Anil K P

Sep 28, 2020

Very good course. Trainers do this course so easy and understandable. I completed this course, but I'm not able to take certificate due course fee. I take this course for revision and language is English.

Excellent course for professional. I'm Master in Journalism from University of Lucknow, India, but I gain from this course.

Thanks a lot.

By Abdulrazak W

May 15, 2020

I have learned immensely about the basics of journalism. It's not all black and white when it comes to selling stories to the public. They are a lot of areas as well. You have to make sure you have the right information and facts from people themselves to make it believable. It has greatly helped with my grammar and writing skills as well.

By victor_julio555@hotmail.com

Mar 20, 2017

Thank you so much for the knowledge and for the time. The university of Pennsylvania and Coursera have provided the right space to share intercultural learning. I also want to thank everyone else whom make this dream possible. For this reason I wish to thank all of our teachers and staff for your commitment and determination.

By Geethanjali

Aug 3, 2020

It was my pleasure learning from the University of Pennsylvania.The staffs were too cool and also helped me to develop and correct my mistakes.Also my vocabulary has been developed and has given me the courage to talk boldly and in the proper manner.Thank you very much to my staffs and friends and will keep learning more.

By Mohammed E R

May 14, 2020

I really very thrilled to have such course, I love learning English language as I am not native English, and also like very much the work of journalism. this course helped me and provided me with many English terminologies and enhanced my vocabulary , as well as gave me a push to pursue my journalism studies.

Thank you!

By Nadya A

Sep 7, 2020

I've gained many new information and knowledge through this course. The videos are certainly understandable, which makes it easier and more fun to do the quizzes and assignments. Would highly recommend this course to anyone interested in journalism, writing, English grammar, articles, reporting the news.

By Martyna d L Á

Jul 9, 2020

This was my first course at Coursera, I think I couldn't do better, it was an amazing course, the course structure is very well organized, in the way that you can understand all topics easily. I highly recommend this course to anyone who wants to improve their English skills and get into journalism.

By Jacqueline d C P A

Oct 7, 2016

El curso English for Journalism, es de alta calidad, ha sido bien diseñado en cuanto a su pedadogía, sus recursos didácticos son los más apropiados para este tipo de curso. El staff de profesores demuestra profesionalismo y paciencia y mucha equidad con los participantes. Es altamente recomendable.

By Bernard K H L

Apr 20, 2020

The course is structured in an easy to learn. The test and the assignments are all geared for learners to be a stepping stone to become citizen journalists. I enjoy the learning processed here and I strongly recommends to those who aspire to become journalist, take this course. You'll love it.

By Steve H

Sep 23, 2019

I loved the structure of this course. The teachers were charismatic, well-paced, and it was easy taking the right notes that would help me through the assessments. Emphasis was put on the right notions, and I found this course very interesting. I learned a lot and it will help me in my career.

By Bruna C

May 11, 2020

The course was easy to follow because the teachers explain well the concepts of Journalism. Engagement among students helps you develop your writing and critical thinking skills. I recommend this to anyone who wants to enter the journalism world or anyone who wants to improve their writing.

By Jomari P C S

Jun 14, 2018

It was my first time to engage in this kind of online classroom, and it felt really amazing as I learned a lot of things that could develop my competencies in both writing and expressing my ideas objectively. It also helped me to improve my skills on being attentive and cautious to details.

By Giovanni T

Sep 22, 2016

Superou minhas expectativas!!! Realmente me ajudou a conhecer novas palavras e a praticar meu inglês. Pude estudar o que estou vendo na faculdade de Jornalismo em uma segunda língua. As atividades de vídeo e texto exigiram dedicação e trouxeram bastante aprendizado. Parabéns pelo curso.

By Raja H R N

Feb 6, 2018

Very informative ,practical and useful course for those who wants to improve their knowledge of journalism and English. This course provides many practical skills regarding journalism. It is more than just a Language improvement course, rather it is very practical. Highly recommended.

By ALEXANDRA

Jul 30, 2017

Un curso muy completo y bien estructurado. En cada unidad hay audios, lecturas y vídeos que hacen más amenos los módulos que se realizan cada semana. Merece la pena hacerlo, a mí me ha encantado y he aprendido mucho y refrescado otras materias periodísticas en inglés. ¡Un 10 de curso!

By María B B

Mar 24, 2017

I've learned to comprehend the media. We worked with which skills are needed in order to be a journalist these days and nowadays facts. We also learned grammar. Amazing and interesting course! I want to thank the University of Pennsylvania and the intstructors for always being clear.

By Ruvic L

Oct 22, 2016

This course made me realized that I can do better. I achieved and acquired more knowledge and eventually be used in my career. I am extending my gratitude to Coursera for giving me a once in a life time opportunity to receive a certificate that I will be holding and carrying forever.

By Antonio V

May 17, 2020

This course is fantastic and competently delivered. I enjoyed every minute of the program. The instructor are superb and make the learning process engaging and interactive. Thank you so much for making a huge difference in my understanding of how journalism works,

Antonio Londa Vueba

By Sumantika B

May 25, 2020

This was a very well presented and clearly explained course. I have thoroughly enjoyed the process of studying and completing it, I leave well informed about the different aspects of journalism and a better understanding of the english language. Thank you so much for everything.

By Balint C

Dec 10, 2017

It is an amazing course. You can learn a lot of really useful grammar structures and ideas how to

write good articles in English. Moreover, you are able to learn a lot about journalism from different angles. And I personally really loved that the course is really well-structured.

By Imane S

Sep 17, 2016

This was my first experience on coursera.org certainly not the last one i hope. I loved this course and i have learned a lot journalism. Huge thanks to our professors John and Eve and to all the staff that made this experience a success.

Best regards to you all from Morocco.

By nia u

Sep 9, 2020

This course helps me to gain a better understanding on the basic concept of journalism. It also provides english's vocabularies and grammar commonly used in journalism. By completing this course I hope that I could build a better career pathway on media and communication.

By RABIAH A

May 30, 2020

I enjoyed studying with you and I wish you the best in your work. I find The English Journalism course very interesting. It helps me to improve my English skills and knowledge of Journalism at the same time.

Specially Thanks to Teaching staff, manager, Editor, peers, etc..

By halwan j s

Mar 31, 2017

This course taught me a lot about English language, with all the principles of the press and the history of journalism by the present era.I am very very happy to participate in this course I hope in the following times I have a chance to participate in the next course