Chevron Left
Back to Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition by Arizona State University

4.9
stars
4,673 ratings
1,398 reviews

About the Course

In this course learners are introduced to second or foreign language theories and practices for teaching and assessing listening, speaking, and pronunciation. Learners will also be introduced to basic studies in second language acquisition and their pedagogical implications. Teachers will be invited to recognize the importance of grounding their own teaching philosophy through an examination of purpose, content, and technique....
Highlights
Applicable teachings
(121 Reviews)
Creatively designed course
(270 Reviews)

Top reviews

NZ
Jun 10, 2018

I'm really enjoying this course. I'm about half way through. I'm looking forrward to how the various courses in this series take me farther and farther into language learning theories and techniques.

MG
Sep 5, 2018

This was an entertaining way to learn the theories. Theories can be very dry and through the videos, I had a good visual of the different considerations when designing language learning experiences.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 1,363 Reviews for Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition

By Ngo T Q P

Jun 25, 2020

This course is amazing! It supports my teaching philosophy through learning different approaches. Now I know what technique are the best to apply into my classroom for the sake of my students.

By Purevsuren B

May 17, 2020

What an excellent way of teaching what could have been a rather boring subject of theories! I was not only learning the subject but also the manner of presentation and activating the learners.

By Elisa O

Jan 28, 2016

Excellent! The theme could be boring and so though to be taught but the teacher was awesome and it became terrific! Well done, congratulations! I feel I have learned a lot and I also had fun!!

By NGUYEN P A T

Jul 12, 2020

This is an excellent course that I've ever joined. Since I learned lots of useful knowledge when teaching, I strongly believe that I can do it better soon. Thanks for your great contribution.

By Seif A

Jun 23, 2020

Such a wonder course with an ample of information and theories, which can help in the classroom and to identify the learners profiles, and which method is the one supposed to be used and why.

By Cansu A

Aug 27, 2019

This course was very interesting and fun, going back in time and learning about different approaches to language teaching in the history was incredible. I have learned so much in this course.

By Pamula F

Nov 14, 2017

I found this course to be extremely helpful in understanding how teachers should teach English as a second language. It also provided some much welcomed ideas on how I should teach English.

By Ayoub B

Jul 26, 2020

Well organized course with a wonderful explanation as videos. in addition, the reading articles and the summaries are helpful with an easy English to understand. thank you for this course.

By Maria B V

Jul 10, 2016

Excellent course! I learned a lot, and I enjoyed it very much. This course gave me lot of useful tools as a teacher. I fell in love even more with being an English teacher. Thanks a lot!!!

By Dulce M T P W

Jan 21, 2016

A bit more challenging than the first Module, bit with the same great methodology to deliver the information and keep students engaged. The course content is clear and concise. Thank you!

By Juliet M

Apr 29, 2018

Dr. Shane is not only a brilliant instructor but a humble one. He's truly one of the best in the English language teaching field. Kudos also to Dr. Jessica Cinco for her useful insights.

By Thuy T

Oct 18, 2016

Inspiring lecturers! I enjoy every lesson with clear instruction and exciting moments. Thanks all for bringing the course online so that I can learn it conveniently. Highly recommended!!

By LingYu K

Jun 3, 2016

Love this study about different language learning approach! I learned a lot about ESL/EFL history. Teacher is so funny. He'll be a good actor if he no longer want to work as a teacher^^

By Oshin O

Nov 1, 2020

Great course! I enjoyed learning different theories of second language acquisition and sharing my ideas through assignments. The instructors are fun and knowledgeable about the topics.

By Valeriia

Jul 21, 2018

It is a very interesting course that let you know more about the history of langauge teaching. Our teachers made their best to present the information in the most exciting way! Thanks!

By Fernando C

Oct 17, 2020

Excellent form of transmiting knowledge of theories of Second Language Adquisition very comprenhensible and very didactic. thanks for giving me the opportunity to study with you ASU.

By Anas H A

Apr 7, 2020

Although it was an extensive course, I was really interested in the fabulous way of presenting the different teaching approaches. Many thanks for Dr. Shan Dixon and Dr. Jessica Cinco.

By Lee H

Apr 29, 2019

I learned a lot about the different aspects of language teaching approaches. I am able to identify with some approaches more than others but can see how every approach has some merit.

By Sunny V A

Jan 30, 2018

Great course if you want to know all the different approaches to language learning and where the techniques came from. Gives you a complete understanding of different teaching styles.

By Nguyễn H H L

May 23, 2020

I actually change my conventional belief about teaching after learning this course. The educators are passionate and knowledgable. I actually learn a lot from this course. Thank you.

By Pamela J V V

Jun 1, 2017

It has been fantastic to do these courses. I didn't realise how much I was actually taking in. And it's been something I have been able to refer back to when talking to other people.

By wyeth r s

Jan 3, 2017

i really liked the feedback from several classmates during this module... the lessons were all very informative, so i wish i could have more time this month to focus on my lessons...

By Tara D

Apr 17, 2019

This is a great module that not only has encapsulated pertinent theories in second language teaching but also provided concrete examples and techniques for actual class instruction.

By Janice P E B

Jul 15, 2018

I liked learning the different teaching approaches. It gives me a wider perspective on teaching. And still up to this day, I realized the value of the past. Nothing like old school.

By Kimberly S F

Jun 5, 2016

Really enjoyed this course. I am an EFL teacher trainer and really got some great ideas to use when I give my next English Teaching Diploma Course. EXCELLENT AND TWO THUMBS UP!!!!