Chevron Left
Back to Chinese for Beginners

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Chinese for Beginners by Peking University

4.8
stars
14,586 ratings
4,200 reviews

About the Course

Nowadays, there is an increasing number of people who are interested in Chinese culture and language. And it is useful to know about the language when coming to China for travel or business. This is an ABC Chinese course for beginners, including introduction of phonetics and daily expressions. After taking this class, learners can have a basic understanding of Chinese Mandarin and make basic conversations of daily living such as exchanging personal information, talking about daily arrangements and food, asking about price, introducing the city and the weather, telling your hobbies etc. Selected topics and situations come from real life scenarios and can be used for everyday communications. In addition to the dialogues, the selection of reading materials and practice activities will make the content as rich and varied as possible, in order to stimulate the learners’ interests. This is an elementary course on Chinese speaking. The learners don’t need to study Chinese characters, so it is easier to follow and complete this course....

Top reviews

SA
Jun 16, 2020

Awesome experience it was a comprehensive and informative course. I learnt alot. Thank you coursera for providing us such a nice and global platform to enhance skills and knowlegde by sitting at home.

PP
Apr 24, 2020

She teaching very well! Easy to understand, her accent is very clear to understand, lesson is very useful to and might can use it for real. Thank you for lovely teaching and lovely lesson\n\nThank you

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 4,154 Reviews for Chinese for Beginners

By Pedro F D N

Jan 3, 2021

Foi muito legal iniciar as primeiras noções do idioma com este curso! Sério, recomendo para todos que tem interesse em culturas da Ásia, idiomas ou gostaria de entender um pouquinho mais dos "tracinhos" chineses! Hahahahah

By Natalia D

Jul 29, 2020

Me gustó, hay frases básicas en caso de viajar y estar de turista unos días, poder saludar, despedirse, dar gracias, pedir comida y comprar. La profesora es clara en su explicación. Espero haya un curso intermedio, gracias

By Shant S K

Apr 1, 2020

one of the best courses i had, the instructor is amazing also different moderators in the discussion boards helping you get through, this course covers everything from daily life and some common phrases that are very handy

By Metin K

Nov 10, 2019

Kurs beklentilerimden daha güzeldi. Öğretmen çok güler yüzlü ve anlatımı anlaşılır. Kursun tek eksiği okuma parçası vb. materyallerin yeterli olmaması diye düşünüyorum. Materyallerde eklenirse daha güzel olur. Teşekkürler.

By Pavel Z

Aug 26, 2015

That is a great course to make You get interested in wonderful Chinese language. I even went to the local Confucius Institute to continue studying it! It would also be great to give at least some characters in the course,

By Gerardo M d A V

Mar 21, 2021

Really useful and amazing teacher, thank you so much for having such oppportunity and noteworthy it was free and there are so many things that are taught and useful in your daily life, highly recommend it. xie xie laoshi

By Graziele A

Sep 25, 2020

Ótimo curso, aprendi uma comunicação básica e fundamental para saber se orientar em um país estrangeiro, no caso a China. Amei e super recomendo a você que quer aprender um idioma novo de forma prática e bem explicativa.

By Natcha L

May 1, 2020

Highly appreciate and Highly recommend!

The lecturer makes it very easy for a beginner to understand and memorize.

What she taught is very useful applicable to daily usage.

Thank you for an awesome class, Ms. Xiaoyu Liu.

By Annika W

Nov 11, 2020

This was great for someone who has no idea whatsoever when it comes to Chinese. The course doesn't overwhelm and still ends up teaching enough vocabulary that would allow the student to have at least tiny conversations.

By MD N T

Nov 11, 2020

I have a dream to lean new languages. Chinese is always a exciting yet unknown language to me, But peking University help me to began what I really appreciate. Thanks to our course teacher Xiaoyu Liu madam. ( XiaXia. )

By Nuttawadee J

May 4, 2020

Many thanks to this course! We can communicate in basic Chinese with many necessary vocabularies for daily life. Although this course provides you only in pinyin, I think it can help you to learn advance Chinese easily.

By Rizwan A

Nov 11, 2016

It is very helpful and interesting, especially the lessons are short and interesting and quiz makes it further easy and Memorable. thanks for such a nice course. Now i came China and practicing this with my lab fellows.

By Eleanor M L

Oct 14, 2020

This course is a good class for beginners. The lessons are easy to follow. Although there are some nuances that were not discussed, I hope it will be explored more in the next level. Thank you for the wonderful course.

By Antimon

Apr 18, 2020

This couse easy to learning it suitable for beginners who want to learn chinese, the course cover the sentences and words that you have to use in daily life and teacher quite speak slowly easy to listen and understand.

By Mónico B

Mar 21, 2021

It is my second language educational experience. I liked some much. The mandarin Chinese is a very interesting language for me. Finally, I appreciate the excellent teaching work of the teacher. I learned a lot. Thanks

By Тачка Е В

Mar 29, 2020

I liked the course very much. The material is devided into small parts easy to understand and remember. And it motivates to study language more. Thanks to professor Xiaoyu Liu, it was very interesting and very useful.

By R. E M H

Dec 25, 2016

Es un curso muy interactivo y sobre todo para uno que esta comenzando desde cero es algo realmente sencillo. Para comenzar conociendo el idioma chino y expresiones básicas es una muy buena opción.

Atte. Eduardo Mercado

By Syed H H B

May 25, 2020

The course is perfectly designed. The instructor has introduced me to the Chinese language with fun and interactive way. Over all it was full of learning. You wont regret after enrolling init. Perfect for beginners.

By Josbel d J L H

May 9, 2020

Es increíble poder encontrar un curso de este maravilloso idioma, además la plataforma es muy cómoda y fácil de usar, asimismo el el contenido es excelente, muchas gracias a la universidad de Pekín. Recomendadísimo.

By Antonella C

Apr 21, 2020

One of the best Chinese classes I have ever taken. So much vocabulary in such a short time. Lovely professor and great method. You really learn to understand and your listening and comprehension skills benefit a lot

By Rocío G

Apr 11, 2019

Muy bien planteado, fácil y dinámico. Me ha servido para refrescar lo que ya había estudiado y seguir adelante. Muy recomendable para los que empiezan de 0 o para los que llevamos un tiempo sin dedicarnos al idioma.

By Selene R

Jan 4, 2021

Although it's a completely different language from mine, it was very easy to follow Ms Xiaoyu Liu's course. I definitely recommend it if you want to know more about this fascinating language and culture. Thank you!

By Apisara S

Aug 23, 2020

Good examples in daily life communication

Maybe if there was more information about chinese's grammar like how to put the noun , verb or object in order in each sentence, that would be perfect. :D

I love your course.

By Alix R D

Nov 30, 2015

Excelente el método y la selección de temas de utilidad para el principiante, con ese material es posible una comunicación, aunque básica, en chino. Es un curso muy ameno, la profesora es muy agradable y didáctica.

By Diego R

Jul 29, 2020

Excelente curso y excelente instructora, gracias a este curso, he podido perderle el miedo a aprender chino, y lograr hablar a un nivel muy básico; me gusta el no tener que aprender caracteres chinos en éste nivel