Chevron Left
Back to Chinese for Beginners

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Chinese for Beginners by Peking University

4.8
stars
13,910 ratings
4,001 reviews

About the Course

Nowadays, there is an increasing number of people who are interested in Chinese culture and language. And it is useful to know about the language when coming to China for travel or business. This is an ABC Chinese course for beginners, including introduction of phonetics and daily expressions. After taking this class, learners can have a basic understanding of Chinese Mandarin and make basic conversations of daily living such as exchanging personal information, talking about daily arrangements and food, asking about price, introducing the city and the weather, telling your hobbies etc. Selected topics and situations come from real life scenarios and can be used for everyday communications. In addition to the dialogues, the selection of reading materials and practice activities will make the content as rich and varied as possible, in order to stimulate the learners’ interests. This is an elementary course on Chinese speaking. The learners don’t need to study Chinese characters, so it is easier to follow and complete this course....

Top reviews

SA
Jun 16, 2020

Awesome experience it was a comprehensive and informative course. I learnt alot. Thank you coursera for providing us such a nice and global platform to enhance skills and knowlegde by sitting at home.

PP
Apr 24, 2020

She teaching very well! Easy to understand, her accent is very clear to understand, lesson is very useful to and might can use it for real. Thank you for lovely teaching and lovely lesson\n\nThank you

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 3,963 Reviews for Chinese for Beginners

By Rocío G

Apr 11, 2019

Muy bien planteado, fácil y dinámico. Me ha servido para refrescar lo que ya había estudiado y seguir adelante. Muy recomendable para los que empiezan de 0 o para los que llevamos un tiempo sin dedicarnos al idioma.

By Selene R

Jan 4, 2021

Although it's a completely different language from mine, it was very easy to follow Ms Xiaoyu Liu's course. I definitely recommend it if you want to know more about this fascinating language and culture. Thank you!

By Apisara S

Aug 23, 2020

Good examples in daily life communication

Maybe if there was more information about chinese's grammar like how to put the noun , verb or object in order in each sentence, that would be perfect. :D

I love your course.

By Alix R D

Nov 30, 2015

Excelente el método y la selección de temas de utilidad para el principiante, con ese material es posible una comunicación, aunque básica, en chino. Es un curso muy ameno, la profesora es muy agradable y didáctica.

By Diego R

Jul 29, 2020

Excelente curso y excelente instructora, gracias a este curso, he podido perderle el miedo a aprender chino, y lograr hablar a un nivel muy básico; me gusta el no tener que aprender caracteres chinos en éste nivel

By Wickramaarachchi D M

Sep 12, 2020

I have learned more things from here not only about the language but also little bit of the Chinese culture, etc. I really like Chinese culture. This course is useful for everyone to start Chinese as a language..

By Marlon S

Dec 30, 2020

Lovely course and really improved my pronunciation a lot. Though intended as an introduction to Mandarin, I missed the Chinese characters, Hanxi, a bit. Really recommended for every Asian language fan out there.

By José M A S M

Nov 29, 2020

A pesar de la básico que pueda parecer el curso, otorga las herramientas necesarias para comprender el idioma chino, considero que tiene los elementos para introducir al estudiante en la cultura que se estudia.

By Dedi M

Aug 18, 2020

Finally, I can finish this course now. Although I am due late on some weeks I caught up remaining weeks by the later days. So happy to finish this course and I am looking for a Chinese writing course next time.

By Bereket A

Aug 25, 2015

Сәлеметсізбе, менің есімім Берекет. Мен қытай тілін үйренуді жаңадан бастап жатырмын. Бұл бейне-сабақтар топтамасының маған үлкен септігі тиіп жатыр. Дайындаған ұжымға да, ұстазымызға да үлкен алғыс білдіремін!

By DWAIPAYAN B

Jun 22, 2020

This course was very helpful to me as also it was my first foreign language. Though a bit tough, but with the lectures it was very easy to answer the assignment quizzes. Overall, it was a very good experience.

By Dean

Dec 21, 2015

All I have to say it that it is an excellent course. Highly informative and very well received and useful.

I would like to please make a request... can you include more course i.e. Chinese Intermediate Courses?

By WILLIAN F D A

Jan 18, 2019

Uma ótima opção de iniciar os estudos do idioma chinês. Achei o conteúdo fantástico e que nos permite aprender aos poucos e evoluir tanto no aprendizado de novas palavras quanto na pronúncia. Excelente curso!

By Tina D

Jan 10, 2018

It was a really helpful beginning course because the teacher made sure the pronunciation was going to be correct. The pinyin is missing from Week 7 Notes, which makes it difficult to memorize the vocabulary.

By Astrid R P

Jun 9, 2017

I learned a lot from this course, the lessons are simple and the quizzes are helpful. I'm an absolute beginner in Mandarin and I say this course is perfect for beginners! One of my great learning experiences.

By Alma S Z

Mar 19, 2017

Abarca muchos temas de convivencia y conversación, se centra en el modo de pronunciar y no distrae demasiado con la cuestión de la escritura, simplemente busca hacer que reconozcas las palabras. Muy efectivo.

By Rafael Y I

Sep 8, 2015

I am having a really good experience. The classes are very easy to understand and the quizzes help me fix the knowledge. I highly recommend this course for people who want to learn the first words in Chinese.

By Alyor K

Aug 14, 2015

Thank you very much! I used to learn Chines language in the past, but did not use it since 1997. Now I reviewed the basics, learnt something new and revised the forgotten staff. Many thanks!

Fei chang gan xie!

By Gabrielle N

Aug 31, 2020

PT-BR: Um curso bem interessante para que quer iniciar os estudos neste idioma, criativo e dinâmico.

ENG: A very interesting course for those who want to start studying in this language, creative and dynamic.

By Kanyawi C

May 23, 2020

Thankyou for course you’re my first chinese teacher

online for me and I very enjoy to learn with my teacher

I have learned a lot of Chinese from you and I will keep

learning too thankyou somuch teacher ❤️❤️❤️

By Pornchanok S

Oct 23, 2019

Great Chinese 101 course for beginners. Lessons are easy for beginners (like me) to understand and follow throughout the course. At the end of the course, learners can speak some basic Chinese conversations.

By Amir S

Oct 4, 2019

Very good course for beginners. Recommended if you want to have basic essential communication skills in Chinese. Good foundation if you want to pursue a detailed course later. Course instructor is excellent.

By Carla A D C

Aug 15, 2020

Realmente me encantó el curso. Muchas veces pensamos que el chino es muy complicado, sin embargo, este curso me ha dado herramientas para entenderlo mejor. Muy buena maestra. Técnica de enseñanza excelente.

By Julia C

Jul 26, 2020

If you've never learned Chinese before, this is a great place to start. The teacher does an amazing job of teaching some of the basics of the language in the simplest forms. I HIGHLY recommend this course.

By Jeļena E

Oct 9, 2016

Interesting course, useful subject, very nice lector. Highly appreciate the opportunity to hear the right pronunciation of Chinese words, because that's the most difficult part for me.

Thank you very much!