Chevron Left
Back to Chinese for Beginners

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Chinese for Beginners by Peking University

4.8
stars
14,580 ratings
4,200 reviews

About the Course

Nowadays, there is an increasing number of people who are interested in Chinese culture and language. And it is useful to know about the language when coming to China for travel or business. This is an ABC Chinese course for beginners, including introduction of phonetics and daily expressions. After taking this class, learners can have a basic understanding of Chinese Mandarin and make basic conversations of daily living such as exchanging personal information, talking about daily arrangements and food, asking about price, introducing the city and the weather, telling your hobbies etc. Selected topics and situations come from real life scenarios and can be used for everyday communications. In addition to the dialogues, the selection of reading materials and practice activities will make the content as rich and varied as possible, in order to stimulate the learners’ interests. This is an elementary course on Chinese speaking. The learners don’t need to study Chinese characters, so it is easier to follow and complete this course....

Top reviews

SA
Jun 16, 2020

Awesome experience it was a comprehensive and informative course. I learnt alot. Thank you coursera for providing us such a nice and global platform to enhance skills and knowlegde by sitting at home.

PP
Apr 24, 2020

She teaching very well! Easy to understand, her accent is very clear to understand, lesson is very useful to and might can use it for real. Thank you for lovely teaching and lovely lesson\n\nThank you

Filter by:

3701 - 3725 of 4,152 Reviews for Chinese for Beginners

By Pratik

Jul 16, 2020

It was very fascinating and knowledgeable to be the part of this course.I have learned a lot in this course from the basics.thank you.

By Anderson R T

Sep 13, 2015

This course is enjoyable and easy to learn from. A minor drawback is that some pictures are difficult to distinguish in the exercises.

By Jessica Z

Mar 29, 2021

Very well planned lessons, however, there could be more items added in the quiz parts to help students practice their knowledge more.

By Mehjabin Z M

Jul 18, 2020

It was so helpful, the instructor explained everything so nicely! So glad that I've learned some basic of CHINESE LANGUAGE. xiè xie!

By Konrad G

Jul 4, 2020

Good basics for beginners and to get started. A little more gramatical explanations would be good to really understand the language.

By Javier G

Dec 22, 2019

Me encantó tanto este curso que ahora estoy super-motivado a seguir aprendiendo más sobre la lengua y cultura de China. Excelente!

By Flor I L R

Mar 13, 2021

Es bastante bueno para iniciar con el idioma, solo hay un par de errores a la traducción al español pero igual se puede entender.

By Alejandro A P

Sep 26, 2020

你好!,es un muy buen curso, bastante basico, pero tiene lo necesario para que te desenvuelvas, siento que falto mas de la escritura

By Josh

Mar 12, 2016

Quizes got glitchy however, overall content is fantastic!!!

(Wouldnt recomend taking for certification... better suited for fun ;)

By RAMESH P S

Oct 3, 2015

I found very interesting and useful this course. All modules are nicely designed and framed in relation to learner prospective.

By Vaishali R

Apr 7, 2020

It's a great course to learn the basics of pronunciation of the Chinese words. It also helps with improving listening skills.

By Taylor H

Oct 16, 2016

Introduction to basic vocabulary and grammar. I give it 4 stars because it does not discuss any characters, just uses pinyin.

By Akhmat F

Aug 7, 2020

This course very for good beginner to learn chinese. Unfortunely, there's no explanation about structure grammar in chinese.

By Mukunda R

Aug 27, 2020

Easy to follow and exercises at the end of each session is really great.

Appreciate if no of exercises / question increased.

By Ashley M H

Jun 18, 2020

This course served as an excellent refresher. The phrases taught are great for daily conversations and basic introductions.

By Richard

Jun 11, 2020

Overall very good, but the quizzes are very easy and often only look at the easiest part of a lesson (weekdays for example)

By Aitor1979

Jun 4, 2019

Very good introduction to Chinese language. There is plenty of extra work to do if you really want to go deeper. Thank you.

By Diego M

Oct 16, 2017

Me parece muy interesante el contenido y bien explicado, pero quizas se podria mejorar la calidad de los elementos visuales

By Panita P

Oct 11, 2020

Please review the certificate template : the university logo is cropped and look like copy and paste. Thank you very much.

By Петрова Д Н

Jul 10, 2018

Для начинающих курс очень неплохой, единственное, что мне не очень понравилось- это отсутствие ознакомления с иероглифами.

By marissa

Jun 12, 2018

it was my first chinese course, it was not always easy but with the help of internet and some apps i reach my goal. thanks

By supawan t

Jun 7, 2020

I think this course must to have chinese letter because in china not have pinyin all of everything have chinese letter.

By Pinyaphat P

Apr 27, 2020

This video is easy to understand, you must add the chinese character in video that perfect.

thank you for this course ♥

By Eva W

Apr 4, 2019

The curriculum is very similar to the one I took at school, although there was more character practice not just pin yin