Chevron Left
Back to Chinese for Beginners

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Chinese for Beginners by Peking University

4.8
stars
18,077 ratings

About the Course

Nowadays, there is an increasing number of people who are interested in Chinese culture and language. And it is useful to know about the language when coming to China for travel or business. This is an ABC Chinese course for beginners, including introduction of phonetics and daily expressions. After taking this class, learners can have a basic understanding of Chinese Mandarin and make basic conversations of daily living such as exchanging personal information, talking about daily arrangements and food, asking about price, introducing the city and the weather, telling your hobbies etc. Selected topics and situations come from real life scenarios and can be used for everyday communications. In addition to the dialogues, the selection of reading materials and practice activities will make the content as rich and varied as possible, in order to stimulate the learners’ interests. This is an elementary course on Chinese speaking. The learners don’t need to study Chinese characters, so it is easier to follow and complete this course....

Top reviews

PP

Apr 24, 2020

She teaching very well! Easy to understand, her accent is very clear to understand, lesson is very useful to and might can use it for real. Thank you for lovely teaching and lovely lesson

Thank you

SS

Sep 16, 2016

Thanks for this course. I like it and this language really so necessary for me and my job. My company in New Zealand - ESKA Ltd (www.eskaltd.co.nz, eskaltd.com) and we are work with aliens from China.

Filter by:

4376 - 4400 of 5,033 Reviews for Chinese for Beginners

By Nicholas B

Jul 7, 2020

This was a nice, low-pressure course to introduce you to Chinese. The instructor had a very calm disposition, and did a good job making the course approachable (xie xie, laoshi). I wish there were optional hanzi (Chinese written characters) throughout the course, not just at the very end. Also a little variety in quiz style would be nice.

By Lisa D M

Sep 28, 2020

Professor Liu did a great job! I think dialogue is introduced too quickly and it would be nice that she explains at the beginning of the course the trick to learning and understanding beginners Mandarin is associating action word/verb with general fuctions "Tian" is used to describe time. Otherwise, its a great course, I liked it a lot!

By Kayla H

Oct 13, 2016

This is a great intro course to Chinese! I would like to see the characters were written above the words as you learn to simply become familiar with some of the common characters. I am grateful for the access this course provides for those traveling to China to respectfully communicate and show interested in the Chinese culture.

By Jan C B

Feb 5, 2018

I completed a free app on my phone, ChineseSkill, which was just the best thing I've ever done. Could do this course with my eyes closed and did all 7 weeks in about 3 days (total of 5 hours I think). Now I'm going back to that app cause it just amazes me how much more content they have. I recommend that app to everyone here!

By Fiorela D P V I

Jun 23, 2021

Es el primer curso que acabo y me ha gustado mucho. Su inglés es entendible, los temas son lo básico y necesario para iniciar el idioma. Lo único desfavorable es la pronunciación por parte del alumnado ya que no se puede estar seguro de si se está pronunciando bien las palabras o no. Por todo lo demás un curso excelente.

By Kinsey B

Oct 20, 2015

Overall this course is really helpful when it comes to grammar and sentence structuring. You get experience with a lot of vocabulary as well. I gave the course four stars because Chinese characters aren't taught or covered at all, just pinyin. Which is fine, but it would be nice to have those briefly introduced as well.

By Kelvin T

Oct 7, 2022

Its very basic fundamental of chinese language. Great for beginner or learners who is really keen of learning the language. I believe once you able to complate the course, you are able to at least communicate with Chinese people easily. But practise makes perfect. Must always practise especially on the pronunciations.

By Firya A F

Aug 13, 2020

this course is definitely help me to understand chinese better, the tacher is quite good at english and good at explaining things. Also, her is not rushed at speaking words so we can try to mimic her. Definitely need to learn more to remember and fluent at chinese but this course is a great first step :). Thank you.

By Mariam E

Apr 4, 2020

Very helpful beginners course. it starts from scratch with the Chinese sound system and basic greetings, etc. all the way up to talking about the weather, your hobbies, illnesses, etc.

