Chevron Left
Back to English for Journalism

Learner Reviews & Feedback for English for Journalism by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
stars
2,099 ratings
696 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to English for Journalism, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in developing the skills needed for a career in modern journalism. In this course, you will explore print and digital media through authentic readings and video lectures, while expanding your vocabulary and increasing your ability to read, research, and develop local and global news stories. Unit 1 will provide an introduction to the history and principles of journalism. In unit 2, you will learn how to research, pitch, and interview. The next unit in the course will focus on the language needed to write newspaper and magazine articles, while unit 4 will cover the basics of broadcasting the news. In the final unit of the course, you will analyze the growth, impact, and challenges of digital news, while completing a reflection assignment that allows you to think about and discuss the recent changes to the field of journalism. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

Top reviews

CS
Jul 12, 2020

I'm grateful for this course because I've gained different essential skills especially about journalism. Thank you Coursera and University of Pennsylvania for this great and unforgettable opportunity.

MA
Feb 18, 2020

I have found this course quite informative about the knowhow of journalism. Now I've come to know the principles of journalism and what are the skills needed for writing or broadcasting news stories.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 677 Reviews for English for Journalism

By Rizal J

Jan 1, 2017

Best Courses, this is one of the best course, the structure of material is good, easy to understand especially for me because i dont have any experience in Journalism

By Naomi E O

Apr 8, 2021

Very well-organized and interesting content. The games and assessment activities keep me engaged and allow me to apply what I have learned. It was an awesome course!

By Arlis A

Jul 4, 2020

Best course so far I have taken. I learned about the ABC’s of journalism and also improved the English language. Strongly recommended.

Cheers,

Arlis Alikaj

Albania

By Jeferson L N

Jun 9, 2020

This course is fantastic. I have been a journalist for over 8 years and I could learn a lot, especially when it comes to the English language. I deeply recommend it!

By K

Apr 11, 2020

Phenomenal! Great instructors. :) The professors are excellent! They made the topic understandable and easy to digest. I learned tons from this course. Thank you!

By Ana M P

Sep 5, 2016

Great, very useful info that I could understand even if English is not my first language. I truly recommend it for anyone in fields like Journalism, PR or Marketing.

By Pham T N D

Feb 7, 2020

Thanks for this course, I have learned a lot about Journalism. Hope you will improve better and anyone will have interesting experience when joining in this course.

By tripti m m

Sep 27, 2017

The course is really good and has the ability to create responsible, effective, objective, accountable citizen journalists in today's ever expanding digital world.

By Olive S L

Sep 23, 2016

Awesome experience!

The teachers are cool and effective as they simplify the complicated concepts of journalism.

Thanks a lot for the sharing our learning!

More power!

By Jayshal S

Jun 6, 2017

I am astonished how well this course is structured and presented! I learned a lot. This is a great step to produce quality journalists. I wish you all the best!

By Sarah I

Jun 20, 2021

Such a wonderful app, it helped me a lot to know almost all the aspects of journalism. Thanks to the University of Pennsylvania for giving me this opportunity.

By Pilar B

May 31, 2021

This course was excellent. I never imagined i could learn so much about my professional career through an online formation. Thanks for democratizing knowledge!

By Khalil u R K

Aug 28, 2018

I am truly glad to learning English for Journalism, new aspects, new areas of modern electronic media etc , and will definitely recommend it to people I know.

By Ilya R

Aug 16, 2017

It was a good introductory course on journalism for the beginner. I recommend it to you if you want to understand media and think about journalist profession.

By Плешков А О

Apr 19, 2020

Thank you so much John and Eve! You are incredible fellows! I hope that a new audience will find you and the course will become even more popular! Good luck!

By Astrophel S

Aug 4, 2020

Excellent source of knowledge to polish english language skill for Journalists or Journalist to be whose native language is not English. Highly recommended.

By Fozia K

May 14, 2017

It's great opportunity for all those people who couldn't manage to complete their education...

I really enjoyed learning and different mental assessments....

By Sharumathi K R

Jan 31, 2017

Really a helpful and informative course. A way to enhance both journalism skills and English Language. It has a good timeline of the lesson and assignments.

By Priscilla P

Sep 17, 2016

The course is great! I loved! The contents are in line with the current reality of Journalism. Congrats to the teachers and the Pennsylvania University. :)

By Xènia P C

Sep 28, 2020

It is surely a good way to improve your communication skills and your journalistic vocabulary if you are not familiar with the field! I really enjoyed it!

By Ajay M

Apr 30, 2017

English for Journalism is a very good course to be done by any journalist. The trainers and faculties were very co-operative. Thank you for their support.

By Michiko H

Sep 16, 2016

This course is good for my English ability. A lot of people all over the world entry this course,and I could read the stories they wrote. The experience

By Zoya R

Jul 31, 2020

I enjoyed the course a lot. Everything is legible and thorough. We could have taken some photos, as journalists often have to do this in printing press.

By Vanesa d P N A

Jun 8, 2020

Me parece que es un curso muy didáctico, que deja grandes enseñanzas y está muy bien estructurado.

Muchas gracias por hacer estos espacios pedagógicos.

By Dasarathan

Mar 10, 2021

This course is my first step in to the online learning platform. Yes, I have learnt abundantly from this course! Hope to learn more in coming future.