Chevron Left
Back to Chinese for Beginners

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Chinese for Beginners by Peking University

4.8
stars
15,386 ratings
4,369 reviews

About the Course

Nowadays, there is an increasing number of people who are interested in Chinese culture and language. And it is useful to know about the language when coming to China for travel or business. This is an ABC Chinese course for beginners, including introduction of phonetics and daily expressions. After taking this class, learners can have a basic understanding of Chinese Mandarin and make basic conversations of daily living such as exchanging personal information, talking about daily arrangements and food, asking about price, introducing the city and the weather, telling your hobbies etc. Selected topics and situations come from real life scenarios and can be used for everyday communications. In addition to the dialogues, the selection of reading materials and practice activities will make the content as rich and varied as possible, in order to stimulate the learners’ interests. This is an elementary course on Chinese speaking. The learners don’t need to study Chinese characters, so it is easier to follow and complete this course....

Top reviews

SS
Sep 16, 2016

Thanks for this course. I like it and this language really so necessary for me and my job. My company in New Zealand - ESKA Ltd (www.eskaltd.co.nz, eskaltd.com) and we are work with aliens from China.

SA
Jun 16, 2020

Awesome experience it was a comprehensive and informative course. I learnt alot. Thank you coursera for providing us such a nice and global platform to enhance skills and knowlegde by sitting at home.

Filter by:

3776 - 3800 of 4,324 Reviews for Chinese for Beginners

By Ryan

Jan 4, 2017

Thank you for the course! As the title says, this lessons is for beginners who never experienced learning Chinese Language. But I think providing chinese characters in the course will make this course better.

By bui t p

Jan 13, 2016

This course is definitely helpful for those who has not learned Chinese before as well as who has learned a bit Chinese.

The exercises are well prepared and help learners to review all the lessons logically.

By Raquel G

Aug 14, 2016

Está muy bien, pero es muy sencillo. Faltaría algún recurso más para completarlo. Además, mirar vídeos y hacer cuestionarios tan fáciles, si uno no repasa por su cuenta todo el material, no sirve de mucho.

By SILVANA P G R

Jul 19, 2020

Para ser primera vez que practico chino, fue muy entretenido agradezco la fluidez de la profesora, se entiende bien, no me fue fácil pero me encanto aprender este idioma, espero poder seguir avanzando.

By Penelope D

Sep 16, 2017

Very introductory with minor problems/mistakes. It's good to start if you're a total beginner, but you sure need much more if you want to go on with Chinese language. Thanks for an amazing start though!

By Kutay S

Oct 5, 2015

Very solid content, with distinct sections and themes. No writing makes it into a good introductory course but also is something more serious learners need to study on their own alongside the course.

By Mahzabin T

Apr 27, 2020

It was really amazing to learn the Chinese language. I loved it! this was great for beginners to learn Chinese basics. whoever is willing to learn basic Chinese speaking must go through this course.

By Bhuree A

May 29, 2021

Easty to review, but would love to have information on how the words such as TV comes from, for example: dian = electricity, shi = to look at, dian+shi = TV. This will help us remember better

By Jhopsangel R

Sep 4, 2019

Excellent course, but would have liked to have the characters that go with the pinyin, even if they was not much importance given to them. It´s nice to get familiar with them before the end.

By augusto w

May 1, 2020

Really liked it. I would prefer to learn along the chinese characters, but also understand that is hard to focus on so many new things (tones, characters, words, gramatic). gong xi gong xi!

By Anurag M

Feb 2, 2019

Great course, although if you plan to learn more than the basics start with the Chinese for HSK by Peking University which in my opinionif you are serious about learning chinese, is better.

By Gisa J

Apr 5, 2021

I would wish more connection to writing. So, in the lessons could writing be included (at least the characters) . The elcutrer is good. Yet the technical recording could be more efficient.

By Nik N F W A

Apr 15, 2020

Simple teaching which can be easily understood. Excellent for beginners. Would be delighted if more examples or vocabularies were supplied for reference, and more questions in the quizzes.

By Falguni G

Jun 8, 2020

The course is nice and easy for people wanting to learn and communicate in Chinese. It would be more helpful if there was some discussion on Chinese grammar rules and sentence formation.

By Sanjit S

Aug 15, 2016

Great course to get a beginners exposure to the chinese language. Liked the practical concept of the lectures, aiming towards sentences and phrases that can be used in daily interaction.

By Namratha E N

May 3, 2021

Loved this course, extremely helpful!

Would be better if a little more time was spent on the pronunciation of the different tones.

But otherwise this course was pretty easy and helpful!

By Gladys G B S

Dec 26, 2020

This course was so good but I think there are a lot of things to better as to how to learn your vocabulary slowly but forever, so is a great job! Thank you so much, Miss and Coursera!

By Wimonwan L

Apr 18, 2020

This course offers Chinese vocabulary in daily life for basic conversation. It'll be better for students to study Chinese Characters to be able to read and write to fulfill the study.

By Luú S

Apr 17, 2017

Fue un buen curso, solo que este se aprende mas si hay mucho esfuerzo y dedicación ya que si no repites constantemente no se te queda grabado en el mente, fuera de eso todo genial! :D

By Sasiwan P

Apr 29, 2020

Overall, it''s a great course. I have some basic background knowledge about Chinese. However, I learnt some new vocabs from this course and also how to pronounce words more properly.

By Sushant L

Jul 3, 2017

A perfect way to introduce chinese for beginners. All the basics were covered using English as its main language. This course will indeed be a stepping stone for me to learn Mandarin

By Helen

Sep 15, 2020

It's a grate course, but sometimes the teacher did not put the things she said. It was dificult to understand her; therefore I had to put the subtitles. That's my only complain. :)

By Martyna M

Jul 3, 2020

It was very pleasant and approachable course. The 4 stars note only because there could have been more vocabulary, e.g. with other dishes, fruits, vegetables, sports, hobbies etc.

By Pariyakorn I

Apr 10, 2020

I think listening to vowel and tonal sounds is a bit difficult. But I like asking and answering better. It made me get to know basic sentences and easy vocabulary.

By Minh K V

Dec 26, 2016

The course is very useful when provide a basic speaking Chinese for beginners. However, i hope that in the fulture the course can also provide somethings about chinese writing.