Chevron Left
Back to Chinese for Beginners

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Chinese for Beginners by Peking University

4.8
stars
14,592 ratings
4,202 reviews

About the Course

Nowadays, there is an increasing number of people who are interested in Chinese culture and language. And it is useful to know about the language when coming to China for travel or business. This is an ABC Chinese course for beginners, including introduction of phonetics and daily expressions. After taking this class, learners can have a basic understanding of Chinese Mandarin and make basic conversations of daily living such as exchanging personal information, talking about daily arrangements and food, asking about price, introducing the city and the weather, telling your hobbies etc. Selected topics and situations come from real life scenarios and can be used for everyday communications. In addition to the dialogues, the selection of reading materials and practice activities will make the content as rich and varied as possible, in order to stimulate the learners’ interests. This is an elementary course on Chinese speaking. The learners don’t need to study Chinese characters, so it is easier to follow and complete this course....

Top reviews

PP
Apr 24, 2020

She teaching very well! Easy to understand, her accent is very clear to understand, lesson is very useful to and might can use it for real. Thank you for lovely teaching and lovely lesson\n\nThank you

SA
Jun 16, 2020

Awesome experience it was a comprehensive and informative course. I learnt alot. Thank you coursera for providing us such a nice and global platform to enhance skills and knowlegde by sitting at home.

Filter by:

3651 - 3675 of 4,156 Reviews for Chinese for Beginners

By Nik N F W A

Apr 15, 2020

Simple teaching which can be easily understood. Excellent for beginners. Would be delighted if more examples or vocabularies were supplied for reference, and more questions in the quizzes.

By Falguni G

Jun 8, 2020

The course is nice and easy for people wanting to learn and communicate in Chinese. It would be more helpful if there was some discussion on Chinese grammar rules and sentence formation.

By Sanjit S

Aug 15, 2016

Great course to get a beginners exposure to the chinese language. Liked the practical concept of the lectures, aiming towards sentences and phrases that can be used in daily interaction.

By Gladys G B S

Dec 26, 2020

This course was so good but I think there are a lot of things to better as to how to learn your vocabulary slowly but forever, so is a great job! Thank you so much, Miss and Coursera!

By Wimonwan L

Apr 18, 2020

This course offers Chinese vocabulary in daily life for basic conversation. It'll be better for students to study Chinese Characters to be able to read and write to fulfill the study.

By Luú S

Apr 17, 2017

Fue un buen curso, solo que este se aprende mas si hay mucho esfuerzo y dedicación ya que si no repites constantemente no se te queda grabado en el mente, fuera de eso todo genial! :D

By Sasiwan P

Apr 29, 2020

Overall, it''s a great course. I have some basic background knowledge about Chinese. However, I learnt some new vocabs from this course and also how to pronounce words more properly.

By Sushant L

Jul 3, 2017

A perfect way to introduce chinese for beginners. All the basics were covered using English as its main language. This course will indeed be a stepping stone for me to learn Mandarin

By Helen

Sep 15, 2020

It's a grate course, but sometimes the teacher did not put the things she said. It was dificult to understand her; therefore I had to put the subtitles. That's my only complain. :)

By Martyna M

Jul 3, 2020

It was very pleasant and approachable course. The 4 stars note only because there could have been more vocabulary, e.g. with other dishes, fruits, vegetables, sports, hobbies etc.

By Pariyakorn I

Apr 10, 2020

I think listening to vowel and tonal sounds is a bit difficult. But I like asking and answering better. It made me get to know basic sentences and easy vocabulary.

By Minh K V

Dec 26, 2016

The course is very useful when provide a basic speaking Chinese for beginners. However, i hope that in the fulture the course can also provide somethings about chinese writing.

By Felix P

Aug 10, 2016

I think it is a very good course, but for me, it was too dense, which led to me not finishing it. More emphasis should be on repetition and deepening of the acquired knowledge.

By Nathania Y

Nov 30, 2020

during stay at home, I was studying from any source, include Cousera and took this class. I am so happy because i can refresh my mind about chinese language. Thankyou Coursera

By Aigerim T

Jun 20, 2020

This is the great introduction course, but it will be even better explaining the structure of sentences. However, it was amazing course to learn common expressions! Thank You!

By Nicholas J M

Jun 14, 2020

Excellent course. I would only suggest that the videos be a little bit longer and some more explanations be given on why certain words are inserted into some full sentences.

By Joanna C

Apr 13, 2020

Very good introductory speaking course. Great instructor. The quizzes should also include some of the sentence construction so students can test their understanding of this.

By Cristina A

Sep 22, 2015

It's easy to understand and so useful. I met a chinese girl and now we talk together. I hope will be another one in the future to continue learning this beautiful language.

By Terrianna S

Sep 2, 2015

I thought the class was very well done as an introductory class. Although I thought there would be an introduction to characters also. I liked the laoshi and the slides. :)

By Tunyaporn S

May 6, 2020

Good Course , Thank you for FREE learning. I'm so appreciate to spend my free time with chinese language knowledge and easy for beginner everyone can do it!. xièxie lăoshī

By Deleted A

Jun 20, 2020

very nice course but grades achieved and duration of course is not mentioned on certificates please should write it as well as certificate should free of cost not paid.

By Vivien F

Aug 5, 2020

It was interesting and good. It would even be better if there is an opportunity to connect with other participants to practice Chinese via video conferencing. Thank you.

By Matthew L

Jan 31, 2020

Excellent cours avec de bonnes vidéos, facile à suivre. Les tests étaient un peu trop faciles, mais c'est un excellent début pour ceux qui veulent commencer le mandarin.

By Daniel M

Jun 17, 2017

This course is suitable for beginners who want to learn basic vocabulary and sentence structures. It is not an all-encompassing beginners course but it is a good start.

By Lloyd A

May 24, 2016

This was a very easy course and not too daunting considering the topic. I liked learning pronounciations of the words and the basic vocabulary. A great starter course.