Chevron Left
Back to The Korean Economic Development

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Korean Economic Development by Yonsei University

4.8
stars
198 ratings
58 reviews

About the Course

You will review the evolution of the Korean economy decade by decade since Korea’s independence from Japan in 1945. Major policies of each decade will be explained and their effect on the Korean economy will be analyzed. Also, the backgrounds and limitations of important policies will be scrutinized. By doing so, you will be able to compare the Korea experience with the other developing countries’. 1. You will be able to explain how the miracle of the Korean economic development was made possible. 2. By examining internal and external conditions behind the decision making of major policies in Korea, you will be able to draw lessons that can be applicable to today’s developing countries. 3. You can explain how the Korean economy has interacted with the global economy in the past. 4. You can observe how economic theories and models can be applied to the Korean case....

Top reviews

NJ

Jul 01, 2017

This was a really fun course. I really enjoyed it a lot. I could understand easily. There wasnt too much of overwhelming information presented in a boring way. It was a really nice.

DH

Aug 24, 2018

This is an excellent background of Korea's History in economic area. You can take as example of poverty till development and see that correct decisions lead to a development future

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 58 Reviews for The Korean Economic Development

By Stephane F

Aug 23, 2020

Holistic comprehensive view of the Korean economic recent model.

Thank you Professor Lee Doo Won.

By Yani

May 31, 2016

I loved this course! It was really interesting to know how South Korea rose up from its ashes.

By Antonela M P

Aug 06, 2019

The professor is an excellent one, very clear and lessons are well organised and explained.

By Magdalena S

Mar 31, 2020

It was a great course! It presents the issue in a comprehensive and interesting way.

By 장정원

Feb 22, 2017

Explaining not only just the economic development also the social context in

By Jhoan A R S

Jul 30, 2020

the teacher and the course was so good, I recommended this course!

By Alexandra B

Jul 24, 2017

Excelente para saber no solo de la economía coreana sino mundial.

By Appah P

Sep 20, 2016

Really good course for understanding Korean Economic development

By Andres D C C

Nov 08, 2019

Excellent Course ! Thanks You Coursera and Yonsei University Aid

By Jonathan H

Jul 28, 2017

A fascinating topic well presented and clearly explained.

By Diego M

Aug 07, 2016

A great overview of the Korean Economic Development path.

By Pishenbay U

Mar 31, 2020

Exellent course content and design wise! Recommended!

By Tarcizio Z

Mar 22, 2018

Excellent. Great teacher and comprehensive course.

By Alexandre B

Jan 02, 2018

Great course with a lot of explanation !

By Yashwanth K

May 30, 2017

Superb course:)

By Nastia G

May 08, 2020

Great course

By Miguel G M

May 02, 2018

Good course.

By gilles

May 27, 2018

Great

By Ahmed M

Mar 23, 2019

The course provide me with a very good introduction to South Korean economic development. Well organized and materials are relevant. The Instructor has a very good understand of S. Korea model and he prepared this course in a good manner. Still, i was expecting more in depth examination at the last week but this may need separate course from the instructor. The idea that i highly recommend. I recommend this course

By Lilian N

Oct 09, 2019

I enjoyed completing this course and got a better insight into the (South) Korean development story. Aside from a couple of typos here and there, the material was very accessible and easy to go through even for people who may not have a background in macroeconomics. Professor Lee and his team did a great job.I would highly recommend this course to anyone interest in South East Asia.

By Afrin S

Oct 13, 2016

Though my educational background is not economics but I have taken this course out of my interest about Korea and made the right choice. I have enjoyed the course very much and learned a lot.

By Lydia

Aug 14, 2016

I like it a lot. I wish though that this website was better flowing with the lectures. I have to refresh multiple times to make sure the video is where it should be...idk how to explain it.

By Chu T H H

Jun 03, 2016

Thank you for offering this wonderful introductory course to understand Korea and Asia economy. I hope there will be an advanced course after this course.

By Zaidan A

Jul 27, 2020

This class was great for economics or non-economics student who want to learn about the Korean economic development time over time

By Carlos Z

Jun 19, 2017

It is very useful. This change the vision of the way that a developing country need to follow.