Chevron Left
Back to Chinese for Beginners

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Chinese for Beginners by Peking University

4.8
stars
14,580 ratings
4,200 reviews

About the Course

Nowadays, there is an increasing number of people who are interested in Chinese culture and language. And it is useful to know about the language when coming to China for travel or business. This is an ABC Chinese course for beginners, including introduction of phonetics and daily expressions. After taking this class, learners can have a basic understanding of Chinese Mandarin and make basic conversations of daily living such as exchanging personal information, talking about daily arrangements and food, asking about price, introducing the city and the weather, telling your hobbies etc. Selected topics and situations come from real life scenarios and can be used for everyday communications. In addition to the dialogues, the selection of reading materials and practice activities will make the content as rich and varied as possible, in order to stimulate the learners’ interests. This is an elementary course on Chinese speaking. The learners don’t need to study Chinese characters, so it is easier to follow and complete this course....

Top reviews

SA
Jun 16, 2020

Awesome experience it was a comprehensive and informative course. I learnt alot. Thank you coursera for providing us such a nice and global platform to enhance skills and knowlegde by sitting at home.

PP
Apr 24, 2020

She teaching very well! Easy to understand, her accent is very clear to understand, lesson is very useful to and might can use it for real. Thank you for lovely teaching and lovely lesson\n\nThank you

Filter by:

3626 - 3650 of 4,151 Reviews for Chinese for Beginners

By Aticha A

Apr 27, 2020

I think some of the quiz answers are wrong (In section about time) (but it is not a big mistake). Please check again. This course is great both for beginners and other level Chinese learners. Thank you for the course!

By Vinicius R

Mar 20, 2017

Awesome course! Thanks for everything! It would however be great if you also could provide the Chinese characters for all the stuff we've learned *while* we learn it and not in the end of the course. :) Best,

Vinicius

By soledad v p

Aug 18, 2020

Hermosas clases, incluso para quiénes no hablamos perfecto inlgés, si no hubiese sido porque las clases tenían traducciones yo no habría empezado estas clases. Espero poder seguir aprendiendo y mejorando mi chino 💞

By Abdullah A M

Jul 27, 2020

It is amazing to learn other language with such a easy method. I like this course from best university in China. Now i can speak Chinese what i learned by this course. Thank you coursera and peaking university.

谢谢

By Eike R H

Apr 18, 2020

I liked the course. It was well organized and speed was okay. Altough i would have preferred a vocabulary list of the vocabulary that were introduced, as well as some information on the correct grammar in general.

By Pinyada S

Jul 17, 2020

It would be better if the course provide online document for us to download because for me, I have to take note in my notebook and I feel pain in my wrist. (but if I don't take note, I can't remember the content)

By Pattaraporn D

May 22, 2020

She teaching very well. her accent is very clear to understand, lesson is very useful to and might can use it for real. Now I know a bit of daily Chinese and I am planning to learn more about it.

Thank you. :)

By Lavan C P

Oct 25, 2016

Good Course for foreigners to learn mandarin but it would be more helpful if the lecturer would slow the pase just a little bit cause we are still beginners and have a hard time understanding the different tones.

By Ni P E S

Apr 27, 2020

I like the course as i can learn some new Chinese words. The tutor explained thing pretty well and clear, but i think she could have been morr expressive. But it was overall a very fun course. Xie Xie, laoshi :)

By Patricia R

Oct 23, 2015

I really liked this course because all the lessons are coherent with each other which helps one understand Chinese better. I hope that the quizzes would be more difficult to fully test the student's competence.

By Ryan

Jan 4, 2017

Thank you for the course! As the title says, this lessons is for beginners who never experienced learning Chinese Language. But I think providing chinese characters in the course will make this course better.

By bui t p

Jan 13, 2016

This course is definitely helpful for those who has not learned Chinese before as well as who has learned a bit Chinese.

The exercises are well prepared and help learners to review all the lessons logically.

By Raquel G

Aug 14, 2016

Está muy bien, pero es muy sencillo. Faltaría algún recurso más para completarlo. Además, mirar vídeos y hacer cuestionarios tan fáciles, si uno no repasa por su cuenta todo el material, no sirve de mucho.

By SILVANA P G R

Jul 19, 2020

Para ser primera vez que practico chino, fue muy entretenido agradezco la fluidez de la profesora, se entiende bien, no me fue fácil pero me encanto aprender este idioma, espero poder seguir avanzando.

By Penelope D

Sep 16, 2017

Very introductory with minor problems/mistakes. It's good to start if you're a total beginner, but you sure need much more if you want to go on with Chinese language. Thanks for an amazing start though!

By Kutay S

Oct 5, 2015

Very solid content, with distinct sections and themes. No writing makes it into a good introductory course but also is something more serious learners need to study on their own alongside the course.

By Mahzabin T

Apr 27, 2020

It was really amazing to learn the Chinese language. I loved it! this was great for beginners to learn Chinese basics. whoever is willing to learn basic Chinese speaking must go through this course.

By Jhopsangel R

Sep 4, 2019

Excellent course, but would have liked to have the characters that go with the pinyin, even if they was not much importance given to them. It´s nice to get familiar with them before the end.

By augusto w

May 1, 2020

Really liked it. I would prefer to learn along the chinese characters, but also understand that is hard to focus on so many new things (tones, characters, words, gramatic). gong xi gong xi!

By Anurag M

Feb 2, 2019

Great course, although if you plan to learn more than the basics start with the Chinese for HSK by Peking University which in my opinionif you are serious about learning chinese, is better.

By Gisa J

Apr 5, 2021

I would wish more connection to writing. So, in the lessons could writing be included (at least the characters) . The elcutrer is good. Yet the technical recording could be more efficient.

By Nik N F W A

Apr 15, 2020

Simple teaching which can be easily understood. Excellent for beginners. Would be delighted if more examples or vocabularies were supplied for reference, and more questions in the quizzes.

By Falguni G

Jun 8, 2020

The course is nice and easy for people wanting to learn and communicate in Chinese. It would be more helpful if there was some discussion on Chinese grammar rules and sentence formation.

By Sanjit S

Aug 15, 2016

Great course to get a beginners exposure to the chinese language. Liked the practical concept of the lectures, aiming towards sentences and phrases that can be used in daily interaction.

By Gladys G B S

Dec 26, 2020

This course was so good but I think there are a lot of things to better as to how to learn your vocabulary slowly but forever, so is a great job! Thank you so much, Miss and Coursera!