Chevron Left
Back to Know Thyself - The Value and Limits of Self-Knowledge: The Examined Life

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Know Thyself - The Value and Limits of Self-Knowledge: The Examined Life by The University of Edinburgh

4.6
stars
448 ratings
151 reviews

About the Course

According to legend, inscribed on walls of the temple on the sacred site of Delphi in Ancient Greece were two premier injunctions: NOTHING IN EXCESS, and KNOW THYSELF. This course will be an examination of the latter injunction in an effort to discover what self-knowledge is, why it might be valuable, and what, if any, limitations it might face. What is missing from a person lacking in self-knowledge that makes her less wise, virtuous, or competent in certain areas than others who have this capacity, and what if anything might she do to fill that gap? Historical sources as well as recent research in philosophy, experimental social psychology, and neuroscience will inform our investigation, in the course of which we will become students of our own dreams, and cultivate some meditative practices. Learning Outcomes: Learners will gain familiarity with prominent themes from Western, classical Chinese, and Buddhist approaches to our knowledge of ourselves. In the course of doing so, they will gain an appreciation of the relation of self-knowledge to wisdom, of the value of intellectual humility, as well as of methods of learning about oneself that do not depend on introspection. Learners will also become familiar with contemporary research in experimental social psychology, philosophy, and neuroscience into the emotions, the unconscious, the role of affect in decision making, and self-deception. They will also gain an appreciation of a challenge to the assumption of a coherent, unified self that derives from the Buddhist tradition. --- This course was created by a partnership between The University of Edinburgh and Humility & Conviction and Public Life Project, an engaged research project based at the University of Connecticut and funded by a generous grant from the John Templeton Foundation....

Top reviews

ST

Jun 20, 2020

Really in depth and easy to follow information on a great array of topics, philosophers and philosophies. I would highly recommend it to anyone with an interest of learning new knowledge .

DB

Jun 23, 2020

This is a well put together course. It is beneficial to borrow or purchase the course textbook. I enjoyed the course instructor and his use of meditation breaks every so often was great.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 155 Reviews for Know Thyself - The Value and Limits of Self-Knowledge: The Examined Life

By Jessica R

Jan 17, 2021

Great! Thanks.

By Gustavo A V A

Nov 19, 2021

I loved it!!

By Carol S

May 11, 2022

loved it!!!

By Mahonri B C

Nov 28, 2019

Excelente!!

By jorge q

Feb 15, 2022

Excellent!

By Dottie R

Jun 8, 2020

Brilliant!

By Jeanette A A

May 18, 2020

Excellent!

By George C M

Sep 4, 2018

Excellent.

By Darryl R

Jun 30, 2021

5 star.

By Aditya C

Aug 10, 2020

great!

By Thoria B F

Sep 7, 2018

ممتازة

By Gourav

Nov 1, 2020

good

By Bindu V S

Aug 16, 2020

good

By Vincent T

Apr 15, 2019

s

By Julie B

Mar 7, 2021

Thank you, the course was interesting and having done a little on the history of philosophy in the past, I enjoyed looking at some vaguely familiar theories from a different perspective. I think there was a good balance of material to cater for different learning styles and to introduce an element of variety (videos, further reading, topics for debate and quizzes) and the structure of the course, and my progress within it, was clear and logical. My only criticism is that the transcripts (in written English) of the video talks are not accurate and in some places become quite confusing and even suggest a meaning contradictory to what was actually said.

By S R R

Mar 1, 2022

Thanks a lot. I​ found the course very good and useful. The videos and accomapnying trxts are well planned and developed.

But for some reason it revolves around only western thinking and inclusion of eastern thinking especialy from Hinduism and Buddhiism would have taken the students much further on the road. Unlike western phylosophy which revolves around a few personalities, Indian thinking is so old that the authors' names are not specifically kniwn and goes by the generic name "seers".

By Tomas M

Mar 24, 2021

Very interesting presentation of competing ideas from philosophy and its history about what human mind can be. The material is organized chronologically, recent concepts about emotions are mentioned towards the end. Many links to to other interesting readings and podcasts are provided. Thank you prof. Green.

By Joe B

Mar 31, 2022

Some thought provoking videos and ideals brought forward. I enjoyed the variety of philosophers and ideologies that were presented. Maybe not for everyone but certainly could be intereting for anyone who thinks about purpose in life, self-awareness, and consciousness.

By P N A

Jun 4, 2020

More visuals and videos to explain the course content would have made teh course more interesting.

The videos with just the Porfessor speaking were sometime monotonous.

By Tatiana F M

Sep 4, 2018

Very interesting course and subject. There is much more to learn about it, I'm waiting for the next course to go deeper in the subject.

By Jonathan F

Feb 1, 2022

This course was fairly difficult requiring some effort, but it was worthwhile to gain a basic knowledge of western philosophy.

By Daniel H

May 18, 2021

Interesting introduction and overview for those from non-Philosophy background but are interested in it

By Ricardo R d P

Mar 15, 2021

I had the impression the emphasis was put on the limits, rather on the value of self-knowledge...

By Orianna S

Apr 23, 2020

The majority of the coursework is highly useful in daily life, which I greatly appreciated.

By louis f d m p s

Mar 17, 2019

Very interesting, I think it is a great start to the knowledge of thyself this background.