Chevron Left
Back to English for Journalism

Learner Reviews & Feedback for English for Journalism by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
stars
1,986 ratings
659 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to English for Journalism, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in developing the skills needed for a career in modern journalism. In this course, you will explore print and digital media through authentic readings and video lectures, while expanding your vocabulary and increasing your ability to read, research, and develop local and global news stories. Unit 1 will provide an introduction to the history and principles of journalism. In unit 2, you will learn how to research, pitch, and interview. The next unit in the course will focus on the language needed to write newspaper and magazine articles, while unit 4 will cover the basics of broadcasting the news. In the final unit of the course, you will analyze the growth, impact, and challenges of digital news, while completing a reflection assignment that allows you to think about and discuss the recent changes to the field of journalism. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

Top reviews

CS
Jul 12, 2020

I'm grateful for this course because I've gained different essential skills especially about journalism. Thank you Coursera and University of Pennsylvania for this great and unforgettable opportunity.

MA
Feb 18, 2020

I have found this course quite informative about the knowhow of journalism. Now I've come to know the principles of journalism and what are the skills needed for writing or broadcasting news stories.

Filter by:

576 - 600 of 639 Reviews for English for Journalism

By CRISTINA B

Aug 24, 2020

Relevant material, well planned course, linguistically fitted for different levels of English .

The assignments are challenging but it would have been appropriate also to receive a final evaluation by an academic, in particular in article writing.

By Лапина М М

Nov 14, 2016

The course will be interesting for those who don`t have specific knowledge about journalism. The vocabulary is rather useful, but sometimes very simple. The teachers are great - I didn`t have any problems with understanding! Thanks a lot!

By Deepa M N

Dec 2, 2016

Through this course, I was able to learn the basics of Journalism and apply it in my job as well. The professors explain everything clearly with good examples. The course is easy and understandable. Thank you all for a great course!

By Aldo R

May 31, 2020

Very helpful course to learn the basics of Journalism.

I personally already know and speak English, but I found it very friendly for non-English speakers.

Thank you to both teachers and everyone behind the course.

By Ava C

Jul 6, 2020

I enjoyed being apart of this learning experience. Thank you for my opportunity and I can say that this was a stepping stone in my life. This had made the door to my future open up a bit more. Thank you.

By Abdulrahman A

May 19, 2019

I really enjoyed this little course despite my Arabic tongue. It's very recommended for smoothing your communication skills (Printed or Broadcasting) and get chance to learn new journalism features.

By Kaithreen C

May 24, 2020

It helped me appreciate journalism and english a little better. It made my realized how important details are in journalism. I will always keep in mind the principles I have learned in this class.

By Tayyeb

Aug 3, 2017

An ideal course not only for aspiring journalists but also for those who have been practicing journalism for many years. I really like strategies for improving skills of writing and reporting.

By Guadalupe P

Sep 26, 2020

With this course, I learned to be more conscious about what happens in the world and how to communicate. I understood the basics of journalism. Would recommend for beginners.

By Kimmi I

Sep 12, 2016

I just started the course, but I feel like I am taking in a ton of knowledge that I have been craving to get for along time. Really happy that I have enrolled in this course.

By Ahmed G

Sep 20, 2016

it's a good course , but it could be offering more, like when we answer a questions wrongly, it could offer corrections and also we need more details with video journalism.

By Andrea T

Jan 20, 2020

The course is very didactic and quite useful to whom is starting a career in journalism. Although it is not that useful to whom is already acquainted with journalism.

By Suad G

Aug 6, 2019

Thank you. I have learned a lot and I feel happy that I have completed the course and passed. The course was designed very well and each unit was fruitful.

By Snehal S

Jun 25, 2020

I learned so many new terms in this course. New light on what is journalism and how important it is along with how it impacts the world in current times.

By Alexandra K

Aug 4, 2017

I really enjoyed doing the course, I found it to be well prepared and the information quite helpful and interesting. It was a bit too easy for me though.

By Madina S

Oct 16, 2019

Peer-graded assessments though... It was easier than I though it would be. But I recommend this course as a source of new flow of ideas and information.

By Ольга В

Nov 27, 2016

It's a good overview of journalism with interesting assignments. It'll be useful for those who knows nothing or not much about journalism.

By Abraham L

Apr 29, 2020

I liked very much, although I was looking for a more comprehensive one. I completed it anyway. Thank you for all the work included!

By Luong N N L

Jul 18, 2017

This course is very helpful.

I learnt many things.

I had a clear view about journalism.

Hope that you'll create many course like this.

By Jenny A

Jun 7, 2017

A useful course to practise your reading and comprehension skills in the English language even if you are not a journalist. :)

By JALASUTRAM S V P

Jun 20, 2020

After the completion of course there should be a real time internship similar activity to give the students more confidence.

By Michel M

Mar 26, 2018

Very easy course, but takes a lot of time. There is valuable information on TV, radio and printed newspapers writing styles.

By Sanna M

Jun 4, 2018

a great course for everyone who wants to learn something about journalism and improve their (basic) English skills.

By Napattra J

Jun 1, 2020

This course has been great! I had a blast. I just wish it was a little harder and more about in-depth things.

By Haydee A

Aug 26, 2020

Thank you for letting me learn about journalism. the course proved interesting and motivating. thanks again!