Chevron Left
Back to Chinese for Beginners

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Chinese for Beginners by Peking University

4.8
stars
13,487 ratings
3,873 reviews

About the Course

Nowadays, there is an increasing number of people who are interested in Chinese culture and language. And it is useful to know about the language when coming to China for travel or business. This is an ABC Chinese course for beginners, including introduction of phonetics and daily expressions. After taking this class, learners can have a basic understanding of Chinese Mandarin and make basic conversations of daily living such as exchanging personal information, talking about daily arrangements and food, asking about price, introducing the city and the weather, telling your hobbies etc. Selected topics and situations come from real life scenarios and can be used for everyday communications. In addition to the dialogues, the selection of reading materials and practice activities will make the content as rich and varied as possible, in order to stimulate the learners’ interests. This is an elementary course on Chinese speaking. The learners don’t need to study Chinese characters, so it is easier to follow and complete this course....

Top reviews

SA
Jun 16, 2020

Awesome experience it was a comprehensive and informative course. I learnt alot. Thank you coursera for providing us such a nice and global platform to enhance skills and knowlegde by sitting at home.

PP
Apr 24, 2020

She teaching very well! Easy to understand, her accent is very clear to understand, lesson is very useful to and might can use it for real. Thank you for lovely teaching and lovely lesson\n\nThank you

Filter by:

3326 - 3350 of 3,830 Reviews for Chinese for Beginners

By Ivan R

Nov 18, 2019

It is a very good one to start but most have a basic too. My experiences are that I never have the opportunity to go to the school to learn Chinese and with this I just get to correct some of my pronunciation mistakes. is ok but needs more basic.

By gaetane

Dec 8, 2015

Very interesting to learn the basis of Chinese ; very simple and clear!

It is also a good basis to prepare the HSK but in my opinion it would have been interesting to have also the chinese characters writen in order to learn both at the same time!

By Enrique A v B

Jul 22, 2020

El curso es adecuado. Solo creo que puede mejorar con los primeros cuestionarios, los cuales son mas complejos que los últimos. Esto puede hacer que los usuarios se atemoricen y rehuyan de aprender. Por lo demás, el curso está muy interesante.

By Poola J

Oct 26, 2020

I have taken this course out of curiosity and activate my mind by learning new language. It has really help me understand and learn language easily. The only drawback I found was, tests could be more improvised. As, I found them very direct.

By Luis O C K

Jul 24, 2019

Amazing intro, the pronunciation guidance and vocabulary are very useful but sometimes it can be quite hard and confusing. May have missed it but the vocabulary addendum at the end could've been split by lessons, helping the process a lot.

By Michell

Jul 17, 2020

It's quite good to know more about the different major languages in the world. Because this is just the lowest stage so it is still quite far from using Chinese like second or third language. For me, it is a quick tour guide and effective

By Simona A

Oct 24, 2015

I already attended a Chinese for Beginners course years ago. This course was excellent for brushing up words and sentence constructions. Excellent course also for completely beginners. I hope that there will be additional courses. Thanks!

By Jennifer D S

Apr 16, 2017

This is a wonderful beginner course for Chinese. I would say it would be great for those who have no prior experience with Chinese, since it is very well made and easy to follow. It gives very well made lessons and is very informative.

By Ioulia B

Jun 14, 2020

The instructor was well paced, knowledgeable. Good review of common things to say if you were in China. I am missing the syntax of the language, how sentences are put together. I prefer a bit of grammar in my language learning.

By Pedro S

Jul 7, 2017

Algunos subtítulos en español están mal, y no vendría mal enseñar un poco más sobre gramática, ya que el curso se centra en que memoricemos preguntas y respuestas predeterminadas. Por lo demás, está genial para el precio que tiene.

By TaTa

Nov 17, 2020

It should have Chinese Charactors with a small pinyin, but it should not only have a pinyin charactors.

Thanks for the free course and chinese language. It is very important and high benefits to continue to learn from this courses.

By Kishan R

Apr 28, 2020

Really good introduction to everyday words and phrases in Pinyin. Having all the sentences etc. written out in Pinyin would have been helpful (what is written doesn't necessarily correlate to the material covered in the videos).

By Fabian C S

Aug 26, 2020

Me gustó por el hecho de que se ven temas de la vida cotidiana,como para un turista digamos.Y se complicó,que esté solamente en ingles.Tienen que considerar también al español,ya que es un idioma muy hablado hoy en dia.Gracias.

By Elisabeth d R

May 21, 2020

It was an interesting course and learned some basic Chinese. It's a pity that I couldn't really practice with other people so I hope to meet soon some Chinese to apply what I've learned. It was a great experience, Xièxiè nǐ

By Kirstine D

Jun 24, 2020

Fun course and a good place to start. It skips some details at times, but nothing that matters on the whole. It gives a good basic idea of how to pronounce and talk about simple, basic ideas. I liked it and learned a lot!

By Aticha A

Apr 26, 2020

I think some of the quiz answers are wrong (In section about time) (but it is not a big mistake). Please check again. This course is great both for beginners and other level Chinese learners. Thank you for the course!

By Vinicius R

Mar 20, 2017

Awesome course! Thanks for everything! It would however be great if you also could provide the Chinese characters for all the stuff we've learned *while* we learn it and not in the end of the course. :) Best,

Vinicius

By soledad v p

Aug 18, 2020

Hermosas clases, incluso para quiénes no hablamos perfecto inlgés, si no hubiese sido porque las clases tenían traducciones yo no habría empezado estas clases. Espero poder seguir aprendiendo y mejorando mi chino 💞

By Abdullah A M

Jul 27, 2020

It is amazing to learn other language with such a easy method. I like this course from best university in China. Now i can speak Chinese what i learned by this course. Thank you coursera and peaking university.

谢谢

By Eike R H

Apr 18, 2020

I liked the course. It was well organized and speed was okay. Altough i would have preferred a vocabulary list of the vocabulary that were introduced, as well as some information on the correct grammar in general.

By Pinyada S

Jul 17, 2020

It would be better if the course provide online document for us to download because for me, I have to take note in my notebook and I feel pain in my wrist. (but if I don't take note, I can't remember the content)

By Pattaraporn D

May 22, 2020

She teaching very well. her accent is very clear to understand, lesson is very useful to and might can use it for real. Now I know a bit of daily Chinese and I am planning to learn more about it.

Thank you. :)

By Lavan C P

Oct 25, 2016

Good Course for foreigners to learn mandarin but it would be more helpful if the lecturer would slow the pase just a little bit cause we are still beginners and have a hard time understanding the different tones.

By Ni P E S

Apr 27, 2020

I like the course as i can learn some new Chinese words. The tutor explained thing pretty well and clear, but i think she could have been morr expressive. But it was overall a very fun course. Xie Xie, laoshi :)