The course uses only Pinyin and no characters are introduced at all except for the last reading notes at the end of the course.

By Connor D

Mar 17, 2022

Good breakdown to the topics and then followed up with relevant information to complete the assignments. I feel maybe a review of the past 4 weeks would be beneficial. As the more repetitive it is to see, it certainly builds more confidence and easier retain. Other than that, I am pleased I joined this course.

By Ricardo S

Jan 31, 2016

This is a very good introduction to Chinese, but would help to people that doesn´t have any person to practice match with some people online that would like to chat or talk with the students of the course.

It will be nice, to include some part of the phonetic of the words to understand how is a better speaking.

By Daniel M

May 2, 2020

Very happy to have taken this course. I have learnt so many Chinese words and expressions in just a few weeks! In order to get a 5 out of 5 score, I would suggest teaching in more detail some of the structures and vocabulary used in the lessons, as sometimes missing this information made learning difficult.

By André V

Nov 5, 2019

Great learning experience and easy to grasp considering the way ideas and learning was disposed. Full score is not given as some images in the quizzes were misleading often difficult to understand the correct answer (e.g.: Quiz on different types of sickness). Overall still pretty interesting and fun!

By ensieh s

Apr 13, 2022

Thank you very much for giving me a chance to learn chinese by your side. Every thing was very well including leaning from a nice teacher.

The only thing that I wanted to add, is if the listening parts (after teaching) were added to all the sessions of the course it would be more helpfull.

Xie xie.

By Allan B

Oct 13, 2020

Na minha opinião poderia ser com escrita chinesa e não usar o pinyin. Também poderia ter uma atualização no sentido de a professora não ter que ficar andando para sair da frente da projeção. Áudio muito bom, qualidade da gravação boa também e o conteúdo foi bem interessante e ótimo para iniciar

By Julia Y

Mar 31, 2018

Great explanations of rules for spelling and basic history of the Chinese writing system also. Could use some information on sentence structure and grammar with each vocabulary piece. Otherwise, really good for beginners or those more experienced who want to revisit the Chinese language.

By Ore O

Feb 6, 2017

This course was really helpful in understanding the basics of Mandarin and gave me a little more insight into the Chinese culture and mode of thinking. Chinese no longer looks like an impossible language to understand. Love it! Would love to have a few more printable notes, though.

By Lauren L

May 23, 2021

Liu Lao Shi was very thorough in making sure that you got the right pronunciation and clarified what each part of the sentences meant. Super helpful in understanding how sentences are formed. Took off one star bc I wish that I could see the Chinese character alongside the pinyin!

By Nora A

Jun 23, 2020

This course is excellent. It gives thorough introduction into language without going into too much unnecessary details. Highly recommended for anyone who wants to start learning Chinese from scratch. Much better if you would provide some lecture note. Other than that, it's good.

By AGABA A

Aug 10, 2017

Xiexie Laoshi

It has been great attending your classes. You are such an amazing teacher.

I learnt a lot from your classes. Especially weather expression, transport, hobbies and many things that used to give me trouble. I hope to take more of your classes.

Zai Jian .

By Sigrun J J E

Mar 9, 2017

This course was good to get the basics and fast forward if you already have some beginners knowledge with the language. Could be more challenging during the quizzes, maybe also more emphasize on writing the words. I can read Chinese more easy than I can write it

By Luísa M M L

Sep 18, 2015

I've been learning Chinese for 3 years and this is a great course whether to learn from scratch or to review the basics. I think it should also focus on learning or at least showing the correspondent Chinese characters so that the course could be even better.

By Krisna B

Aug 25, 2020

Covers most necessary basic Chinese conversation you will need and focuses on pronunciation of these words. If you want to learn Chinese characters, in week 7 there is an overview but if that is something you want to learn, this is not the course to do that.

By Steven C

Jun 17, 2020

Course covers useful everyday situations for beginners. Some of the quiz questions & answers were paired wrongly. Could/should have some refresher questions or examples of vocabulary covered in earlier weeks during subsequent weeks, to reinforce learning.