Chevron Left
Back to Chinese for Beginners

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Chinese for Beginners by Peking University

4.8
stars
16,754 ratings
4,757 reviews

About the Course

Nowadays, there is an increasing number of people who are interested in Chinese culture and language. And it is useful to know about the language when coming to China for travel or business. This is an ABC Chinese course for beginners, including introduction of phonetics and daily expressions. After taking this class, learners can have a basic understanding of Chinese Mandarin and make basic conversations of daily living such as exchanging personal information, talking about daily arrangements and food, asking about price, introducing the city and the weather, telling your hobbies etc. Selected topics and situations come from real life scenarios and can be used for everyday communications. In addition to the dialogues, the selection of reading materials and practice activities will make the content as rich and varied as possible, in order to stimulate the learners’ interests. This is an elementary course on Chinese speaking. The learners don’t need to study Chinese characters, so it is easier to follow and complete this course....

Top reviews

PP
Apr 24, 2020

She teaching very well! Easy to understand, her accent is very clear to understand, lesson is very useful to and might can use it for real. Thank you for lovely teaching and lovely lesson\n\nThank you

SA
Jun 16, 2020

Awesome experience it was a comprehensive and informative course. I learnt alot. Thank you coursera for providing us such a nice and global platform to enhance skills and knowlegde by sitting at home.

Filter by:

4251 - 4275 of 4,755 Reviews for Chinese for Beginners

By Mirella M

Dec 3, 2021

Solo me hubiera gustado que fuera más largo. Tengo varias anotaciones de palabras y frases que daré buen uso gracias al curso.

By Vaishali R

Apr 7, 2020

It's a great course to learn the basics of pronunciation of the Chinese words. It also helps with improving listening skills.

By Taylor H

Oct 16, 2016

Introduction to basic vocabulary and grammar. I give it 4 stars because it does not discuss any characters, just uses pinyin.

By Desmond A

Oct 6, 2021

The classes were short and simple and easy to comprehend. More Visuals and practice session would make it more comprehensive

By Akhmat F

Aug 7, 2020

This course very for good beginner to learn chinese. Unfortunely, there's no explanation about structure grammar in chinese.

By Mukunda R

Aug 27, 2020

Easy to follow and exercises at the end of each session is really great.

Appreciate if no of exercises / question increased.

By Ashley H

Jun 18, 2020

This course served as an excellent refresher. The phrases taught are great for daily conversations and basic introductions.

By Richard

Jun 11, 2020

Overall very good, but the quizzes are very easy and often only look at the easiest part of a lesson (weekdays for example)

By Aitor1979

Jun 4, 2019

Very good introduction to Chinese language. There is plenty of extra work to do if you really want to go deeper. Thank you.

By Diego I P M

Oct 16, 2017

Me parece muy interesante el contenido y bien explicado, pero quizas se podria mejorar la calidad de los elementos visuales

By Panita P

Oct 11, 2020

Please review the certificate template : the university logo is cropped and look like copy and paste. Thank you very much.

By Петрова Д Н

Jul 10, 2018

Для начинающих курс очень неплохой, единственное, что мне не очень понравилось- это отсутствие ознакомления с иероглифами.

By marissa

Jun 12, 2018

it was my first chinese course, it was not always easy but with the help of internet and some apps i reach my goal. thanks

By supawan t

Jun 7, 2020

I think this course must to have chinese letter because in china not have pinyin all of everything have chinese letter.

By Pinyaphat P

Apr 27, 2020

This video is easy to understand, you must add the chinese character in video that perfect.

thank you for this course ♥

By Eva W

Apr 4, 2019

The curriculum is very similar to the one I took at school, although there was more character practice not just pin yin

By Milton G V

Aug 15, 2015

Course material is very useful for true beginners. The course helps a lot to overcome potential fears to failure. Xièxi

By MONIQUE E P H

Jul 22, 2020

Un muy buen curso para encantarse con un idioma y querer aprender más. La profesora muy clara y precisa. Entretenido

By Surya

Mar 14, 2017

Very well explained. I think it will be much better if there is a revision of previous weeks teaching in current week.

By Avi A K

Aug 2, 2019

Thank you so much for this course. It was really helpful for me as a beginner. I like the pace, clarity and the quiz.

By Kyalsin W L

May 9, 2021

Highly recommend this course if you want to learn basic Chinese in a very short amount of time and effectively also.

By BRENDA V R

Mar 30, 2021

El curso ha sido muy enriquecedor, las mini lecciones son muy claras y entretenidas. Espero continúen otros niveles.

By Екатерина Л

Dec 28, 2019

I think the course needs some more grammar. Sometimes it was difficult to understand the rules you make a sentence.

By Korayma L A

Nov 12, 2017

Es muy fácil de aprender,con mucho tiempo y dedicación verán lo fácil que era hablar en chino,se los recomiendo. :)

By Thakkar S J

Sep 26, 2015

Nice one.. Helped a beginners like me a lot.. I found confidence in myself. Hats off! Simply explained.. xiexie :)